Kirlew Named Finalist for the Ted Hendricks Award

    Go Hoosiers! Junior defensive end Jammie Kirlew is one of six finalists for the Ted Hendricks Award.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior defensive end Jammie Kirlew is one of six finalists for the Ted Hendricks Award.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Dec. 2, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana defensive end Jammie Kirlew has been named a finalist for the 2008 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award, the Ted Hendricks Foundation announced Tuesday. The junior, who earned first team All-Big Ten honors from the conference media and second team recognition from the conference coaches, is one of six finalists.

    The final vote will be concluded on Monday, Dec. 8., and the winner will be announced on Wednesday, Dec. 10. Kirlew is joined by Everette Brown of Florida State, Jerry Hughes of TCU, Aaron Maybin of Penn State, Brian Orakpo of Texas and Nick Reed of Oregon.

    Kirlew finished second in the Big Ten in sacks (10.5) and 12th nationally (0.88 per game), and second in the league in tackles for loss (19.5) and tied for fifth nationally (1.63 per game). In conference action only, the Hoosiers' MVP paced the Big Ten with 15 tackles for loss and finished tied for third with seven sacks.

    The Orlando native recorded a sack in six of his last eight games. He posted two against Wisconsin, his third multi-sack game of the season and the fourth of his career. His team- and career-high 10.5 sacks are good for fourth place on IU's single-season list, and his 16.5 career sacks are a half-sack behind Joe Huff for fifth place on the school's career chart.

    Although he did not collect a sack at No. 8 Penn State, Kirlew set a career high with 11 tackles, five solo, and forced his second fumble of the season. He started his six-game sack streak with 2.5 sacks at Minnesota and also tallied 10 tackles to go along with 3.5 tackles for loss, the second-best total of his career. Kirlew set a new career mark with nine solo stops against No. 22 Northwestern, and he ended the year second on the Hoosiers with 74 total tackles and tied for the team lead with 53 solos on the year.

    Kirlew added three tackles for loss and one forced fumble vs. NU, while his sack of Mike Kafka resulted in a 24-yard loss. He moved into a share of fourth place with Nathan Davis (1993-96) on the school's career tackles for loss chart with one at Purdue to give him 37 in his career. Kirlew led the team with his 19.5 tackles for loss this year, which was good for fourth on the Hoosiers' single-season list, and he has 11 multi-TFL games in his career and seven this season. He collected at least three tackles for loss three times, has at least one TFL in eight of his last nine games and in 10 of 12 games this season.



    2008 Ted Hendricks Award Finalists
    Everette Brown, Florida State
    Jerry Hughes, TCU
    Jammie Kirlew, Indiana
    Aaron Maybin, Penn State
    Brian Orakpo, Texas
    Nick Reed, Oregon


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties