Men's Golf

    Hoosiers Ready for Big Ten Match Play Championship

    Go Hoosiers! David Erdy will compete in the No. 1 slot for the Hoosiers.
    Go Hoosiers!
    David Erdy will compete in the No. 1 slot for the Hoosiers.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 9, 2011

    Big Ten Match Play Championship Bracket and Schedule

    Big Ten Match Play Championship Fact Sheet

    Live Scoring

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana Hoosiers men's golf team will travel to Palm Beach Garden, Fla. to compete in the third annual Big Ten Match Play Championship on Feb. 11-12 at PGA National Resort.

    The No. 7 seed Hoosiers will take on No. 10 seed Wisconsin in the first round on Friday morning, with the winner advancing to a quarterfinal matchup with No. 2 seed Iowa. Seedings are based on end-of-fall Golfstat rankings and the format consists of team vs. team match play, each team with six individuals and each match worth one point. A complete Big Ten Match Play Championship bracket is available above.

    1 - David Erdy
    2 - Chase Wright
    3 - David Mills
    4 - Brant Peaper
    5 - Corey Ziedonis
    6 - Kyle Perry

    The event is being held at a beautiful and historic new venue, the Champions Course at PGA National Resort and Spa, home of the PGA Tour's Honda Classic. The past two seasons the event was held at Heron Bay in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.

    The Big Ten Conference enters the spring with loads of talent and highly-ranked squads. The event is rated as the 12th strongest field of any college golf tournament in the spring of 2011 by Golf World. Seven of the 11 teams are ranked in the top-33, according to Golfstat ratings, heading into the spring. Illinois leads the way in the rankings at No. 8, followed by No. 11 Iowa and No. 23 Ohio State. Northwestern, the defending Big Ten Match Play Champions, are ranked at No. 28. Michigan and Purdue are at No. 31 and No. 32, while the Hoosiers are at the No. 33 spot. (Rankings as of 11/18/10, which were used for seeding purposes in this event.)



    Indiana won the inaugural Big Ten Match Play title in 2009 after defeating Michigan, 3.5-2.5, in the championship match. David Erdy and Chase Wright both competed on that title team, with each posting a 2-1 record as freshmen. In 2010, the Hoosiers finished 0-3 as a team in the event. Ren Han led the team in points with two. Brant Peaper and Wright each contributed a point, while Erdy halved a match.

    The Hoosiers are fresh off a convincing match play victory against Ball State at the Big Red Shootout in Naples, Fla. Indiana crushed the Cardinals 9.5-2.5 at Grey Oaks Country Club on Feb. 5. The Hoosiers jumped out to a 5-1 lead after the morning session, led by wins from Chase Wright, Brant Peaper, Corey Ziedonis, and Kyle Perry. The Indiana momentum carried over into the afternoon as the Hoosiers won four of the final six matches.

    The Big Ten Network covers the event and it will be aired as a highlight show multiple times throughout the year beginning in March 2011. The Big Ten Match Play Championship is the only televised collegiate golf tournament.

    There will be live scoring provided by the American Junior Golf Association (AJGA) and it can accessed here or by clicking the link above.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties