Men's Golf

    Campillo Collects Two Additional Postseason Honors

    Go Hoosiers! Jorge Campillo added a second first team All-America honor to his resume.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Jorge Campillo added a second first team All-America honor to his resume.
    Go Hoosiers!

    June 12, 2008

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Indiana junior men's golfer Jorge Campillo was named a First Team All-American by Golfweek and earned a spot on the Golf Coaches Association of America's All-Nicklaus Team.

    Campillo, who also collected first team PING All-America honors, was one of 10 players recognized by Golfweek. Oklahoma State's Rickie Fowler, UCLA's Kevin Chappell, Alabama's Michael Thompson, Georgia State's Joel Sjoholm, Southern California's Jamie Lovemark and Rory Hie, Stanford's Sihwan Kim, Florida State's Jonas Blixt and Georgia Tech's Chesson Hadley joined Campillo as first-teamers. The third annual Men's All-America Teams are determined using the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index.

    The All-Nicklaus Team was created this year, and is not only named for history's greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champions at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men's golfer in Division I, II, III and the NAIA.

    The team is highlighted by Nicklaus Award recipients Chappell, Point Loma Nazarene's Sam Cyr, Scott Harris Jr. of St. John Fisher and Sonoma State's Jarin Todd. The balance of the All-Nicklaus team is comprised of Blixt, Oklahoma Christian's Bruno Buccolo, Campillo, Fowler, Hie and Lovemark, Washington & Lee's Nathaniel James, Kim, Boise State's Troy Merritt, Cory Renfrew of British Columbia, Joe Schoolmeesters of Saint John's (Minn.), Wake Forest's Webb Simpson, Sjoholm, Thompson, Brent Witcher of Valdosta State and Armstrong Atlantic State's Chris Wolfe.

    Campillo shared second place at the 2008 NCAA Championships and matched Wayne McDonald, who tied for second at the 1969 NCAA Championships, for the best individual placing in Indiana men's golf history. The Caceres, Spain, native became just the fifth golfer (sixth time) in Hoosier lore to capture first team All-America recognition and the first since 1997. Campillo joined fellow first-teamers McDonald (1969, 1970), Kelly Roberts (1975), Shaun Micheel (1991) and Randy Leen (1997).



    He finished the season with three championships, two runner-ups, eight top fives, nine top 10s and 12 top 25s. His 71.72 scoring average is the third-best single-season average in Hoosier history. Campillo also secured All-Midwest Region honors for the third straight year, first team all-conference honors and was named Indiana's sportsmanship honoree. He joined PGA TOUR stars Jeff Overton and Micheel as the only golfers in Indiana history to ever win a Big Ten championship, Big Ten Golfer of the Year and the Les Bolstad Award in the same campaign.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties