Men's Golf

    Talking IU Men's Golf - Northern Intercollegiate Preview

    Go Hoosiers! Corey Ziedonis
    Go Hoosiers!
    Corey Ziedonis
    Go Hoosiers!

    Northern Intercollegiate
     Dates Sept. 8-9, 2012
     Location Aurora, Ill.
    Golf Course Rich Harvest Farms ( website)
    Par / Total Yardage 71 / 7,218
    Indiana Lineup (2011-12 stroke average) 1) David Mills (73.23)
    2) Brant Peaper (74.81)
    3) Corey Ziedonis (74.79)
    4) Michael McGee (73.73)
    5) Hugo Menendez (75.00)

    Individual) Sean Stone (first collegiate tournament)

    Online Scoring
    1st/2nd Round Tee Times 1st/2nd Round Tee Times Get Acrobat Reader
     Social Media Twitter: @IUMensGolf

    The Indiana Hoosiers men's golf team will open the 2012-13 season this weekend at the Northern Intercollegiate hosted by Northern Illinois University. The tournament will be played at Rich Harvest Farms in Aurora, Ill., with 36 holes to be played on Saturday (Sept. 8) and 18 holes on Sunday (Sept. 9).

    The 11-team field this weekend includes the defending champion from last year - Central Florida. The Hoosiers are also joined by Augusta State, Ball State, Iowa State, Liberty, Michigan State, Northern Illinois, Purdue, St. Mary's and Virginia.

    The Rich Harvest Farms golf course is rated No. 58 in Golf Digest's Top 100 courses in America and No. 75 in the 2012 Golf Digest 75 Toughest Golf Courses in America. The course also hosted the 2009 Solheim Cup - the women's equivalent to the Ryder Cup - and will be the site of the 2012 Ryder Cup Captains Challenge.

    The course is a Par 71 with a total yardage of 7,218 yards.

    Last year the Hoosiers rallied in the final round to jump from sixth place to a tie for third place at this event. Graduated senior Chase Wright led the IU charge with his tie for sixth place finish individually (+3, 74-74-68-216).

    Brant Peaper shot a 10-over par 223 (71-73-79) to tie for 17th at Rich Harvest Farms and David Mills fired a 14-over par 227 (75-75-77) to tie for 25th.

    The Big Ten Conference announced it's Golfers To Watch for the 2012-13 season on Tuesday (Sept. 4) and the three Indiana players that were listed incluced David Mills, Corey Ziedonis and Brant Peaper.

    Mills was a First Team All-Big Ten performer last year and finished fourth individually at the Big Ten Championships at the Pete Dye Course in French Lick.

    Peaper played all 31 rounds for the Hoosiers last year and posted a scoring average of 74.81 including a 65 at the Windon Memorial, the lowest round by a Hoosier in 2011-12.

    Ziedonis played in 28 rounds last year and was one of three players on the team to post 20 or more rounds of 75 or better on the year. He finished T23 at the NCAA Greensboro Regional for his best finish of the season.

    Head Coach Mike Mayer welcomes back nine players that saw tournament action last year but will have to replace seniors Chase Wright and David Erdy - two of the top three players from last year judging by scoring average.

    Looking to pick up the slack will be David Mills, Corey Ziedonis and Brant Peaper, all of whom played 28 or more tournament rounds for the Cream and Crimson in 2011-12. Those three players combined for 15 Top 25 finishes last year and 63 round sof 75 or better.

    Andrew Fogg (14 rounds) and Michael McGee (11) also so considerable time last year and will provide depth to the lineup. Nicholas Grubnich, John Beringer, Kyle Perry and Hugo Menendez saw limited tournament action but have performed well in qualifying for the team early in the season.

    Indiana added just two new players to the roster - Max Kollin and Sean Stone. Kollin is from Farmington Hills, Mich., and was the Individual State Champion last year as a senior at North Farmington Hills High School.

    Stone comes to the Hoosiers from Harrison High School in Evansville, Ind. He was the Indiana High School State Champion last year, winning the tournament by three strokes and also led Harrison to the state team title.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties