Men's Swimming

    IU Sweeps No. 6 Ohio State, No. 18 Iowa

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Cody Miller was victorious in all three of his individual events Saturday afternoon.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Cody Miller was victorious in all three of his individual events Saturday afternoon.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Jan. 19, 2013

    Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - The 10th-ranked Indiana men's swimming and diving team posted a dual meet sweep on Saturday, topping No. 6 Ohio State, 150-148, and No. 18 Iowa, 172-126, at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington.

    The team of Eric Ress, Tanner Kurz, Cody Miller and Daniel Kanorr touched the wall third in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:29.63.

    In the longest swim of the day, Ryan Hinshaw placed second in the 1,000 freestyle (9:18.97), with Ryan Downey fifth (9:25.29) and Grayson Smith seventh (9:33.21).

    Matt Gerth led most of the way in the 200 free but was just out-touched at the end by Iowa's Jordan Huff, taking second in 1:38.76 to Huff's 1:38.66. Jim Barbiere was fifth (1:39.42) with Mike Hurley seventh (1:40.53).

    James Wells was the winner in the men's 100 backstroke race (47.67-NCAA B Cut), with Ress third (48.68). Miller won the 100 breaststroke in 54.48, with Tanner Kurz sixth (56.72).

    Steve Schmuhl chased down Ohio State's Tamas Gercsak in the 200 butterfly but ran out of room as the Buckeye won in 1:48.86, followed by Schmuhl in 1:48.94. Sam Trahin was seventh (1:51.63) and Joe Powell 10th (1:54.10).

    Daniel Kanorr was a winner in the 50 freestyle (20.12-NCAA B Cut). He missed out on a sweep of the sprint freestyle events by 2/100ths of a second, taking second in the 100 freestyle in 44.94, just behind Ohio State's Jason Schnur (44.92).

    Ress took a half a body length victory in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:46.47. Wells was fourth in 1:47.57, and Schmuhl fifth (1:48.02).

    Miller had more than a body length between himself and the second-place competitor as he won the 200 breaststroke in 1:59.56 (NCAA B Cut). Ian Boggs placed fourth (2:03.46) and Sam Trahin was sixth in 2:04.47.

    Indiana swept the top four spots in the men's 1-meter springboard competition, with Mick Dell'Orco taking the win with 403.58 points. Darian Schmidt was second (395.48), with Bryce Ogden third (395.18) and Emad Abdelatif fourth (394.68).

    On the 3-meter, Schmidt set a new Indiana record with a score of 460.20, eclipsing his old mark of 459.30 set at last year's Big Ten Championships. Dell'Orco was second (404.93) and Abdelatif third (400.80).

    Barbiere took third in the 500 freestyle (4:29.58), with Nicholas Schwab fifth (4:33.58) and Hinshaw seventh (4:36.49). Schmuhl was eighth in the 100 butterfly (51.06), with Austin Saunders 10th (51.51) and Powell 11th (51.77).

    Miller picked up his third individual win of the day with a time of 1:47.89 in the 200 individual medley. Ress placed third (1:50.64).

    Kanorr, Barbiere, Gerth and Tanner Kurz finished fourth in the 400 freestyle relay, coming home in 3:01.52.

    The Hoosiers return to action on February 1 at Louisville.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties