Men's Golf

    Jeff Overton Finalist for Ben Hogan Award

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    Bloomington, Ind. - Indiana men's golfer Jeff Overton is a finalist for the 2004 Ben Hogan Award, presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II, or III or NAIA golfer. The list was released by the Friends of Golf (FOG) and Colonial Country Club, in cooperation with Bank of America and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

    The fourth-ranked (Golfstat) junior is one of 34 golfers on the watch list, joining other notable nominees including Outback Steakhouse Arnold Palmer Award winners Alejandro Cañizares and Chico State's J.J. Jakovac and 2003 first-team PING All-America selections Dustin Bray of North Carolina, Wake Forest's Bill Haas, Brock Mackenzie of Washington and Arizona's Chris Nallen.

    "The depth in college golf this year is reflected in the watch list for the Hogan," stated GCAA Executive Director Gregg Grost. "Obviously, a great collegiate amateur will be chosen in this, the Heisman of college golf."

    The Hogan Award selection committee will select 10 semi-finalists on April 14 and name five finalists on April 27. The winner of the Hogan Award will be announced on May 6 and the presentation banquet will be held at Colonial Country Club on May 17, the Monday prior to the Bank of America Colonial.

    The 2004 Ben Hogan Award Watch List
    Nicolas Allain, Oklahoma City
    Chris Baryla, UTEP
    Dustin Bray, North Carolina
    Alejandro Cañizares, Arizona State
    Steve Conway, UCLA
    Matt Every, Florida
    Jack Ferguson, Clemson
    Bill Haas, Wake Forest
    Jason Hartwick, Texas
    Brad Heaven, Toledo
    Matt Hendrix, Clemson
    John Holmes, Kentucky
    Billy Hurley, Navy
    J.J. Jakovac, Chico State
    Travis Johnson, UCLA
    Gregg Jones, Clemson
    Martin Laird, Colorado State
    Brock Mackenzie, Washington
    Nolan Martin, Colorado State
    John Merrick, UCLA
    Ryan Moore, UNLV
    Chris Nallen, Arizona
    Aron Price, Georgia Southern
    Michael Putnam, Pepperdine
    Chez Reavie, Arizona State
    Matthew Rosenfeld, Texas
    Josh Sherlin, Saint John's
    Justin Smith, Minnesota
    Chris Stroud, Lamar
    Peter Tomasulo, California
    Camilo Villegas, Florida
    Casey Wittenberg, Oklahoma State




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties