Men's Golf

    Spring Season Opens With Big Ten Match Play Championship

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 7, 2013

    Big Ten Match Play Championship
     Dates Feb. 8-9, 2013
     Location Bradenton, Fla.
    Golf Course The Concessions Golf Club
    Par / Total Yardage Par 72 / 7,474 yards
    Indiana Lineup (2012-13 stroke average) Brant Peaper (73.50)
    Michael McGee (74.00)
    Hugo Menendez (74.83)
    Corey Ziedonis (75.67)
    David Mills (76.33)
    Andrew Fogg (73.67)
    Bracket Match Play Bracket Get Acrobat Reader
    Online Scoring
     Social Media Twitter: @IUMensGolf

    This is the fifth year of the Big Ten Match Play Championship and thei first time that it will be held at The Concessions Golf Club, which will be the site of the 2014 and 2015 NCAA Championships.

    The Hoosiers claimed the first Big Ten Match Play title in 2009 and Northwestern has one each of the last three titles.

    Each of the 12 Big Ten schools will be represented in this week's match play event. The seeding for the event look like this, using the final GolfStat rankings upon the conclusion of the Fall 2012 schedule:

    1) Illinois
    2) Northwestern
    3) Iowa
    4) Indiana
    5) Ohio State
    6) Purdue
    7) Michigan State
    8) Minnesota
    9) Michigan
    10) Penn State
    11) Nebraska
    12) Wisconsin

    The top four seeds get a bye into the quarter finals while the bottom eight teams will play in the first round Friday morning with the winners playing the top four seeds in the afternoon that same day.

    Indiana closed out the fall season ranked No. 43 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Top 50, trailing only Illinois and Northwestern among Big Ten teams. In the Golfstat rankings, the Hoosiers checked in at No. 48 this week.

    The last time the Hoosiers took to the course as a team, they placed sixth out of 16 teams with a three-round team score of 869 (295-294-280, +5). Michael McGee led the Hoosiers with a score of 213 (10th place) followed by Corey Ziedonis with a 220 (T26). Brant Peaper's score of 221 was good for a tie for 29th and Hugo Menendez and David Mills both posted 222 to finish T35th.

    David Mills led Indiana with a three-round total of 230 - including a final round 67 - give him a 10th place finish. Cory Ziedonis was next at 236 (T66) while Brant Peaper and Michael McGee both carded 237's to tie for 69th place. Rounding out the IU contingent was Hugo Menendez, who posted a total score of 240 to finish in 72nd.

    At the inaugural Big Ten Match Play Championship in Coral Springs, Fla., the Hoosiers ran through Purdue and Michigan State to reach the finals and used a total team effort to top the Wolverines in the finals, 3.5 to 2.5. Below are the complete results from that event:

    Indiana 3.5, Michigan 2.5
    No. 6- Drew Allenspach (IU) def. Ross Millman (UM), 6&4
    No. 5- Matt Thompson (UM) def. Chase Wright (IU), 4&3
    No. 4- David Erdy (IU) def. Nick Pumford (UM), 1UP
    No. 3- Alexander Sitompul (UM) def. Seth Brandon (IU), 3&2
    No. 2- Alex Martin (IU) vs. Bill Rankin (UM), Halved
    No. 1- Jorge Campillo (IU) def. Lion Kim (UM), 4&2

    Indiana 4.5, Michigan State 1.5
    No. 6- Drew Allenspach (IU) and Phil Snow (MSU), Halved
    No. 5- Chase Wright (IU) def. Andrew Ladwig (MSU), 2&1
    No. 4- Jordan Ensrud (MSU) def. David Erdy (IU), 1UP
    No. 3- Seth Brandon (IU) def. Graham Baillargeon (MSU), 1UP
    No. 2- Alex Martin (IU) def. Payne Gniewek (MSU), 3&1
    No. 1- Jorge Campillo (IU) def. Jack Newman (MSU), 2UP

    Indiana 4.0, Purdue 2.0
    No. 6- David Gersztein (PU) def. Drew Allenspach (IU), 3&1
    No. 5- Chase Wright (IU) def. Maximo Kopp (PU), 3&2
    No. 4- David Erdy (IU) def. William Sjaichudin (PU), 2&1
    No. 3- Seth Brandon (IU) def. Erich Johnston (PU), 3&2
    No. 2- Tyler Duncan (IU) def. Alex Martin (IU), 2&1
    No. 1- Jorge Campillo (IU) def. Nakarintra Ratanakul (PU), 5&4




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties