Men's Golf

    Indiana, Campillo Return to Winner's Circle

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Jorge Campillo collected the fourth title of his career with a 4-under 212.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Jorge Campillo collected the fourth title of his career with a 4-under 212.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 8, 2008

    Photo Gallery 

    Final Leaderboard Get Acrobat Reader

    COLUMBIA, Mo. - Facing difficult weather conditions and holding off a hard-charging Kansas State team, the No. 24 Indiana men's golf team picked up its second team title of 2008 with a five-shot victory at the UMB Bank-Mizzou Tiger Classic. The Hoosiers finished with a 301 on Tuesday, closing the tournament at 881 (294-286-301).

    "The weather today was as difficult as any conditions you will ever find on a golf course," Indiana head coach Mike Mayer said. "It was pretty extreme because of the wind and pouring rain. We knew we had to battle through the conditions and we did that. I am so pleased with this team and how we came back with what I thought was really a solid round of golf."

    Jorge Campillo became the second Hoosier to earn medalist honors this season and picked up the fourth championship of his career. The junior paced the 70-player field with a 4-under-par 212. Campillo shot a final-round 74, which earned him a three-stroke victory over Michigan State's Randy Hutchinson.

    "Jorge made a seven on his sixth hole at the height of the storm," Mayer said. "He really rallied from that point on and played well coming down the stretch. This was an impressive victory for Jorge."

    Mayer secured his 12th championship in his 10 years at the helm of the program. IU collected its first title of 2008 at the Pinehurst Intercollegiate (March 16-18). The Hoosiers won the event by 24 shots and junior Seth Brandon finished the event at even-par for the second victory of his career.

    The University of Missouri hosted the event at The Club at Old Hawthorne (par 72; 7,204 yards) and welcomed five teams in the top 40. Indiana finished seven strokes ahead of No. 39 Arkansas, nine shots clear of No. 22 Michigan State, 16 strokes in front of No. 23 Wichita State and 18 shots ahead of No. 40 Michigan.

    IU finished the second round with an eight-stroke advantage and noticed true freshman Ren Han's score was incorrect. Instead of shooting a 72, Han recorded a 73. After reporting the scoring discrepancy, Han was disqualified and the Hoosiers lead entering the final round shrunk to four shots. However, Indiana never wavered and actually extended its lead en route to the five-stroke win.

    Campillo, who carded a competitive course record 66 in round two following an opening-round 72, won his first event of the season. He was victorious at the 2007 GADO North Texas Classic and the 2007 Pinehurst Intercollegiate in back-to-back weeks, and he also captured the 2006 Boilermaker Invitational title as a freshman.

    Joining Campillo in the top five, Drew Allenspach picked up his first top five of the season, the third of his career and his third straight top 10. The junior from Sugar Land, Texas, finished at 219 to capture sole possession of fifth place. Allenspach opened with a pair of 72s before closing with a 75 on Tuesday.

    Sophomore Alex Martin nearly clawed his way into the top 10 with a tie for 12th place. Martin ended the 54 holes at 223 with a 72-76-75 total. He now has six top 25s in 10 events this season.

    Brandon collected a tie for 34th place at 230 (78-72-80), while Han bounced back following his disqualification with a 77. Han's round was the fourth score counted toward the team's final total on Tuesday.

    Playing as an individual, senior Santiago Quirarte improved his score each of the three rounds to grab a tie for 40th place at 232 (79-78-75). He finished fourth among the eight individuals.

    Up next, the Hoosiers face one more challenge before the 2008 Big Ten Championships. The team travels to West Lafayette, Ind., for the Boilermaker Invitational on Sunday-Monday, April 19-20.

    IU Individual
    1) Jorge Campillo 212 (72-66-74)
    5) Drew Allenspach 219 (72-72-75)
    T12) Alex Martin 223 (72-76-75)
    T28) Seth Brandon 230 (78-72-80)
    DQ) Ren Han (78-DQ-77)
    *T40) Santiago Quirarte 232 (79-78-75)
    * - played as individual

    Team Scores
    1) No. 24 INDIANA 881 (294-286-301)
    2) Kansas State 886 (298-293-295)
    3) No. 39 Arkansas 888 (291-293-304)
    4) Iowa State 889 (307-282-300)
    5) No. 22 Michigan State 890 (300-292-298)
    6) No. 23 Wichita State 897 (292-297-308)
    7) No. 40 Michigan 899 (299-293-307)
    8) Washington 914 (310-299-305)
    9) San Jose State 922 (298-301-323)
    T10) Xavier 932 (314-304-314)
    T10) Missouri 932 (305-310-317)




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties