Men's Golf

    Mills Named All-America Scholar by Golf Coaches Association of America

    Go Hoosiers! David Mills (left) and Will Seger
    Go Hoosiers!
    David Mills (left) and Will Seger
    Go Hoosiers!

    July 23, 2014

    Complete ListGet Acrobat Reader

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - David Mills, who finished his eligibility following the 2013-14 season, was named a Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar by the Golf Coaches Association of America on Wednesday. It marks the second straight season that Mills has received the award, becoming just the fourth golfer in program history to accomplish that.

    "David worked tirelessly in the classroom and on his game," Indiana head coach Mike Mayer said, "and this award is proof of that. He is part of a prestigious group of student-athletes from across the country to receive this award and we are proud of his accomplishments."

    Mills becomes the 17th player in program history to be named All-America Scholar and the 10th since 2004.

    The Evansville, Ind., native posted a career scoring average of 73.94 during his senior season to accompany his four Top 10 finishes. His career scoring average of 74.09 ranks 8th all-time at Indiana.

    To be eligible for Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 50-percent of his team's competitive rounds, have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I, 78.0 in Division II, 77.0 in NAIA and 79.0 in Division III, and maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

    A total of 207 players in Division I, 75 in Division II and 11 in NAIA earned the honor. Additionally, 46 honorees were added to the previously released Division III Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars.

    All-America Scholars from Indiana
    1992: Joe Tomaselli, Jody Roudebush
    1993: Jody Roudebush
    1994: Jody Roudebush
    1996: Mike Kemper
    1997: Josh Brewer
    1998: Josh Brewer
    2004: Ryan Cassidy
    2005: Brad Marek, Scott Seibert
    2008: Drew Allenspach
    2009: Drew Allenspach
    2011: David Erdy
    2013: Michael McGee, David Mills and Corey Zeidonis
    2014: David Mills




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties