Men's Golf

    Hoosiers Headed to Semifinals at Big Ten Match Play Championship

    Go Hoosiers! Corey Ziedonis
    Go Hoosiers!
    Corey Ziedonis
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 11, 2011

    Big Ten Match Play Championship Bracket and Live Scoring

    PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. - The Indiana Hoosiers (No.27 Golfweek/Sagarin, No. 33 Golfstat) knocked off No. 2 seed Iowa, 4-2, in the quarterfinals of the Big Ten Match Play Championship on Friday at PGA National Resort to set up a semifinal duel with No. 3 seed Ohio State on Saturday morning, after defeating No. 10 seed Wisconsin, 6-0, earlier Friday in first round action.

    David Erdy, David Mills, Brant Peaper, and Corey Ziedonis were unbeaten after the first two matches of the event, while all six Hoosiers earned at least one point.

    Indiana, competing as the No. 7 seed, got a quick start from Ziedonis in the opening round against the Badgers. The sophomore from Indianapolis, Ind. won the first four holes of the match and cruised to an 8&6 win to begin the Hoosier momentum.

    Erdy, Peaper, and Perry, along with Ziedonis, never trailed in their first round matchups, while Chase Wright and Mills also came through to seal the convincing win for the Hoosiers.

    Peaper and Ziedonis continued to produce in the quarterfinal against the highly-ranked Hawkeyes (No. 12 Golfweek/Sagarin, No. 11 Golfstat). The duo each won 5&4 against their Iowa counterparts to get the Hoosiers in front early.

    Mills birdied three of his final six holes against the Hawkeyes to earn a 3&2 win, while Erdy won the second hole of his match and never relinquished the lead to secure the semifinals appearance for the Hoosiers.

    Indiana will be attempting to make their second appearance in the Big Ten Match Play Championship finals, as the Hoosiers won the inaugural event in 2009.



    The Hoosiers will face off against No. 3 seed Ohio State (No. 22 Golfweek/Sagarin, No. 21 Golfstat) in the semifinals beginning at 7:00 a.m. on Saturday. Top-seeded Illinois (No. 7 Golfweek/Sagarin, No. 7 Golfstat) will meet No. 2 seed Northwestern (No. 32 Golfweek/Sagarin, No. 31 Golfstat) in the other semifinal.

    There will continue to be live scoring provided by the American Junior Golf Association (AJGA) and it can accessed here.

    First Round Results
    Indiana 6 - Wisconsin 0
    1- David Erdy (IU) def. Anthony Aicher (WISC), 5&4
    2- Chase Wright (IU) def. Christopher Meyer (WISC), 4&2
    3- David Mills (IU) def. Thomas Welk (WISC), 2&1
    4- Brant Peaper (IU) def. Robert Jacobsen (WISC), 5&4
    5- Corey Ziedonis (IU) def. Eric Schremp (WISC), 8&6
    6- Kyle Perry (IU) def. Sam Frank (WISC), 2-Up

    Quarterfinal Results
    Indiana 4 - Iowa 2
    1- David Erdy (IU) def. Vince India (IOWA), 2&1
    2- Brad Hopfinger (IOWA) def. Chase Wright (IU), 5&4
    3- David Mills (IU) def. Chris Brant (IOWA), 3&2
    4- Brant Peaper (IU) def. Barrett Kelpin (IOWA), 5&4
    5- Corey Ziedonis (IU) def. Brad George (IOWA), 5&4
    6- Jed Dirksen (IOWA) def. Kyle Perry (IU), 2&1

    Semifinal Tee Times - Sat. Feb. 12
    No. 7 seed Indiana vs. No. 3 seed Ohio State
    1- David Erdy (IU) vs. Bo Hoag (OSU), 8:10 a.m.
    2- Chase Wright (IU) vs. Brad Smith (OSU), 7:56 a.m.
    3- David Mills (IU) vs. Dan Charen (OSU), 7:42 a.m.
    4- Brant Peaper (IU) vs. Michael Cress (OSU), 7:28 a.m.
    5- Corey Ziedonis (IU) vs. Matt Turner (OSU), 7:14 a.m.
    6- Kyle Perry (IU) vs. Zack Sobel (OSU), 7:00 a.m.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties