Men's Golf

    Hoosiers Set to Host NCAA Indiana Regional at Wolf Run

    Go Hoosiers! Chase Wright
    Go Hoosiers!
    Chase Wright
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 17, 2011

    First Round Pairings
    Live Scoring
    Tournament Central
    NCAA Indiana Regional Manual
    Video: Talking IU Men's Golf with Head Coach Mike Mayer

    ZIONSVILLE, Ind. - The Indiana Hoosiers men's golf team (No. 37 Golfweek/Sagarin, No. 37 Golfstat) will host the 2011 NCAA Indiana Regional on May 19-21 at Wolf Run Golf Club in Zionsville, Ind. The Hoosiers are making their seventh appearance in the last eight seasons at the NCAA Men's Golf Championships.

    The Indiana Regional is one of six 54-hole regional tournaments conducted, with the low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional advancing to the finals. The finals will be played on May 31-June 5 at Karsten Creek in Stillwater, Okla.

    For information on the NCAA Indiana Regional, including local information, directions, schedule of events, links to live scoring and results, visit the tournament central page at: NCAA Indiana Regional Tournament Central

    The NCAA Indiana Regional will feature live scoring after each hole via Golfstat.

    THE HOOSIER LINE-UP (2010-11 Stroke Average)
    1 - David Erdy (72.70)
    2 - Chase Wright (72.79)
    3 - Brant Peaper (73.82)
    4 - David Mills (73.82)
    5 - Corey Ziedonis (74.92)

    The Hoosiers are part of a 14-team regional field that includes, in order of seeds (Golfweek rankings in parentheses): Alabama (3), Illinois (11), Iowa (18), Stanford (21), Wake Forest (26), Tennessee (23), Indiana (37), Florida State (41), Michigan (53), Charlotte (59), Memphis (63), Wichita State (112), UMKC (120), and Sacred Heart (212).



    The 2010-11 Indiana Hoosiers have made winning a habit, notching four team titles during the campaign. The four triumphs ties the most in a season under head coach Mike Mayer, with the feat also being accomplished in 2003-04. The last time an Indiana team has eclipsed four tournament victories in a single-season was the 1973-74 squad's five wins.

    The Hoosiers are no strangers to Wolf Run Golf Club, as head coach Mike Mayer and the team have hosted an event there in each of the past five seasons. Most recently, the Hoosiers posted a fifth place finish on Sept. 11-12 at the Wolf Run Intercollegiate. During the previous four seasons, Indiana has registered three top-five finishes, including ties for third place in 2007 and 2009.

    Juniors David Erdy and Chase Wright picked up honors from the Big Ten Conference for their stellar play during the 2010-11 season. Erdy was named to the All-Big Ten Second Team following a season that included six top-10 finishes, including a tie for first at the Firestone Invitational. Wright earned the Sportsmanship Award and a spot on the Big Ten All-Championship team. Wright tied for fifth at the Big Ten Championships in West Lafayette, Ind. after posting a 4-over 292 at the Kampen Course.

    Freshman David Mills has made a mark during his first season in Bloomington, recording seven top-25 finishes, including two top-five showings. Mills is on pace for the second lowest season stroke average for a freshman in school history at 73.82. In 2006, Jorge Campillo set the IU freshman record with a 72.67 average.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties