Men's Golf

    Overton Named Second Team All-American

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!
    June 28, 2004

    Norman, Okla. -- Indiana men's golfer Jeff Overton was named a PING second team All-American as announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). Overton is the first golfer since Randy Leen in 1998 (second team) to earn All-America status.

    Other second team selections included Jack Ferguson and Matt Hendrix of Clemson, Brad Heaven of Toledo, UCLA's Travis Johnson, Anthony Kim of Oklahoma, New Mexico's Spencer Levin, Pepperdine's Michael Putnam, Chez Reavie of Arizona State and Oklahoma State's Casey Wittenberg.

    "Jeff had an outstanding, record-breaking season. It will go down as one of the best ever in the history of Indiana golf. I'm very proud of him receiving this well-deserved honor," said Indiana head coach Mike Mayer.

    Overton accomplished several remarkable feats during the 2003-04 season. The junior completed the season finishing tied for 20th at the NCAA Championships. He was named Big Ten Player of the Year averaging 70.62, the lowest season-stroke average in the program's history. Overton's 72.25 career stroke average also stands as the lowest in IU history.

    The Evansville, Ind., product captured five individual titles and received the Les Bolstad Award for the lowest stroke average in the Big Ten Conference. He was named Big Ten Golfer of the Week five times and was selected to the U.S. team at the 2004 Fuji Xerox U.S.A. Collegiate Golf Championship. The team will compete in Japan on July 13-16.

    Overton set the top two 18-hole (64, 65), top three 36-hole (130, 131, 134) and top two 54-hole (199, 203) scoring records in Indiana history.

    Additionally, Overton has continued his successful play this summer. He finished tied for sixth at the Sunnehanna Amateur with 211 (70-68-73) and tied for 12th at the Northeast Amateur with 278 (70-70-68-70).

    Overton will also defend his Indiana State Amateur Championship on Monday-Thursday, June 28-July 1, at the Brickyard Crossing Golf Course in Indianapolis.

    Matt Every and Camilo Villegas of Florida, Wake Forest's Bill Haas, Jason Hartwick of Texas, Kentucky's John Holmes, Brock Mackenzie of Washington, UNLV's Ryan Moore, Chris Nallen of Arizona, Lamar's Chris Stroud and Peter Tomasulo of California were previously named to the PING All-America first team.

    UTEP's Chris Baryla, Alejandro Canizares of Arizona State, Colorado State's Martin Laird and Nolan Martin, Luke List of Vanderbilt, TCU's Adam Meyer, Aron Price of Georgia Southern, Duke's Nathan Smith, Nicholas Thompson of Georgia Tech and Colorado's Kane Webber were named to the PING All-America third team.

    A total of 39 golfers were named to the honorable mention team.


    First Team
    Matt Every, Florida
    Bill Haas, Wake Forest
    Jason Hartwick, Texas
    John Holmes, Kentucky
    Brock Mackenzie, Washington
    Ryan Moore, UNLV
    Chris Nallen, Arizona
    Chris Stroud, Lamar
    Peter Tomasulo, California
    Camilo Villegas

    Second Team
    Jack Ferguson, Clemson
    Brad Heaven, Toledo
    Matt Hendrix, Clemson
    Travis Johnson, UCLA
    Anthony Kim, Oklahoma
    Spencer Levin, New Mexico
    Michael Putnam, Pepperdine
    Chez Reavie, Arizona State
    Casey Wittenberg, Oklahoma State

    Third Team
    Chris Baryla, UTEP
    Alejandro Cañizares, Arizona State
    Martin Laird, Colorado State
    Luke List, Vanderbilt
    Nolan Martin, Colorado State
    Adam Meyer, TCU
    Aron Price, Georgia Southern
    Nathan Smith, Duke
    Nicholas Thompson, Georgia Tech
    Kane Webber, Colorado

    Honorable Mention
    Oscar Alvarez, Brigham Young
    Ryan Blaum, Duke
    Dustin Bray North Carolina
    Lars Brovold, Alabama
    Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
    Steve Conway, UCLA
    Carlos Del Moral, Oklahoma
    Will Dodson, SMU
    Judd Easterling, Wichita State
    A.J. Elgert, Kansas State
    Jake Ellison, Brigham Young
    Ty Harris, Georgia State
    Ben Hayes, Southern California
    Jeff Hood, California
    Billy Hurley, Navy
    David Inglis, Tulsa
    Kevin Kisner, Georgia
    Matthew Kodama, Hawaii
    Shiv Kapur, Purdue
    Kasper Jorgensen, Georgia State
    Bronson LaCassie, Minnesota
    Mark Lamb, Arizona
    Mark Leon, Penn State
    Tyler Leon, Oklahoma State
    Henry Liaw, Arizona
    Gareth Maybin, South Alabama
    Todd Miller, Brigham Young
    Roy Moon, UCLA
    Jessie Mudd, Florida
    Alex Norén, Oklahoma State
    Brian O'Flaherty, Pepperdine
    Erik Olson, Washington
    Alex Prugh, Washington
    Matthew Rosenfeld, Texas
    Justin Smith, Minnesota
    Brett Stegmaier, Florida
    Brendon Todd, Georgia
    Matt Wells, Kentucky
    Chan Wongluekiet, Georgia Tech




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties