Starr A Finalist for Wuerffel Trophy

    Go Hoosiers! Senior kicker Austin Starr is one of 13 finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior kicker Austin Starr is one of 13 finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 12, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The All Sports Association, Inc., announced Indiana senior kicker Austin Starr as one of the 13 finalists for the 2008 Wuerffel Trophy, a national award that honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

    The award is named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries in New Orleans.

    "We at the All Sports Association are excited and proud of this year's finalist class," commented All Sports President Mike Coupe'. "The process of narrowing the field was a difficult one, as the pool of nominations was outstanding. The submissions clearly revealed the fact that these are not only great athletes and students, but they are also great young men. We are honored to recognize them and how they help reflect upon what is really good in college football."

    Starr, a biology major and chemistry minor, earned first team ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District V honors for the third straight season on Nov. 6. He is also a finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award (achievements in the classroom, character, community and competition), a finalist for the Awards and Recognition Association (ARA) National Sportsmanship Award and a semifinalist for the Draddy Trophy (nation's top scholar-athlete).

    The finalists are listed alphabetically by university:

    1. Tim Tebow, junior quarterback, Florida
    2. Austin Starr, senior place kicker, Indiana
    3. Mike Rivera, senior linebacker, Kansas
    4. Tim Masthay, senior kicker/special teams, Kentucky
    5. Quin Harris, senior linebacker, Louisiana Tech
    6. Chase Daniel, senior quarterback, Missouri
    7. Todd Peterson, senior wide receiver, Nebraska
    8. Justin Paysinger, senior center, San Jose State
    9. Graham Harrell, senior quarterback, Texas Tech
    10. Will Chambliss, senior offensive lineman, Troy
    11. Travis Dekker, senior tight end, USAF Academy
    12. Louie Sakoda, senior punter/place kicker, Utah
    13. Tim Hiller, junior quarterback, Western Michigan



    A committee that includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors and selection committee members will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be formally announced on Dec. 9.

    "As I look at this incredible list of finalists, I'm filled with a new sense of hope for the future," said Danny Wuerffel. "These young men truly embody the leadership skills, talents and character that will make a difference in our world. The hardest part now will be for the committee to try to select a winner...all of them really deserve it!"

    The 2008 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association's 40th Annual Awards Banquet on Feb. 20, 2009.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties