Men's Golf

    Eight Hoosiers Honored by Big Ten

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    Bloomington, Ind. - Eight members of the Indiana men's golf team were named to the 2004 Spring Academic All-Big Ten Conference Team it was announced by the league office. Ryan Cassidy, Oren Hodak, Brad Marek, Rob Ockenfuss, Jeff Overton, Heath Peters, Scott Seibert and Kirk Wood were honored by the Conference for their academic achievements.

    "As well as having a great year on the golf course, we had a great year in the classroom," said Indiana head coach Mike Mayer. "I couldn't be more proud of these guys. Our team GPA is the highest it has been since I've been head coach and one of the highest in the history of the program."

    Overall, 91 Hoosier student-athletes were honored, fourth in the league, trailing only Ohio State (149), Penn State (127) and Minnesota (102).

    A total of 915 spring and at-large sports student-athletes were named to the Academic All-Conference Team, an increase of 34 honorees over last year and the highest spring total in the last decade.

    Overall, Indiana recognized 154 Academic All-Big Ten honorees during the 2003-04 academic year.

    To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, student-athletes must be letterwinners, in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a career grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better.

    The following is a team-by-team breakdown of the Academic All-Big Ten team:

    Men's Golf (8 student-athletes)
    Ryan Cassidy- SR-Sport Marketing and Managemen
    Oren Hodak- JR-Sport Marketing and Management

    Brad Marek- SO-Business

    Rob Ockenfuss- JR- Business

    Jeff Overton- JR-Sport Marketing and Management

    Heath Peters-JR-Marketing

    Scott Seibert- SO-Sport Marketing and Management
    Kirk Wood- SR-Sport Marketing and Managemen

    Women's Track and Field (23 student-athletes)
    Student-Athlete - Year - Major

    Lauren Chesnut-SR-Exercise Science

    Jennifer Cobbina- SR-Sociology

    Heidi Crowley- SR-Finance

    Jennifer Emley- SO-Marketing

    Jessica Gall- SO-Political Science

    Audrey Giesler- SR-Biology

    Ashley Groth- JR-Marketing/Management

    Lindsay Hattendorf- SO-Elementary Education

    Sarah Meyer- JR-Math

    Allison Miller- JR-Elementary Education

    Becky Obrecht- SR-Chemistry

    Larra Overton- JR-Journalism

    Abby Paul- SR-Biology

    Mindy Peterson- JR-Biology

    Jean Schaffer- SO-Philosophy

    Julie Shields- JR-Health Education

    Kelly Siefker- SO-Exercise Science

    Ashley Stinton- SO-Marketing

    Jackie Taylor- SR-Elementary Education

    Emily Tharpe- JR-Apparel and Merchandising

    Ellison Tipton- SR-Biology

    Jessica Veenstra- SR-Therapeutic Recreation

    Jenna Wienke- SO-Social Studies

    Rowing (18 student-athletes)
    Lauren Anderson- SO-Biology

    Corrie Beck- SO-Psychology

    Mary Bell- JR-Elementary Education

    Elisabeth Benoit- SO-Social Studies Education

    Line Espedal- SR-History

    Kristen Gonsalves- SO-Telecommunications

    Jessica Hillsley-SO-Journalism

    Amy Hoffman- JR-Mathematics

    Erin Kuehn- SO-Psychology

    Annie Lawson- JR-Communication & Culture

    Laura Lazaridis- SO-English

    Sarah Meyer- JR- Mathematics

    Ashley Quinn-JR-History of Art

    Casey Schoenhoft- JR-Exercise Science

    Kelly Schuiling- JR-Elementary Education

    Katie Slavik- SO-Early Childhood Education

    Kristin Storer-JR-Exercise Science

    Amanda Walker- JR-Biochemistry

    Men's Track and Field (14 student athletes)
    Marcus Aguilar- SO-Bio Chemistry

    Tom Burns- SR-Mathematics

    Billy Coale- JR-Exercise Science

    Wil Fleming- JR-Nutrition Science

    Greg Garrett- SO-Informatics

    Kurtis George- JR-Accounting

    Nathan Gooden- JR-Criminal Justice

    Mike Halaschak- SR-Marketing

    Kevin Kempf- SO-Finance

    Ryan Ketchum- JR-Fitness Specialist

    Mike Minton-SR-History

    Chris Powers-SR-International Studies

    Nathan Purcell- SR-Management/Marketing

    Eric Redman-JR-Political Science

    Women's Water Polo (7 student-athletes)
    Jessica Goldner-JR-Elementary Education

    Krista Peterson- JR-Economics/ Political Science

    Melissa Pietras- SR-Exercise Science

    Courtney Livak- SO-Studio Art

    Bridget McKeon- SO-Exercise Science

    Emily Schmitt- SO-Political Science

    Kristy Streefkerk- SR -Informatics

    Softball (6 student-athletes)
    Abby Page- SO-Political Science

    Abby Stark- SR-Elementary Education

    Heather Stillians- SR-Elementary Education

    Val White-SR-English

    Katie Witham- JR-Biology

    Troy Yamaguchi- SO-Education

    Baseball (5 student-athletes)
    David Hughes-SR-Sport Marketing & Management

    Jay Brant- JR-Management

    Ryan Parker- JR-Business Management

    Dan Pezley- JR-Finance

    Bobby Segal- SO-Sport Marketing & Management

    Women's Golf (4 student-athletes)
    Ambry Bishop--SR-Rec. Sport Management

    Karen Dennison-SR-Sport Marketing and Management

    Mary Lidester- SR-Finance

    Molly Redfearn- SO-Sport Marketing and Management

    Women's Tennis (3 student-athletes)
    Sarah Batty- SO-Management

    Martina Grimm- SR-Telecommunications

    Karie Schlukebir- SR-Athletic Administration./Sports Mgmt

    Men's Tennis (2 student-athletes)
    Jakub Praibis- JR-General Studies

    Ryan Recht- JR-Management




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties