Men's Golf

    Hoosiers Chase for National Championship Begins Wednesday

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Jorge Campillo leads the Hoosiers into the NCAA Finals for the first time since 1996.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Jorge Campillo leads the Hoosiers into the NCAA Finals for the first time since 1996.
    Go Hoosiers!

    May 27, 2008

    NCAA Championships Get Acrobat Reader | Video | Live Scoring

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -The Indiana men's golf team enters the finals of the NCAA Championships as the 15th seed out of 30 teams. The championships will be hosted by Purdue University and played at the Kampen Course on Wednesday-Saturday, May 28-31, in West Lafayette, Ind. The course is set up as a par 72 with a yardage of 7,467.

    The event consists of four rounds, 18 holes each day. Thirty teams (listed below by seed) will compete for the national championship, with the field being trimmed to 15 teams following the third round. The top six individuals not on advancing teams will also move on to round four.

    Indiana will tee of from the 10th tee at 1:47 p.m. EDT on Wednesday and from the opening tee at 8:35 a.m. on Thursday. Tee times begin at 7 a.m. in round three and 8 a.m. in the fourth and final round. Pairings will be in threesomes in all rounds from the first and 10th tees.

    Southern California, Georgia, Wake Forest, Oklahoma State, Clemson, Florida, UCLA, UAB, Alabama, Stanford, Auburn, Charlotte, Texas A&M, East Tennessee State, Indiana, Oregon, Augusta State, UC Irvine, Illinois, Louisville, Mississippi State, Washington, Saint Mary's, Arizona State, Kent State, Penn State, San Diego State, Texas, Middle Tennessee State and Virginia make up the field.

    Hoosier Lineup
    Head coach Mike Mayer will send junior Jorge Campillo (71.67) out in the No. 1 position followed by junior Seth Brandon (73.74), junior Drew Allenspach (74.33) and sophomore Alex Martin (74.51) for the seventh straight tournament. Fifth-year senior Santiago Quirarte (76.14) replaces true freshman Ren Han, who made six straight starts, in the fifth spot.

    Tournament Results
    Complete tournament results will be available on the web at Live scoring will be available at

    NCAA Championships History
    Indiana is making its 14th trip to the finals of the NCAA Championships and its first since 1996, when the team finished 30th. The Hoosiers best finish at the NCAA Finals is a tie for sixth place back in 1974.

    IU earned its fourth postseason berth in the last five years when it was invited to the NCAA Central Regional on May 15-17. It also marked the fourth NCAA berth in head coach Mike Mayer's 10 years at the helm of the Indiana program.

    Escaping Regionals
    The Hoosiers shot a 304 in the final round of the 2008 NCAA Central Regional to give them a 54-hole total of 901 (300-297-304), good for 10th place at Ohio State's Scarlet Course (par 71; 7,455 yards). Indiana staved off Tennessee by one stroke to gain entry into the finals.

    Battling heavy winds and difficult overall playing conditions, the Hoosiers sat at 21-over par through their first 12 holes before coming in at 1-under par over the final six. Junior Jorge Campillo played the stretch in 2-under, while junior Drew Allenspach rebounded from a bogey at his 13th hole with three consecutive birdies to match Campillo's 2-under. Junior Seth Brandon added a 1-over par, as sophomore Alex Martin finished one stroke behind Brandon for the aggregate 1-under total.

    After Tennessee's final two golfers finished bogey-bogey, the Hoosiers waited for the afternoon pairings to wrap up and saw their NCAA Championship dreams become a reality when Arkansas, the latest remaining team with a shot to top IU, slide down the leaderboard.

    Campillo paced Indiana the entire regional and finished the 141-player field in a share of fifth place. The Big Ten Golfer of the Year shot a 73 for the second consecutive round to go along with an opening even-par 71.

    Familiar Territory
    Playing the Kampen Course each of the last five seasons, the Hoosiers are quite familiar with the championship host course. Indiana tied for third at the 2008 Boilermaker Invitational and collected a championship at the event two seasons ago.

    Junior Jorge Campillo has also experienced some success at Kampen, winning two of the three tournaments he has entered. He captured medalist honors at the 2006 and 2008 Boilermaker Invitationals.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties