Men's Golf

    Hoosiers Capture Big Ten Match Play Championship

    Go Hoosiers! Drew Allenspach
    Go Hoosiers!
    Drew Allenspach
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 14, 2009

    CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. - The Indiana University men's golf team, a squad ranked in top-10 of most national polls, may be moving up even higher next week after capturing the first annual Big Ten Match Play Championship on Saturday. The Hoosiers topped Michigan, 3.5-2.5, in the finals.

    "This was really a consummate team effort," said Head Coach Mike Mayer. "All six guys were needed to step up at one point or another, and they each did. It took the ultimate team effort."

    All six members of the lineup earned at least 1.5 points during the three-match run to the championship. Jorge Campillo led the charge with his 3-0 weekend, including a 4 and 2 victory over Michigan's Lion Kim in the finals to seal the deal.

    "What else can you say about Jorge, he does everything you would expect from one of the top players in the country," said Mayer.

    Drew Allenspach got things started in a big way Saturday afternoon, posting a 6 and 4 victory over Michigan's Ross Millman to give IU a 1-0 advantage. The next pairing went in favor of the Wolverines to even the team score.

    "Drew was a huge lift," said Mayer. "To come out like he did and get the big win, that was big for us."

    True freshman David Erdy picked up his second win of the event in the finals. Erdy won 1UP over Nick Pumford for Indiana's second team point.

    The see-saw battle continued when Michigan snared a full point at No. 3 to re-even the score at 2-2. Indiana's top two players, Campillo and Alex Martin, then earned 1.5 of the final 2 team points for the 3.5-2.5 victory.

    "David Erdy hanging on and Alex Martin hanging at the end was needed," said Mayer. "It's just further proof that it took a complete team effort to win this thing."



    Indiana 3.5, Michigan 2.5
    No. 6- Drew Allenspach (IU) def. Ross Millman (UM), 6&4
    No. 5- Matt Thompson (UM) def. Chase Wright (IU), 4&3
    No. 4- David Erdy (IU) def. Nick Pumford (UM), 1UP
    No. 3- Alexander Sitompul (UM) def. Seth Brandon (IU), 3&2
    No. 2- Alex Martin (IU) vs. Bill Rankin (UM), Half
    No. 1- Jorge Campillo (IU) def. Lion Kim (UM), 4&2

    Indiana 4.5, Michigan State 1.5
    No. 6- Drew Allenspach (IU) and Phil Snow (MSU), Half
    No. 5- Chase Wright (IU) def. Andrew Ladwig (MSU), 2&1
    No. 4- Jordan Ensrud (MSU) def. David Erdy (IU), 1UP
    No. 3- Seth Brandon (IU) def. Graham Baillargeon (MSU), 1UP
    No. 2- Alex Martin (IU) def. Payne Gniewek (MSU), 3&1
    No. 1- Jorge Campillo (IU) def. Jack Newman (MSU), 2UP

    Indiana 4.0, Purdue 2.0
    No. 6- David Gersztein (PU) def. Drew Allenspach (IU), 3&1
    No. 5- Chase Wright (IU) def. Maximo Kopp (PU), 3&2
    No. 4- David Erdy (IU) def. William Sjaichudin (PU), 2&1
    No. 3- Seth Brandon (IU) def. Erich Johnston (PU), 3&2
    No. 2- Tyler Duncan (IU) def. Alex Martin (IU), 2&1
    No. 1- Jorge Campillo (IU) def. Nakarintra Ratanakul (PU), 5&4

    The Championship is scheduled to be broadcast (tape delay) on March 1 at 6 p.m. EST on the Big Ten Network.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties