Men's Golf

    Campillo Wins Big Ten Championship, Hoosiers Finish Fourth

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Jorge Campillo became the first Indiana Big Ten champion since Jeff Overton in 2005.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Jorge Campillo became the first Indiana Big Ten champion since Jeff Overton in 2005.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 27, 2008

    Photo Gallery 

    Final Leaderboard | Campillo Interview

    EAST LANSING, Mich. - Jorge Campillo became the eighth Hoosier to win a Big Ten championship and the first since 2005, leading the No. 18 Indiana men's golf team to fourth place at the 2008 Big Ten Championships on Sunday afternoon. The Hoosiers posted a 298 in the fourth and final round for an 1,183 total (297-295-293-298).

    IU earned its best finish since a second-place showing at the 2005 Big Ten Championships. The host Michigan State Spartans secured their second straight Big Ten title with 1,173 (291-295-286-301), four shots clear of Minnesota (293-301-290-293) and nine strokes ahead of Illinois (293-288-302-299) at the Forest Akers West Course (par 72; 7,013 yards).

    Campillo is the first Indiana Big Ten champion since current PGA TOUR standout Jeff Overton claimed medalist honors in 2005. The junior has won three consecutive tournaments, a feat that has not been accomplished since Overton won four straight in the fall of 2003.

    Entering the final round in second place, Campillo collected a 5-under-par 67 to move ahead of Michigan State's Ryan Brehm for a two-shot victory. Campillo was the lone golfer in the 55-player field to break 70 on Sunday and was the only golfer to break par in each of the four rounds. The Caceres, Spain, native finished at 10-under-par with a 3-under 69 in round one, 71s in rounds two and three, and today's 67.

    "Jorge is an outstanding representative of Indiana University, an outstanding human being, and he is very deserving of this championship," Indiana head coach Mike Mayer said. "He played great throughout this championship and the entire month of April. Winning three straight tournaments is no small feat. To shoot 67 today and to come from behind to beat the local favorite was a tall task. I am very proud of Jorge, not only for what he accomplished today but for what he has done all season."

    With his victory, Campillo earned a spot on the All-Championship team and became the first Hoosier since Overton in 2005 to win the Les Bolstad Award. The honor is presented to the Big Ten player with the lowest scoring average, and Campillo led the conference with a 71.61 mark.

    Sophomore Alex Martin earned a spot in the top 20 at his second Big Ten Championships. Martin's 301 total put him in a share of 19th place. Although he struggled to an 84 on Sunday, Martin shot a 1-over through the first three rounds (73-74-70) to position himself for the best Big Ten showing of his career.

    In his third appearance at the Big Tens, junior Seth Brandon picked up his third straight top 25 with a 302 and a tie for 22nd. Brandon ended the three-day tournament with three consecutive 75s on the heels of an opening-round 77. The Dalton, Ga., native has a seventh, a tie for 22nd and a share of 24th in his three Big Ten Championships.

    True freshman Ren Han closed the event in a share of 43rd place. Han opened with a 78 and 76 on day one, came back with a 77 on day two and delivered a final-round 80 for a 311 total.

    Despite a difficult opening round, junior Drew Allenspach fought back with a 75-78-76 finish. His 315 total put him in a tie for 49th place at his third Big Ten Championships.

    "It is difficult to win a golf tournament and even harder to win a Big Ten championship," Mayer said. "The team never got on the same page at the same time. It takes a team effort to win, and we were missing some essential elements. We still had a great year, and I am very proud of this team. I am excited for the NCAA Regionals because I know we have the personnel to make a run."

    Indiana will now wait to see if they get sent to the NCAA East, Central or West Regional. Regionals will be held on Thursday-Saturday, May 15-17, with the NCAA Championships taking place at Purdue on Wednesday-Saturday, May 28-31.

    IU Individual
    1) Jorge Campillo 278 (69-71-71-67)
    T19) Alex Martin 301 (73-74-70-84)
    T22) Seth Brandon 302 (77-75-75-75)
    T43) Ren Han 311 (78-76-77-80)
    T49) Drew Allenspach 315 (86-75-78-76)

    Team Scores
    1) No. 33 Michigan State 1,173 (291-295-286-301)
    2) Minnesota 1,177 (293-301-290-293)
    3) Illinois 1,182 (293-288-302-299)
    4) No. 18 INDIANA 1,183 (297-295-293-298)
    5) No. 46 Michigan 1,194 (296-302-298-298)
    T6) Northwestern 1,196 (293-291-309-303)
    T6) Ohio State 1,196 (293-298-313-292)
    8) Wisconsin 1,199 (296-305-302-296)
    9) Purdue 1,209 (303-295-311-300)
    10) Iowa 1,212 (304-305-301-302)
    11) No. 35 Penn State 1,231 (299-313-317-302)




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties