Men's Golf

    Erdy, Wright Named to PING All-Midwest Region Team

    Go Hoosiers! David Erdy
    Go Hoosiers!
    David Erdy
    Go Hoosiers!

    July 16, 2011

    STILLWATER, Okla. - Indiana rising seniors David Erdy and Chase Wright were named to the 2011 PING All-Midwest Region Team, announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

    A total of 152 players across six regions - Northeast, East, Southeast, Midwest, Central and West - earned all-region honors for 2011.

    Erdy finished his junior campaign with a season scoring average of 72.83, which is 16th on the Indiana all-time list. The Boonville, Ind. native recorded top-25 performances in nine events, including six top-10 finishes. Erdy took home individual medalist honors at the Firestone Invitational, which included a second round 65 while helping lead the Hoosiers to the team title.

    Wright registered the 17th best season average in IU history at 73.06. He notched four top-five finishes on the year, as well as nine top-25 showings. Wright registered three straight finishes of sixth of better during his junior season, including the Firestone Invitational (6), Kiawah Island Intercollegiate (T4), and Wexford Plantation Intercollegiate (T4).

    Erdy (73.34) and Wright (73.45) will enter their senior seasons in 3rd and 4th in the IU record book for lowest career stroke average.

    2011 PING All-Midwest Region Team
    Chris Brant, Iowa
    Cameron Carrico, Murray State
    Eric Chun, Northwestern
    Donald Constable, Minnesota
    Chris DeForest, Illinois
    David Erdy, Indiana
    Joey Garber, Michigan
    Luke Guthrie, Illinois
    John Hahn, Kent State
    Bo Hoag, Ohio State
    Brad Hopfinger, Iowa
    Mackenzie Hughes, Kent State
    Vince India, Iowa
    Lion Kim, Michigan
    Scott Langley, Illinois
    David Lipsky, Northwestern
    Adam Schenk, Purdue
    Max Scodro, Notre Dame
    William Sjaichudin, Purdue
    Brad Smith, Ohio State
    Eric Steger, Ball State
    Nathan Sutherland, Miami
    Matt Thompson, Michigan
    Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
    Chase Wright, Indiana




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties