Men's Swimming

    Todd Waikel  
    Todd Waikel

    Assistant Diving Coach

    Seventh Year


    Hoosiers Sweep Tennessee, Kentucky in Season Opener

    Indiana opens the season at 2-0.

    Todd Waikel is in his seventh season as the assistant diving coach at Indiana University.

    In the summer of 2011 Waikel was named USA Team coach for the World University Games in Shenzhen, China. There he led IU team members Amy Korthauer and Amy Cozad to their fourth-place finish on women's synchronized platform. Just Prior to China Waikel helped Korthauer and Cozad to their USA Diving national title on that same event. Waikel was also instrumental in guiding the Indiana women's team to another USA National Team title and a combined team title for both the men and women.

    The 2010-11 season was another successful season for the IU divers. Waikel was key in guiding the women to their third-consecutive Big Ten title and freshman Laura Ryan to her first win on women's platform.

    In 2009-10, Waikel saw sophomore protégé Gabby Agostino capture her first Big Ten title with a win on the platform, helping the Hoosiers to the women's conference championship. Hoosiers All-American Christina Loukas won a national title on the 3-meter springboard at the USA Diving winter nationals, and senior Amy Korthauer earned a spot on the U.S. national team for the FINA World Cup in China. Waikel was also named USA diving team leader/ coach competing in Montreal for the 2010 Canada Cup.

    In the summer of 2010, Cozad teamed up with Ryan to win the synchronized platform title at the USA Summer National Championships, and the Hoosiers went on the capture the combined team title.

    In 2009, Waikel helped Loukas to Big Ten and NCAA titles on the 3-meter springboard, as well as NCAA Diver of the Year, Big Ten Diver of the Year and Big Ten Diver of the Championships honors. Brittney Feldman posted a third-place finish on the 3-meter springboard at the NCAA meet, earning All-America recognition.

    In 2008, Waikel and Huber put together another dominating squad, capturing four Big Ten titles and earning diver of the year, diver of the championship and coach of the year on both the men's and women's sides. Feldman captured conference titles on the 1-meter and 3-meter springboard and went on to earn All-America honors in both events. Landon Marzullo won the same events on the men's side and was named All-American for all three diving events.

    In 2007, Loukas turned in one of the most dominant performances in Big Ten diving history, becoming just the fourth league diver to win all three diving events at the meet. Loukas set a new school and Big Ten record in winning the platform and a new school record in taking the 3-meter, earning Big Ten Diver of the Year and Diver of the Championships honors for the third straight year.

    For the men, David Legler finished second on the platform at the Big Ten meet, while Taylor Roberts was fifth on the platform and sixth on the 3-meter. Loukas went on to earn first-team All-America honors at the NCAA Championships with a second-place finish in the 1-meter. Feldman finished 10th, and Lindsay Weigle 13th to earn honorable mention All-America honors.

    Not done yet, Loukas snagged her first national title with a win the 1-meter at the 2007 National Championships and defended that title in 2008 and 2009. She was also a silver medalist in the 3-meter and earned a bronze in the 3-meter synchro at the World University Games.

    In his first season with the Hoosiers, Waikel helped the IU divers post impressive showings on both the Big Ten and NCAA levels. On the men's side, Waikel assisted Huber in coaching Big Ten Co-Diver of the Year and Diver of the Championships Brian Mariano. Mariano advanced to the championship finals in all three boards, winning the platform.

    The Hoosiers produced two male diving All-Americans in 2006, Waikel's first season with the program. Taylor Roberts, the Big Ten champion on the 3-meter, finished seventh on that board at the NCAA Championships and was 16th from the tower. Ryan Fagan placed eighth in the platform and was 15th in the one-meter.

    The women's diving team turned in a season for the ages in 2006, as well. Loukas was named Big Ten Co-Diver of the Year and Co-Diver of the Championships after winning the 1-meter and finishing second from the tower. Indiana had three finalists in the platform, with Weigle finishing third behind Loukas and Heather Chapman placing fifth.

    That success carried over into the NCAA Championships, as Loukas earned All-American status from all three boards. She finished second on the three-meter, fifth on the one-meter and was sixth on the platform. Weigle also earned a trip to the awards stand, as she took bronze from the tower.

    Prior to joining the Hoosiers, Waikel was considered one of the top junior coaches in the country. During his 15 year tenure as a junior coach, Waikel worked with some of the top JO divers from beginner to JO All-American and Champions.

    Waikel is also a Safety certification, U.S. Diving's Grassroots and Dive Safe instructor.

    The Warsaw, Indiana native graduated in 1994 with a bachelor's degree in speech communications from Purdue University.

    Waikel and his wife, Marlene, are the parents of nine children: Damian, Hannah, Nathan, Dominic, Jonah, Paul, Christopher, Clare and Vincent.

      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties