Team Awards Announced (12-09-03)

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    December 9, 2003

    Bloomington, Ind. - Indiana University Football Head Coach Gerry DiNardo announced the team award winners for the 2003 season.

    Outstanding Special Teams Award
    Herana-Daze Jones (Junior • Safety • Louisville, Ky. • Iroquois)
    Given to the most outstanding special teams player as determined by a point-system kept by the IU coaching staff.

    Iron Man Award
    Adam Hines (Sophomore • Offensive Guard • Vandalia, Ohio/Butler)
    Given to the player who played the most snaps on the season.

    Al Barsch Award
    Brian Lewis (Senior • Running Back • St. Louis, Mo./Pattonville)
    Given to the player who has hung tough and fought through adversity. Al Barsch was an alumnus from Ohio who helped Indiana in recruiting and assisted players in finding jobs in the Cleveland area. He died of cancer in the mid 1980's.

    Ted Verlihay Award
    Joe Gonzalez (Senior • Safety • Avon Lake, Ohio/St. Ignatius)
    Given to the player who has demonstrated the best mental attitude and loyalty to Indiana Football. A veteran of the Vietnam War, Ted Verlihay earned a letter following the 1967 football season. He was a Physical Education major at IU.

    Corby Davis Memorial Award
    Duane Stone (Senior • Defensive Back • Evanston, Ill./Evanston Township)
    This award was established by the family and friends of Corby Davis to honor a senior player whose conduct on campus, in the classroom and on the football field most closely exemplifies the qualities of former Big Ten MVP Corby Davis. Davis, a 1992 inductee into the IU Hall of Fame, earned letters in football in 1934, 1935 and 1937 and lettered in track in 1935. He was the Big Ten MVP and a first team All-American in 1937. The fullback was a first round pick of the Cleveland Rams. His four-year professional career was broken up because he served in the War prior to retiring in 1942.

    Chris Dal Sasso Award
    Jodie Clemons (Junior • Defensive Tackle • Lansing, Mich./Sexton)
    Given to the defensive lineman who exemplifies the qualities of Chris Dal Sasso, a three-year letterman and captain in 1936. Following graduation Dal Sasso spent 15 years at South Bend Central High School as an assistant coach, head coach and athletic director. His tenure there was interrupted by a four-year stint in the Air Force. Dal Sasso joined the Indiana coaching staff in 1952 as an assistant coach and served in that capacity until taking over an assistant administrator position in 1957. In this position he handled the Big Ten financial aid program.

    Don Howell Award
    Chris Jahnke (Junior • Offensive Lineman • Louisville, Ky./Ballard)
    This award is given to the outstanding offensive lineman in memory of Don Howell. Howell was a two-way lineman from Hobart, IN. He played for the Hoosiers from 1954-57 and served as the team's captain in 1957. After graduation he returned to his hometown and later served as the head coach at Hobart High School where he won over 300 games to rank as one of the state's all-time winningest high school head coaches.

    Pete Schmidt Award

    Joe Gonzalez (Senior • Safety • Avon Lake, Ohio/St. Ignatius)

    This award is given to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of former Indiana Assistant Head Coach Pete Schmidt. Most specifically to the individual who places the Indiana Football program above himself. One of the most highly successful coaches in college football history, Schmidt passed away on September 29, 2000, after a year-long battle with lymphoma. "There is no such thing as a bad day," Schmidt would often say and it best describes the manner in which he lived his life.

    Howard Brown Award-
    Brian Lewis (Senior • Running Back • St. Louis, Mo./Pattonville)

    This award is given to a player who exemplifies the qualities of former IU Assistant Coach Howard Brown. Brown demonstrated compassion, courage, understanding, humor, sportsmanship and a strong competitive spirit as a player, coach and as a man. He was the team MVP in 1945 and again in 1947 and captained the squad in 1946 and 1947. Brown played as a freshman in 1942 before joining the Infantry. He won three Purple Hearts while serving in Europe and returned to Bloomington after the start of the 1945 season. He returned to IU in 1961 as an assistant coach and remained with the Hoosiers until 1974.

    Anthony Thompson Award
    Joe Gonzalez (Senior • Safety • Avon Lake, Ohio/St. Ignatius)

    This award is given to the team's Most Valuable Player as voted on by the players. Anthony Thompson was a two-time All-American and Walter Camp Foundation Player of the Year award winner. He was the Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1989 and won the Maxwell Football Award and the AFCA Coaches Choice Player of the Year honor. He earned Big Ten MVP honors in both 1988 and 1989 and holds nearly every Indiana rushing record.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties