Men's Soccer

    Six Hoosiers Earn All-Big Ten Honors

    Go Hoosiers! Senior Tommy Meyer was named to the All-Big Ten first team Thursday night.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Senior Tommy Meyer was named to the All-Big Ten first team Thursday night.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Nov. 10, 2011

    Indiana vs. Northwestern - Match Notes Get Acrobat Reader

    ANN ARBOR, Mich. - Six member of the Indiana men's soccer team were honored for the work on the field, earning All-Big Ten honors, the conference office announced tonight at its annual awards banquet Thursday night.

    Freshman forward Eriq Zavaleta, seniors defender Chris Estridge, midfielder Alec Purdie, defender Tommy Meyer and sophomore midfielder Nikita Kotlov were named to the first team. Zavaleta and Kerel Bradford were named to the all-freshman team.

    Leading the way is Zavaleta, who was a unanimous selection as Big Ten Freshman of the Year and was unanimous pick for the All-Big Ten first team and Big Ten All-Freshman team. Zavaleta currently leads the Hoosiers and is tied for the Big Ten lead in goals scored with nine. He leads the Big Ten in points scored (23), points per game (1.21) and is tied for sixth in assists (5). Zavaleta has three game-winning goals, which is tied for second in the conference

    Zavaleta's nine goals are the most by a Hoosier freshman since Matt Fundenberger had 13 in 1997. Should he maintain his lead, Zavaleta would be the first freshman to lead the team in goals scored since Darren Yeagle in 2006. Zavaleta is the 11th Hoosier to be named Big Ten freshman of the year, including his head coach Todd Yeagley who earned the honor in 1991.

    Estridge was also a unanimous first-team pick. His first Big Ten honor, Estridge has helped anchor a defense that has posted eight shutouts this season, while allowing just 17 goals. Always an offensive threat from his left back position, Estridge has three goals and four assists for 10 points, which ranks fourth on the team.

    Purdie is a first-team All-Big Ten honoree for the first time in his career. Purdie has been a go-to scorer for the Hoosiers this season, leading the Big Ten in game-winning goals with five. His eight total goals ranks second in the Big Ten and is a new season best for the Elkhart native. Most recently Purdie had the game-winning goal in Indiana's 2-1 victory over Michigan State in the quarterfinal of the Big Ten Tournament Wednesday.

    Meyer earns first-team honors after being a second-team selection in 2010. Like Estridge, Meyer has been the backbone of the Indiana defense, with the Hoosiers posting nearly three times as many shutouts as they did in 2010. The centerback has also show his offensive skills this year, ranking tied for first on the team and tied for second in the Big Ten Conference with six assists.

    After a slow start to the season due to lingering injuries, Kotlov has been the hottest player in the conference, scoring six goals in his last seven matches, including game winners against Ohio State and Evansville. Kotlov currently has seven goals on the season, picking up number seven in the Hoosiers' 2-1 win over Michigan State in the Big Ten Tournament quarterfinals. Kotlov was an all-freshman team selection in 2010.

    Joining Zavaleta on the all-freshman team is Bradford. Bradford has started all 19 matches for the Hoosiers this season, teaming up with sophomore Jacob Bushue in a defensive midfielder role. Bradford has also found himself in the attack on several occasions this season, taking four shots on the year.

    Bradford was also honored as Indiana's Sportsmanship Award winner.

    Indiana has now had 93 players earn All-Big Ten first team honors since the conference began recognizing the sport in 1991. Indiana is one of just two schools to have any players earn four All-Big Ten first team honors (Penn State) and the only one to have more than one player. That distinction goes to Yeagley, current Hoosiers assistant Brian Maisonneuve, Aleksey Korol and Yuri Lavrinenko,

    The Hoosiers (12-3-4) continue Big Ten Tournament play tomorrow as they take on No. 1 seed Northwestern at 1 p.m. ET in a match that will be shown live on the Big Ten Network.

    Offensive Player of the Year: Chris Hegngi, Ohio State
    Defensive Player of the Year: David Tiemstra, Ohio State
    Freshman of the Year: Eriq Zavaleta, Indiana
    Coach of the Year: TIM LENAHAN, Northwestern

    All-Big Ten Teams
    First Team
    CHRIS ESTRIDGE, D, Indiana
    Nikita Kotlov, M, Indiana
    Tommy Meyer, D, Indiana
    Alec Purdie, F, Indiana
    ERIQ ZAVALETA, F, Indiana

    Cyrus Sadee, M, Michigan State
    OLIVER KUPE, F, Northwestern
    Tyler Miller, GK, Northwestern
    Chris Hegngi, F, Ohio State
    DAVID TIEMSTRA, D, Ohio State
    Tomislav Zadro, M, Wisconsin

    Second Team
    Latif Alashe, M, Michigan
    Kofi Opare, D, Michigan
    Mark Barone, D, Michigan State
    Adam Montague, F, Michigan State
    Nikko Boxall, D, Northwestern
    Chris Ritter, M, Northwestern
    Lepe Seetane, M, Northwestern
    Parnell Hegngi, F, Ohio State
    Matt Lampson, GK, Ohio State
    Austin McAnena, M, Ohio State
    Chris Prince, F, Wisconsin

    All-Freshman Team
    Kerel Bradford, M, Indiana
    ERIQ ZAVALETA, F, Indiana

    TYLER ARNONE, M, Michigan
    Fatai Alashe, M, Michigan State
    RYAN KEENER, D, Michigan State
    ADAM MONTAGUE, F, Michigan State
    NIKKO BOXALL, D, Northwestern
    TYLER MILLER, GK, Northwestern
    Kenny Cunningham, F, Ohio State
    Brady Wahl, M, Ohio State
    AJ Cochran, D, Wisconsin

    Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

    Sportsmanship Award Honorees:
    Kerel Bradford, Indiana

    Tim Bergsma, Michigan
    Garret Back, Michigan State
    Peter O'Neill, Northwestern
    Sage Gardner, Ohio State
    Jacob Barron, Penn State
    Blake Succa, Wisconsinbr>




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties