Men's Swimming

    IU Men Take Down No. 14 Louisville, 193-107

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Cody Miller won three individual events in a dual meet victory at Louisville Friday night.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Cody Miller won three individual events in a dual meet victory at Louisville Friday night.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 1, 2013

    Complete Results

    LOUISVILLE, Ky. - The eighth-ranked Indiana men's swimming and diving team posted a 193-107 win at No. 14 Louisville Friday night at Ralph Wright Natatorium in Louisville.

    James Wells, Cody Miller, Eric Ress and Daniel Kanorr opened the meet with a win in the 200 medley relay with a time of 1:28.53. Ryan Hinshaw then led a 1-2 Hoosier finish in the 1,000 freestyle with a time of 9:18.51. Right behind him was Ryan Downey in second at 9:20.34, with Grayson Smith fourth (9:30.34).

    Matt Gerth was the top Hoosier finisher in the 200 freestyle, placing second with a time of 1:39.06. Jim Barbiere followed in third place (1:39.55), with Nicholas Schwab sixth (1:41.68).

    Ress gave IU a victory in the 100 backstroke, clocking in at 48.23, while Wells was right behind in second at 48.85. Miller made easy work of the 100 breaststroke, winning in 55.11, with Tanner Kurz third (56.03).

    Two of the top three finishers in the 200 butterfly were Hoosiers, led by Steve Schmuhl's winning time of 1:48.14. Sam Trahin took third (1:50.99) and Joe Powell fifth (1:54.04).

    Kanorr was out-touched by a fingernail in the 50 freestyle race, coming in 1/100th of a second behind Louisville's Caryle Blondell to finish second in 20.23. Wells placed fifth (20.86) and Gerth sixth (21.15). Kanorr again led IU in the 100 free, finishing third (45.41), followed by Gerth (4th-45.85) and Barbiere (6th-46.10).



    It was all Indiana in the 200 backstroke race with a 1-2-3 Hoosier finish. Ress made it a backstroke sweep with a time of 1:45.77, with Schmuhl second (1:46.47) and Wells third (1:48.12).

    Miller also swept his specialty events, taking the 200 breaststroke in 2:02.03. Trahin was third (2:03.65) and Mike Hurley fourth (2:05.19).

    The Hoosiers had the top seven finishers in the men's 3-meter springboard competition, with Darian Schmidt's winning score of 430.94 leading the way. Mick Dell'Orco was second (370.05), followed by Emad Abdelatif (354.07), Conor Murphy (340.13), Andrew Hull (339.67), Bryce Ogden (339.08) and Danton Rogers (335.47).

    Abdelatif was the winner on the 1-meter springboard (367.57), with Dell'Orco second (361.80) and Schmidt third (329.40).

    It was all IU in the 500 freestyle with Hinshaw getting the win (4:30.79), followed by Schwab (4:32.20) and Barbiere (4:33.51).

    Miller picked up his third win of the day with a time of 49.13 in the 100 butterfly. Ress placed second (50.18) and Kurz fifth (51.18). Schmuhl topped off his individual events with a win in the 400 IM (3:52.97), with Trahin second (3:58.66) and Michael Mohler fourth (4:02.49).

    The final race of the day saw the Hoosiers place second in the 400 free relay as Kanorr, Barbiere, Gerth and Hurley posted a time of 3:01.35.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties