Men's Golf

    Indiana Ties Northwestern In Fifth Place Match, Falls in Tiebreaker

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 9, 2013

    BRADENTON, Fla. - The Indiana Men's Golf was in another battle in the fifth place match of the Big Ten Match Play Championship against the No. 2 seed Northwestern. The teams battled to a 2-2-1 tie after the five matches, so in order to determine a fifth place team, the tiebreaker was used and Northwestern won more holes than Indiana so they were awarded fifth place.

    "Northwestern is a very good team, ranked inside the top Top 25, Indiana head coach Mike Mayer said. "We battled them all the way to the end and came away with the tie. It was a good performance for us and I know our team will take a lot from a close match like this as the season continues."

    Brant Peaper once again was strong at the No. 1 spot for the Hoosiers, taking a 2&1 decision against Nick Losole III from Northwestern. Peaper fell behind early but came back to take a lead on the fifth hole but made the turn all square. When Losole took a 1-up lead on the 10th hole, Peaper squared the match on the 12th hole and then took the lead for good on the 15th hole on his way to the win.

    David Mills easily won his match at the No. 4 spot, topping Northwestern's Matthew Negri by a 5&4 margin. Mills made the turn at 2-up and then won each of the next three holes to put the match out of reach.

    Andrew Fogg was once again in the lineup and although he trailed for most of the match, he rallied from a 2-down deficit with three holes to go by winning the final hole to halve the match.

    Michael McGee lost the No. 2 match to Northwestern's Jack Perry, 4&2, and Hugo Menendez dropped a 6&4 decision to Bennett Lavin.

    Indiana returns to regular tournament action at the Bayou City Collegiate Championships at Redstone GC in Houston from Feb. 22-24.



    Complete Results
    Indiana ties Northwestern, 2-2-1

    1) Brant Peaper (IND) defeats Nick Losole III (NW), 2&1
    2) Jack Perry (NW) defeats Michael McGee (IND), 4&2
    3) Bennett Lavin (NW) defeats Hugo Menendez (IND), 6&4
    4) David Mills (IND) defeats Matthew Negri (NW), 5&4
    5) Andrew Fogg (IND) halved Josh Jamieson (NW)


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties