Men's Golf

    Hoosiers Set for Big Ten Championships in French Lick

    Go Hoosiers! Corey Ziedonis
    Go Hoosiers!
    Corey Ziedonis
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 25, 2012

    Live Scoring
    Talking IU Men's Golf with Coach Mike Mayer

    FRENCH LICK, Ind. - The Indiana Hoosiers men's golf team (No. 31 Golfstat, No. 37 Golfweek/Sagarin) will travel to nearby French Lick, Ind. to compete in the 2012 Big Ten Championships at the Pete Dye Course on April 27-29.

    The tournament will get underway with 36 holes on Friday, followed by 18 holes on both Saturday and Sunday. The first round will begin on the first and 10th tees, with the Hoosiers starting on hole one at 8:00 a.m.

    Thursday, April 26 - Practice Round
    Friday, April 27 -- First & Second Round (36) - 8 a.m. and 1 p.m., tee times
    Saturday, April 28 -- Third Round (18) - 9 a.m., tee times
    Sunday, April 29 -- Final Round (18) - 8 a.m., tee times

    INDIANA LINEUP (2011-12 Stroke Average)
    1 -Chase Wright (72.42)
    2 -David Erdy (74.19)
    3 -David Mills (72.83)
    4 -Brant Peaper (74.79)
    5 -Corey Ziedonis (74.52)

    Live scoring will be provided via Golfstat.

    The Pete Dye Course was named America's Best New Public Course in 2009 by Golf Digest and is regarded as one of the most breathtaking 18 holes of golf in the nation. Golfweek Magazine has ranked the course No. 1 in the "Best Courses You Can Play" rankings for the state of Indiana. The Big Ten Championships will be held at the French Lick Resort for the next three years.

    Indiana is fresh off its second team title of the 2011-12 campaign, notching a win last weekend at the Boilermaker Invitational in West Lafayette, Ind. with a 13-over 877. The Hoosiers overcame an eight-shot deficit heading into the final round and grabbed the victory in an 18-team field that included six teams ranked in the nation's top-40.

    The Hoosiers enter the Big Ten Championships as the second highest rated team in the Big Ten at No. 31, according to Golfstat. Iowa holds the highest ranking at No. 26. Rankings for the rest of the conference include No. 38 Illinois, No. 51 Purdue , No. 54 Northwestern, No. 66 Ohio State, No. 93 Michigan State, No. 106 Minnesota, No. 121 Michigan, No. 147 Penn State, No. 153 Wisconsin, and No. 184 Nebraska.



    The Indiana lineup includes a wealth of late season experience, with a combined 11 Big Ten Championship appearances among the group. Seniors Chase Wright and David Erdy will be competing in their fourth, while juniors Brant Peaper and Corey Ziedonis are making their third Big Ten Championships start. Sophomore David Mills is in his second after competing last season as a freshman. Wright, Erdy, and Ziedonis each finished among the top-25 in last season's event, led by Wright's tie for fifth.

    The Hoosiers have captured eight Big Ten championships during the history of the program, with the most recent coming in 1998. Indiana has also earned eight individual Big Ten titles, including Jorge Campillo in 2008 and Jeff Overton in 2005.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties