Chappell A Finalist for the Wuerffel Trophy

    Go Hoosiers! Fifth-year senior quarterback Ben Chappell is a finalist for the Wuerffel Trophy.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Fifth-year senior quarterback Ben Chappell is a finalist for the Wuerffel Trophy.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 9, 2010

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana fifth-year senior quarterback Ben Chappell is one of 10 finalists for the 2010 Wuerffel Trophy, the All Sports Association, Inc., announced. The Wuerffel Trophy is a national award that honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

    The award is named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries in New Orleans and around the country.

    "The membership of the All Sports Association is proud not only of these young men that make up this year's Wuerffel finalists, but all of the nominees," commented All Sports President Steve Boswell. "What a great example these men set for others."

    The honor adds to a prestigious list of accolades Chappell has earned in 2010. He is also a National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete, a member of the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, a quarterfinalist for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, a nominee for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, and he garnered his second straight ESPN Academic All-District V first team honor.

    A two-year starter at quarterback and team captain, Chappell leads the Big Ten in passing and is on pace to become the most prolific quarterback in the history of Indiana University football. He is in IU's top four in career completion percentage (1st), passing yardage (2nd), completions (1st), attempts (4th), passing touchdowns (3rd), total offense (4th), 300-yard games (1st), 250-yard games (1st) and 200-yard games (T-2nd). Chappell is 241-of-378 (63.8 percent) for 2,667 yards with 18 touchdowns, three rushing TDs, eight interceptions, 296.3 yards per game and a 134.5 passing efficiency this season.



    The Bloomington South High School graduate is currently working toward his MBA in business systems and accounting. A three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, Chappell will likely earn his fourth honor this fall. He completed his bachelor's degree in accounting on June 30, 2010, with a 3.70 GPA and was a 2009-10 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award recipient (3.7 GPA over the academic year).

    Chappell is one of the most active Hoosiers in the community. As a member of the team's Leadership Council, he was instrumental in organizing the program's two community initiatives - visiting Riley's Children's Hospital in Indianapolis and welcoming the Bloomington Boys & Girls Club to Memorial Stadium each season. He has also volunteered each of the last three years at the Coach Hep Cancer Challenge in Bloomington.

    The finalists, who were nominated by their schools' sports information directors or football liaisons, are (listed alphabetically by university):

    Greg McElroy, Senior - Quarterback, Alabama
    Christian Ponder, Senior - Quarterback, Florida State
    Ben Chappell, Senior - Quarterback, Indiana
    Dominik Riley, Senior - Offensive Lineman, Memphis
    Kirk Cousins, Junior - Quarterback - Michigan State
    Chris Stewart, Senior - Offensive Lineman - Notre Dame
    Steve Wisniewski, Senior - Offensive Lineman, Penn State
    Kyle Adams, Senior - Tight End, Purdue
    Sam Acho, Senior - Defensive End, Texas
    Chimaobim "Chima" Nwachukwu, Senior - Safety, Washington State

    A committee that includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be formally announced on Dec.7.

    "Once again, we've been overwhelmed with wonderful nominees for this award. It is very encouraging for me to see the number of young men that exemplify what this award is all about - character and service," said Danny Wuerffel.

    Past Winners of the award are: 2005-Rudy Niswanger-LSU; 2006-Joel Penton-Ohio State; 2007 - Paul Smith-Tulsa; 2008-Tim Tebow-Florida; 2009-Tim Hiller-Western Michigan.

    The 2010 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association's 42nd Annual Awards Banquet on Friday, Feb. 18, 2011.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties