All-Big Ten Teams Announced

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    December 4, 2001

    Randle El Recognized as Offensive Player-of-the-Year
    Media Names Williams Unanimous First-Team Selection
    All Five Starting Offensive Linemen and Tight End Honored

    Bloomington, Ind. -- Indiana finished with its best Big Ten record since 1994 and was rewarded today with 12 players being recognized as members of the 2001 All-Big Ten Conference Football Team. The All-Big Ten selections included Heisman Trophy candidate and FWAA first-team All-America quarterback Antwaan Randle El (Riverdale, Ill./Thornton) who earned first-team honors from both the coaches and media and was recognized as the Big Ten Offensive Player-of-the-Year, and senior running back Levron Williams (Evansville, Ind./Bosse) who earned first-team honors from both the coaches and media. Williams was a unanimous first-team selection by the media. Junior guard Enoch DeMar (Indianapolis, Ind./Arsenal Tech) earned second-team honors from the coaches and media and senior linebacker Justin Smith (Indianapolis, Ind./Warren Central) was a second-team selection by the Big Ten media.

    The following players earned honorable mention honors from the media: Junior tackle Bobby Brandt (Lancaster, Pa./Manheim Township), junior safety Joe Gonzalez (Avon Lake, Ohio/St. Ignatius), junior tackle A.C. Myler (Detroit, Mich./Northwestern), sophomore guard Anthony Oakley (Houston, Texas/Westbury), senior center Craig Osika (Hobart, Ind./Hobart), and senior defensive end Kemp Rasmussen (Hadley, Mich./Lapeer West).

    Receiving honorable mention from the Big Ten coaches were Brandt, junior tight end Kris Dielman (Troy, Ohio/Troy), Gonzalez, Myler, Oakley, Osika, Rasmussen, senior defensive tackle Dominique Smith (Columbia, S.C./Coffeyville (Kan.) J.C.), and Justin Smith.

    Randle El, who has already earned his degree, has re-written the Indiana and NCAA record books during his career. He becomes the first IU player to be named Big Ten Offensive Player-of-the-Year since tailback Anthony Thompson earned the distinction in 1998 and again in 1999. Randle El has rushed for more yards (3,895) than any quarterback in NCAA Division I-A history and in 44 career games passed for 7,469 yards and 42 touchdowns and rushed for 3,895 yards and 44 scores.

    Randle El also finished fifth on the NCAA Division I-A total yardage list with 11,364 yards and is the only player in major college football history to record 2,500 total yards in four consecutive seasons. He is the first player in NCAA Division I-A history to pass for 40 touchdowns and score 40 touchdowns and finished his career with 42 touchdown passes and 45 touchdowns rushing and receiving. He is also the only Division I-A player to pass for over 6,000 yards and rush for over 3,000 yards in a career.

    Williams was one of only two Big Ten players to earn unanimous first-team selection, joining defensive tackle Wendell Bryant of Wisconsin. Both players were unanimous picks by the media. In 11 games, Williams carried 212 times for 1,401 yards (6.6 ypc average) and 17 touchdowns. He also led the team in receptions with 26 for 289 yards and 2 scores and is currently leading the country in all-purpose yardage with 200.1 yards per game. Williams finished his career with 452 carries for 3,095 yards and 31 touchdowns. He also caught 94 passes for 1,088 yards and 7 scores. In doing so, he became one of only a handful of players in NCAA Division I-A history to record 3,000 career passing yards and 1,000 career receiving yards. Randle El and Williams also became only the third rushing tandem in major college football history to both record 3,000 career rushing yards on the same team at the same time.

    DeMar earned second-team honors at guard on both teams and the other four starting IU offensive linemen (Brandt, Myler, Oakley, and Osika) and tight end Kris Dielman earned honorable mention recognition. This unit helped the Hoosiers lead the Big Ten and set a school record in rushing yardage with 269.5 yards per contest. In Big Ten games only, IU lead the conference in rushing offense (301.8 yards per game; Minnesota was second at 206.9 yards per contest) and total offense (464.6 yards per game).

    Dielman caught 14 passes for 206 yards and 2 scores. The team does not recognize a fullback but Jeremi Johnson, along with Jamar Martin of Ohio State, are two of the premier fullbacks in the nation.

    IU was also recognized on defense as the Hoosiers allowed 11.4 fewer points per game in 2001 than it did only one year ago. IU allowed fewer points (220) in Big Ten play than any IU team since 1993.

    On defense, two of IU's career tackle for loss leaders Justin Smith and Kemp Rasmussen were also recognized. Smith finished his career ranked seventh on IU's career tackle for loss list with 33 and Rasmussen followed Smith in eighth place with 31.5 tackles behind the line of scrimmage. Smith also finished his career among the top 10 career leaders in tackles at IU.

    Smith, who is also an IU graduate, paced the Hoosiers in tackles in 2001 with 99, including 11 tackles for loss and a sack. He also notched an interception, 5 passes broken up, and three forced fumbles. Rasmussen, an Academic All-America candidate, recorded 50 tackles, including 10 tackles for loss and 6.5 sacks. He recorded 3 passes broken up, 5 forced fumbles, and blocked a kick. He was named Big Ten Defensive Player-of-the Week in the final game of his career, a 26-15 win over Kentucky.

    Also recognized were Academic All-America candidate Joe Gonzalez and senior defensive tackle Dominique Smith. Gonzalez, a junior, finished second on the team in tackles with 65, including 5 for loss, and 5 passes broken up. Smith helped anchor the IU defensive front as he recorded 36 tackles, including 8 for loss and 2 sacks, to go along with 2 passes broken up.



      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties