Men's Swimming

    No. 8 Indiana Tops No. 7 Tennessee, 166-134

    Go Hoosiers! Todd Patrick picked up victories in the 200 free, 100 free and 200 individual medley at Tennessee on Friday.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Todd Patrick picked up victories in the 200 free, 100 free and 200 individual medley at Tennessee on Friday.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 18, 2008

    Complete Results

    KNOXVILLE, Tenn. - With Todd Patrick and Ben Hesen posting three individual wins each and IU dominating on the diving boards, the eighth-ranked Hoosiers (4-3) dropped No. 7 Tennessee(6-1) from the ranks of the unbeaten with a 166-134 dual meet victory Friday afternoon in Knoxville, Tenn.

    "This was a fantastic meet to watch," said head swimming coach Ray Looze. "We lost the first couple of races but we didn't lose our composure. After that our depth really kicked in and we were able to win some close races. I give all the credit to the guys; I think the just wanted it more. This is a really great victory for our fellows and shows how this team is coming together."

    Landon Marzullo led a 1-2 IU finish in the 1-meter springboard with a season-best score of 348.23. Taylor Roberts got the second place nod at 321.60, with David Legler sixth (260.56). It was all Hoosiers in the 3-meter springboard as Kris Hill took the title (364.95), followed by Marzullo (363.98), Roberts (349.29) and Will Bohonyi (331.05).

    "We dove according to schedule," said assistant diving coach Todd Waikel. "The guys did a good job and are really coming together as a team. We have been working really hard and that showed here today. I am proud of all of their performances."

    The 200 medley relay team of Ben Hesen, Pat Penoyar, Todd Patrick and Matt Lenton posted an NCAA `B' mark of 1:28.47 to finish second, just 1/10th of a second off the winning time. John Kevin Koehler led the distance crew with a second-place time of 9:21.08 in the 1000 freestyle, followed by Alex Brunfeldt in third (9:22.91). Brunfeldt's time was a season best.



    The Hoosiers came out on top in the 200 free and had three of the top five finishers, led by Todd Patrick's winning time of 1:38.46. Titus Knight touched the wall third (1:42.14) and Cody Weik fifth (1:43.73).

    Hesen continued his win streak in the backstroke, taking the 100-yard title in a time of 48.95 and gliding to victory in the 200 with an NCAA provisional time of 1:44.83. Penoyar was first in the 100 breaststroke (55.52), with Ronnie Hehn fourth (57.40).

    Valuable points were won in the 200 butterfly as Alec Haley took second (1:52.52) and Steven Murry third (1:52.96). Lenton was second in the 50 freestyle (20.83), while newcomer Ante Zoricic had a solid showing with a fourth-place mark of 21.38.

    Patrick picked up his second win of the afternoon with a time of 45.07 in the 100 freestyle as Zoricic took home fifth (46.74) and Lenton sixth (47.65). In the 200 individual medley, it was Patrick touching the wall first yet again, this time bringing it home in a season-best and NCAA provisional time of 1:47.93. A.J. Miller's fourth-place time of 1:53.13 was also a season best.

    It was another points haul for the Hoosiers in the 200 breast as Penoyar took nearly two seconds off his previous season best and recorded an NCAA `B' time of 2:00.34 to finish second. Macgregor Leo was third (2:04.66) and Alec Haley fourth (2:05.78). Indiana's depth also came through in the 500 freestyle with a second-place finish from Brunfeldt (4:33.20), third by Koehler (4:33.86) and fourth from Knight (4:34.85).

    Hesen's third individual and fourth overall first-place finish came in the 100 butterfly where he clocked an NCAA provisional time of 48.21. The 400 freestyle relay grouping of Zoricic, Lenton, Knight and Koehler came up with a win in a time of 3:02.41 to seal the victory.

    Indiana takes a break from competition for the next two weekends before closing out the season on Feb. 9 at home against in-state rival Purdue. The meet will also serve as the final home event for 10 IU seniors.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties