Men's Swimming

    Lenton's Record-Setting Performance Highlights Dual with Michigan and Tennessee

    Go Hoosiers! Heath Tameris was victorious in both the 100 and 200 breaststroke on Saturday.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Heath Tameris was victorious in both the 100 and 200 breaststroke on Saturday.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 10, 2009

    Photo Gallery 

    Complete Results Get Acrobat Reader

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Senior Matt Lenton put his name in the Indiana record books as the fastest swimmer in school history with a time of 19.84 in the 50-yard freestyle to highlight a double dual meet with No. 4 Michigan and No. 6 Tennessee Saturday afternoon at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

    Lenton beat the old mark of 19.89 set by Todd Patrick at the Big Ten Championships last season. He now owns four of the 10 fastest times in school history.

    Michigan was a double winner with victories over Indiana (176-104) and Tennessee (200-98). Indiana topped Tennessee by a 159-133 score.

    The 200-yard medley relay team of Doug Spraul, Heath Tameris, Matt Lenton and Bryan Chovanec opened the meet by finishing second with a time of 1:28.11. The B squad of Eric Ress, Daniel Sliwinski, A.J. Miller and Jim Barbiere was right on its heels with a time of 1:30.05, good for fourth.

    Bart Ginocchio's time of 9:08.19 in the 1,000-yard freestyle put him in second place and is the ninth-fastest time in Indiana history. Ryan Hinshaw was third in 9:12.89, with Brendan Butler seventh (9:25.59).

    Titus Knight came home in 1:37.86 in the 200-yard freestyle to place fifth. Barbiere was seventh in 1:39.22, a season best. In the 100-yard backstroke it was Ress leading the way in 48.97 (third), followed my Mark Wetzel in seventh (50.63) and Doug Spraul eighth (50.68).

    Heath Tameris was IU's second individual winner of the day, taking the 100-yard breaststroke title in 54.27, a career best time that is also the 10th-fastest time in school history. Sliwinski, a mid-year transfer from England, was third in 55.67.

    In addition to Lenton's record-setting swim in the 50 free, Chovanec put up a career time of 20.09, while Ante Zoricic also swam a personal best of 20.14.

    Zoricic had another career mark, this time in the 100-yard freestyle as he placed second in 43.88. That is the sixth-fastest time in school lore. Lenton bettered his own mark in the event with a time of 43.99, with Knight finishing in 45.62.

    Ress' time of 1:45.92 was good for third in the 200-yard backstroke. Barbiere set a season best of 1:50.65. In the 200-yard breaststroke Tameris picked up his second win of the day after touching the wall in 1:59.5, nearly four seconds faster than his previous season best. Sliwinski finished in 2:01.77, while Justin Peterfish's time of 2:04.39 was a season best.

    Ress took third in the 500-yard freestyle with a time of 4:25.83, with Ginoccho fourth in 4:26.66. That is a career best for Ginocchio and makes him the 19th-fastest Hoosier. Ryan Hinshaw also placed in the top eight, coming in seventh (4:32.98).

    Miller was the top IU competitor in the 100-yard butterfly, placing fifth in 48.78. Matthew O'Brien as sixth (48.84-season best). Mark Wetzel had a season-best 50.75 in the race. Miller also led the Hoosiers with a third-place finish in the 200-yard individual medley (1:50.82). Daniel Sliwinski was seventh (1:51.75), followed by Cody Weik in 10th (1:53.83). Brendan Butler had a season-best 1:63.84 to finish 11th.

    The team of Zoricic, Lenton, Barbiere and Cameron Owen recorded a 2:57.74 in the 400-yard freestyle relay, a season best and an NCAA B cut to finish second.

    Landon Marzullo was crowned champion in the one-meter springboard with a score of 347.90. Jonathan Dohring was fifth with 273.50 points, followed by Will Bohonyi in sixth (271.45). Marzullo placed second on the three-meter springboard with 335.60 points, with Dohring sixth (283.40) and Bohonyi eighth (260.55).

    Indiana is back in action next weekend as it plays host to Ohio State and Missouri for another double dual meet. This is the final home meet of the 2008-09 season and the seniors will be honored prior to the meet.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties