Hoosiers Honored by Big Ten (11-25-03)

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    November 25, 2003

    Bloomington, Ind. - Indiana senior safety Joe Gonzalez, junior defensive lineman Jodie Clemons and junior safety Herana-Daze Jones were all recognized as honorable mention All-Big Ten selections by the conference media, it was announced Tuesday.

    Gonzalez played only nine games this year after sustaining a knee injury in preseason practice, but still finished sixth on the team with 44 tackles (36 of which were unassisted). The Avon Lake, Ohio, native had four tackles for loss and broke up two passes on the year. In addition, he recovered fumbles against both Michigan and Ohio State. The team captain had two tackles for loss against Northwestern.

    "This is a nice honor," Gonzalez said. "The fact that the media would vote for me is an honor, because it's always nice to be recognized. I would have rather had more wins as a team than anything individual, but being my last year, it is nice to go out with a little recognition."

    Clemons had a breakthrough season for the Hoosiers in 2003. The Lansing, Mich., native registered 33 tackles (24 unassisted), including a team-high 12 tackles for loss. Clemons led the Hoosiers with six sacks. Clemons' best performance came against his hometown school, Michigan State. He registered four tackles and two sacks against the Spartans. Clemons had four tackles (two for loss) and a sack against Michigan in Ann Arbor in addition to a sack and two tackles for loss against Kentucky.

    Jones, who made the move from linebacker to safety prior to the season, responded by ranking second on the team with 96 tackles (68 solo). One of Indiana's most active players, Jones had a team-high two interceptions and four forced fumbles. In addition, he blocked a punt that was recovered and returned for a touchdown at Michigan and finished the season with three tackles for loss and a sack. Jones posted a season-high 13 tackles at Washington, then matched that number with 13 more at Minnesota.

    2003 All-Big Ten Team (Media)
    First Team Offense
    QB - John Navarre (Michigan)
    RB - Chris Perry (Michigan)
    RB - Marion Barber, III (Minnesota)
    WR - Braylon Edwards (Michigan)
    WR - Lee Evans (Wisconsin)
    C - Greg Eslinger (Minnesota)
    OG - David Baas (Michigan)
    OG - Alex Stepanovich (Ohio State)
    OT - Robert Gallery (Iowa)
    OT - Tony Pape (Michigan)
    TE - Ben Hartsock (Ohio State)
    K - Nate Kaeding (Iowa)

    Second Team Offense
    QB - Jeff Smoker (Michigan State)
    RB - Fred Russell (Iowa)
    RB - Jason Wright (Northwestern)
    WR - John Standeford (Purdue)
    WR - Taylor Stubblefield (Purdue)
    C - Dave Pearson (Michigan)
    OG - Joe Quinn (Minnesota)
    OG - Dan Buenning (Wisconsin)
    OT - Rian Melander (Minnesota)
    OT - Shane Olivea (Ohio State)
    TE - Ben Utecht (Minnesota)
    K - Mike Nugent

    First Team Defense
    DL - Matt Roth (Iowa)
    DL - Will Smith (Ohio State)
    DL - Shaun Phillips (Purdue)
    DL - Anttaj Hawthorne (Wisconsin)
    LB - Abdul Hodge (Iowa)
    LB - A.J. Hawk (Ohio State)
    LB - Niko Koutouvides (Purdue)
    DB - Bob Sanders (Iowa)
    DB - Chris Gamble (Ohio State)
    DB - Stuart Schweigert (Purdue)
    DB - Jim Leonhard (Wisconsin)
    P - Brandon Fields (Michigan State)

    Second Team Defense
    DL - Howard Hodges (Iowa)
    DL - Grant Bowman (Michigan)
    DL - Greg Taplin (Michigan State)
    DL - Tim Anderson (Ohio State)
    LB - Chad Greenway (Iowa)
    LB - Gilbert Gardner (Purdue)
    LB - Alex Lewis (Wisconsin)
    DB - Jeremy LeSueur (Michigan)
    DB - Will Allen (Ohio State)
    DB - Dustin Fox (Ohio State)
    DB - Alan Zemaitis (Penn State)
    P - B.J. Sander (Ohio State)

    Honorable Mention
    ILLINOIS: Sean Bubin, Matt Sinclair, Derrick Strong, Steve Weatherford
    INDIANA: Jodie Clemons, Joe Gonzalez, Herana-Daze Jones
    MICHIGAN: Jason Avant, Markus Curry, Carl Diggs, Norman Heuer, Lawrence Reid, Ernest Shazor, Larry Stevens, Pierre Woods
    MICHIGAN STATE: Clifford Dukes, Paul Harker, Jason Harmon, Mike Labinjo, Dave Rayner, Steve Stewart, Joe Tate
    MINNESOTA: Asad Abdul-Khaliq, Jared Ellerson, Justin Isom, Laurence Maroney
    Darrell Reid, Mark Setterstrom, Eli Ward
    NORTHWESTERN: Loren Howard, Tim McGarigle, Zach Strief
    OHIO STATE: Adrien Clarke, Michael Jenkins, Nate Salley, Darrion Scott
    PENN STATE:Gino Capone, Rich Gardner, Yaacov Yisrael
    PURDUE: Nick Hardwick, Landon Johnson, Kyle Orton, Mike Otto, Antwaun Rogers, Brent Slaton, Craig Terrill
    WISCONSIN: Jeff Mack, Donovan Raiola
    OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Chris Perry, Michigan
    DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Will Smith, Ohio State
    FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Laurence Maroney, Minnesota
    DAVE McCLAIN COACH OF THE YEAR: John L. Smith, Michigan State




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties