Men's Golf

    Campillo Big Ten Golfer of the Year, Brandon Also Recognized

    Go Hoosiers! Jorge Campillo is the first Hoosier since current PGA Tour member Jeff Overton to be named Big Ten Golfer of the Year.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Jorge Campillo is the first Hoosier since current PGA Tour member Jeff Overton to be named Big Ten Golfer of the Year.
    Go Hoosiers!

    April 29, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Jorge Campillo became Indiana's first men's golf Big Ten champion since 2005 and on Tuesday, he became the school's first Big Ten Golfer of the Year since that same season. The Big Ten announced its 2007-08 men's golf postseason honorees, and Campillo became IU's first Big Ten Golfer of the Year since Jeff Overton.

    "My hat is off to Jorge," Indiana head coach Mike Mayer said. "I really do not know what else to say about him. He is one of the top golfers to ever come through this program. Jorge is without a doubt the Big Ten Player of the Year and is the unquestioned best player in the league."

    The junior, who is the 13th-ranked individual in the country by Golfweek, also secured first team all-conference honors and was named Indiana's sportsmanship honoree. Additionally, junior Seth Brandon earned second team all-league laurels. Campillo has earned all-conference accolades in three straight seasons, while Brandon claimed his first Big Ten recognition.

    Campillo became the eighth Hoosier to win a Big Ten championship doing so at Michigan State's Forest Akers West Course on April 25-27. He finished at 10-under par with a 3-under 69 in round one, 71s in rounds two and three, and a final-round 67, en route to a two-shot victory. Campillo has won three consecutive tournaments, a feat that has not been accomplished since Overton won four straight in the fall of 2003.

    With his victory, Campillo earned a spot on the All-Championship team and won the Les Bolstad Award. The honor is presented to the Big Ten player with the lowest scoring average, and Campillo led the conference with a 71.61 mark.

    Campillo joins PGA TOUR stars Overton and Shaun Micheel as the only golfers in IU history to win a Big Ten championship, Big Ten Golfer of the Year and the Les Bolstad Award. To go along with his three victories, Campillo has six top fives, seven top 10s and top 25s in 12 events this season.



    Brandon is second on the team with a 73.64 scoring average. He carded the second victory of his career at the Pinehurst Intercollegiate (March 16-18), giving him his second Big Ten Golfer of the Week honor. Brandon has three top-five, four top-10 and eight top-25 finishes while playing all 12 tournaments this year.

    "Seth has had an outstanding year for us," Mayer said. "This is quite an accomplishment. I'm proud of Seth for everything he brings to this program and he is very deserving."

    At the Big Ten Championships, he secured a tie for 22nd place and helped the Hoosiers finish fourth. Brandon has three top 25s in three career Big Ten appearances.

    Indiana will now wait to see if they get sent to the NCAA East, Central or West Regional. Regionals will be held on Thursday-Saturday, May 15-17, with the NCAA Championships taking place at Purdue on Wednesday-Saturday, May 28-31.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties