Bolser A Semifinalist for John Mackey Award

    Go Hoosiers! Ted Bolser is one of eight semifinalists for the John Mackey Award.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Ted Bolser is one of eight semifinalists for the John Mackey Award.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 18, 2013

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana fifth-year senior tight end Ted Bolser is one of eight semifinalists for the 2013 John Mackey Award, it was announced Monday afternoon. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2013 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 11, 2013, and presented live on December 12, 2013, at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

    Listed alphabetically, the semifinalists are Jace Amaro (JR, Texas Tech), Bolser, Eric Ebron (JR, North Carolina), Devin Funchess (SO, Michigan), Gator Hoskins (SR, Marshall), Troy Niklas (JR, Notre Dame), Nick O'Leary (JR, Florida State) and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (JR, Washington). The eight semifinalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

    Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at and on the award's official twitter account: @JohnMackeyAward.

    Bolser is the Hoosiers all-time tight ends leader in yardage (1,313) and touchdowns (14, tied for seventh all-time at IU), and he is second in catches (112). Bob Stephenson (1978-81) holds the all-time receptions record with 115. Bolser became the 20th Hoosier and the second tight end (Stephenson) to reach 100 catches (19th all-time) and 1,000 yards (23rd all-time) earlier this season.

    The Cincinnati native was named the John Mackey Award Tight End of the Week following the Navy game in week two. On the season, Bolser has 30 catches for 296 yards and five TDs. He is tied for sixth nationally among tight ends in touchdowns and 13th in receptions.

    NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.



    The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve NFL players as alumni: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (`01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (`02) of the Baltimore Ravens, Kellen Winslow II (`03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (`04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (`05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (`06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (`07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman (`08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez (`09), D.J. Williams (`10) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, Dwayne Allen (`11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties