Men's Swimming

    No. 14 Indiana Tops No. 8 Michigan, 163-137

    Go Hoosiers! Titus Knight had key victories for Indiana in the 100 and 200 freestyle in a victory over Michigan.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Titus Knight had key victories for Indiana in the 100 and 200 freestyle in a victory over Michigan.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 8, 2011

    Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The Indiana men's swimming and diving team accomplished something it had not done since the 1998-99 season with a 163-137 win over the 8th-ranked Michigan Wolverines at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

    In addition to being the first Hoosier victory over the Wolverines in more than a decade, it marked the first Big Ten dual meet loss for Michigan since Jan. 27, 2007 against Northwestern.

    IU is now 4-2-1 in dual meets this season.

    Eric Ress, Cody Miller, Cody Weik and Bryan Chovanec took second in the 200 medley relay with a season-best time of 1:29.96. That is just 2/100ths of a second off an NCAA provisional time.

    Illya Larin pulled away from the field in the 1,650 freestyle, winning in a time of 15:31.18. That is an NCAA B time and the third fastest time by a Hoosier this season. Ryan Hinshaw took second in 15:37.28, with Patrick Scally fourth (15:52.45).

    In a battle between Titus Knight and Michigan's Daniel Madwed in the 200 freestyle, Knight touched the wall first in 1:38.17, with Madwed at 1:38.39. Jim Barbiere took third at 1:40.16.

    Ress continued his dominance in the 100 backstroke, winning in a time of 48.72. Doug Spraul was fifth in 50.42.

    Miller was the third-place finisher in the 100 breaststroke after clocking a time of 56.76. Brenden Butler took sixth in 59.95.

    Kyle Whitaker of Michigan pulled ahead of Tyler Shedron in the final 50 yards of the 200 butterfly to win in 1:48.50. Shedron touched in 1:49.43, while Cody Weik was fourth (1:51.32).

    Chovanec was the fastest man in the pool today, winning the 50 freestyle with a season best time of 20.08. That is also an NCAA B cut. Ante Zoricic placed third in 20.30, also a season best and NCAA provisional time.

    At the first break after the 50 free Michigan held a slim 66-65 lead over Indiana.

    Knight and Zoricic went 1-2 in the 100 freestyle, with Zoricic finishing in a tie with Michigan's Neal Kennedy. Knight finished in 44.83 (season best), with Zoricic and Kennedy clocking a time of 45.23. That gave Indiana a 77.5-72.5 lead over the Wolverines.

    With All-American Ress not swimming the 200 backstroke, Spraul took the 200 backstroke victory in 1:48.74. Austin Steel was fourth in 1:49.93, just off his season best. That allowed IU to stretch its lead to eight points at 88.5-80.5.

    A pair of Millers led the race in the 200 breaststroke with Michigan's Jared Miller first in 2:02.05 and IU's Cody Miller second at 2:02.38. Sam Trahin was fourth (2:06.33), but third and fifth-place finishes by Michigan allowed the Wolverines to close to within a point at 94.5-93.5 in the team score.

    Hinshaw took the 500 free in 4:28.36, leading a 1-2-3 IU sweep with Larin second (4:29.36) and Ress third (4:31.47). That gave the Hoosiers some breathing room in the team score with a 110.5-96.5 lead.

    Michigan came right back with a 1-2-3-4 finish in the 100 butterfly, with Shedron fifth in 50.03 and Weik sixth (50.49). The results made it a 1-point meet once again at 113.5-112.5.

    Ress was a second-place finisher in the 200 individual medley, tying with Michigan's Kyle Whitaker at 1:49.00. That is an NCAA B cut for the Hoosier sophomore.

    With the platform results added into the team score, Indiana held a 136-128 lead heading into the 400 freestyle relay. Knight gave IU the lead after the first 100 and Barbiere maintained the advantage through the halfway point. Michigan closed in on Shedron on the third leg and it was nearly an even race when Zoricic entered the water for the anchor. Zoricic added a little breathing room after 50 yards and held on for the victory in 3:00.09. That is an NCAA B cut.

    With the platform and 1-meter diving results added it was a 163-137 victory for the Hoosiers.

    Indiana swept the diving events, led by a 1-2-3 finish on the platform. Mick Dell'Orco was the winner with 387.23 points, followed by Darian Schmidt (358.65) and Zac Nees (352.28). On the 1-meter it was senior David Piercy leading the way with 377.55 points, as Dell'Orco took second (369.00) and Nees third (352.28).

    The men's squad is back in action on January 22 when it travels to Knoxville, Tenn. for a dual meet with Tennessee and Georgia at noon ET.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties