Men's Golf

    Trio Of Hoosiers Named Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars

    Go Hoosiers! Michael McGee
    Go Hoosiers!
    Michael McGee
    Go Hoosiers!

    July 25, 2013

    Complete List of All-America ScholarsGet Acrobat Reader

    NORMAN, Okla. - Three members of the 2012-13 Indiana University Men's Golf team - Michael McGee, David Mills and Corey Ziedonis - were named Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholars by the Golf Coaches Association of America on July 24.

    The three honorees are the most the Hoosiers have ever had in one season, topping the previous best of two players in 2005 and 1992. All totaled, IU has had 16 players receive the honor, including the three mentioned above. The last time an IU golfer received this recognition was David Erdy in 2011.

    "This is a tremendous honor for not only those three individually, but for our program as a whole," Indiana head coach Mike Mayer said. "We put great emphasis on being successful on the course and in the classroom and these three exemplify that to the fullest."

    A total of 152 NCAA Division I golfers received this award for the 2012-13 season. To be eligible for Cleveland Golf/Srixon All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically, compete in at least three full years at the collegiate level, participate in 50-percent of his team's competitive rounds or compete in the NCAA Championships, have a stroke-average under 76.0 in Division I and maintain a minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

    McGee, a native of Kansas City, Mo., played 31 rounds for the Hoosiers during his senior season and posted a scoring average of 74.58, which was second on the team among players that played more than 10 rounds on the year. He carded six Top 25 finishes during the season including a T2nd at the Northern Intercollegiate in the fall. Following the season, he picked up the Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship while earning Academic All-Big Ten honors for the third time in his career.

    Mills, who hails from Evansville, Ind., played in every tournament for the Hoosiers during his junior year and registered a scoring average of 75.21 with four Top 25 finishes, led by a T2nd at the NYX Hoosier Invitational. He was also the top IU performer at the Big Ten Championships, finishing in a tie for eighth place and logged his second Academic All-Big Ten nod as well.

    Ziedonis closed his stellar career with a scoring average of 74.91 while playing in every tournament for IU. He carded seven Top 25 finishes on the year and has 24 rounds out of 37 where he posted a score of 75 or better. His best finish came at the Mission Inn Spring Specatular in Florida, where he tied for eighth. At the NCAA Fayetteville Regional, he was the top IU golfer as he tied for 21st. The Indianapolis, Ind., product garnered two Academic All-Big Ten accolades during his career.

    All-America Scholars from Indiana
    1992: Joe Tomaselli, Jody Roudebush
    1993: Jody Roudebush
    1994: Jody Roudebush
    1996: Mike Kemper
    1997: Josh Brewer
    1998: Josh Brewer
    2004: Ryan Cassidy
    2005: Brad Marek, Scott Seibert
    2008: Drew Allenspach
    2009: Drew Allenspach
    2011: David Erdy




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties