Men's Golf

    Campillo Named a Semifinalist for Ben Hogan Award

    Go Hoosiers! Jorge Campillo, a Ben Hogan Award Semifinalist
    Go Hoosiers!
    Jorge Campillo, a Ben Hogan Award Semifinalist
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 20, 2009

    NORMAN, Okla. - Indiana's Jorge Campillo is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2009 Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men's college golf, the Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

    The other finalists include: Alabama's Bud Cauley, Rickie Fowler and Morgan Hoffmann of Oklahoma State, Southern California's Matthew Giles, Billy Horschel of Florida, Clemson's Kyle Stanley, Nick Taylor of Washington, Georgia Tech's Cameron Tringale and Mike Van Sickle of Marquette.

    The three finalists named on May 7 will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fourth Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 22.

    Hogan Award Semifinalists (in alphabetical order)
    Jorge Campillo, Indiana
    Bud Cauley, Alabama
    Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State
    Matthew Giles, Southern California
    Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State
    Billy Horschel, Florida
    Kyle Stanley, Clemson
    Nick Taylor, Washington
    Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
    Mike Van Sickle, Marquette

    In 10 tournaments played this season, Campillo has finished no lower than 14th and has reached the top-five six times, including three individual tournament titles. His current season scoring average of 70.48 is the second lowest in in school history.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties