Men's Golf

    Campillo Tabbed to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

    Go Hoosiers! Jorge Campillo
    Go Hoosiers!
    Jorge Campillo
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 10, 2009

    NORMAN, Okla. - Indiana golfer Jorge Campillo was one of 22 names placed on the Ben Hogan Award watch list, released by the Golf Coaches Association of America this week.

    The most prestigious award in men's college golf, the Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

    Official Release Get Acrobat Reader

    Last year's Hogan recipient Rickie Fowler of Oklahoma State highlights a list that also includes returning PING First-Team All-America selections Jorge Campillo of Indiana, Stanford's Sihwan Kim and Jamie Lovemark of Southern California and World Team Amateur participants Billy Horschel of Florida and Washington's Nick Taylor. Others on the 22-player watch list include Texas A&M's Bronson Burgoon, Bud Cauley and Matthew Swan of Alabama, Point Loma Nazarene's Sam Cyr, Dustin Garza of Wichita State, Southern California's Matthew Giles, Russell Henley, Adam Mitchell and Hudson Swafford of Georgia, Oklahoma State's Trent Leon, UNLV's Eddie Olson, Kyle Stanley of Clemson, UAB's Zack Sucher, Jarin Todd of Sonoma State, Georgia Tech's Cameron Tringale and Mike Van Sickle of Marquette.

    The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 16. The three finalists named on May 7 will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fourth Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 22.

    Hogan Award Watch List
    (in alphabetical order)

    Bronson Burgoon, Texas A&M
    Jorge Campillo, Indiana
    Bud Cauley, Alabama
    Sam Cyr, Point Loma Nazarene
    Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
    Dustin Garza, Wichita State
    Matthew Giles, Southern California
    Russell Henley, Georgia
    Billy Horschel, Florida
    Sihwan Kim, Stanford
    Trent Leon, Oklahoma State
    Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
    Adam Mitchell, Georgia
    Eddie Olson, UNLV
    Kyle Stanley, Clemson
    Zack Sucher, UAB
    Hudson Swafford, Georgia
    Matthew Swan, Alabama
    Nick Taylor, Washington
    Jarin Todd, Sonoma State
    Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
    Mike Van Sickle, Marquette




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties