Men's Swimming

    No. 7 Indiana Tops No. 16 Purdue, 156-144

    Go Hoosiers! Tyler Lemert swept the 100- and 200-yard breaststroke events at Purdue.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Tyler Lemert swept the 100- and 200-yard breaststroke events at Purdue.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 7, 2009

    Complete Results

    WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - In a back-and-forth affair between two of the top teams in the Big Ten, the seventh-ranked Indiana men's swimming and diving team came away with a 156-144 dual meet victory over Purdue Saturday afternoon at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center in West Lafayette, Ind.

    Indiana also earned a point in the Crimson and Gold Cup competition and leads the race, 6.5-2.5.

    The Hoosiers opened with a second-place finish in the 400-yard medley relay as Eric Ress, Heath Tameris, A.J. Miller and Ante Zoricic posted a season-best time of 3:15.14. Ress' lead-off time of 48.62 in the 100 backstroke was also a season best.

    The diving portion of the meet took place on Jan. 24 in Bloomington as both teams have divers competing at the USA Diving Selection Camp this weekend. Landon Marzullo took second in the three-meter springboard with 392.25 points. Jonathan Dorhing recorded a season-best 311.17 points for a fifth-place finish, followed by Will Bohonyi in sixth (285.60) and Robert Dohring in eighth (277.95). Marzullo, Bohonyi and Jonathan Dohring all posted season bests on the platform with Marzullo third (404.85), Bohonyi fifth (343.27) and Dohring seventh (292.12).

    Bart Ginocchio bettered his career best in the 1,000-yard freestyle, taking second in 9:06.26. That led a 2-3-4 IU finish with Brendan Butler third (9:12.96) and Ryan Hinshaw fourth (9:13.04). Titus Knight was victorious in the 200 freestyle with an NCAA B time of 1:36.46, while freshman Jim Barbiere was third in a season-best time of 1:39.01.



    Ress posted his second-fastest time of the season in the 100 backstroke with a winning time of 48.64, Doug Spraul was fifth in 50.23. The Hoosiers were within 20 points of the Boilermakers at this point, trailing 66-46.

    The Hoosiers continued to chip away at Purdue's lead at Tyler Lemert won the 100 breaststroke with a career best and NCAA B time of 54.06. Daniel Sliwinski was third with a season-best time of 55.26, and Tameris seventh in 56.27.

    Indiana posted a 2-3-4 finish in the 200 butterfly with Tony Mattar second in a career best 1:47.93. Cody Weik was third in 1:48.33, with Tyler Shedron fourth in a career best 1:48.53.

    Matt Lenton continued his winning streak in the 50 free with the second-fastest time in school history, going 19.81 and out-touching Purdue's Andrew Langenfeld by 1/100th of a second. Bryan Chovanec was third in 20.09 and Ante Zoricic fourth in 20.54. Indiana's 14 points in the event brought the team to just seven points back, 88-81.

    Knight took second in the 100 free with a time of 44.74, followed by Zoricic in third (45.08) and Lenton fourth (45.30). It was the Hoosiers' performances in the 200 backstroke that put them ahead of Purdue in the points total. Ress picked up his second with of the afternoon with a time of 1:46.94. Spraul placed second with a time of 1:48.92, and Barbiere fourth in 1:49.64 ­­­-- a career best.

    Lemert was also a double winner with a winning time of 1:59.38, a career best. Tameris was fifth in 2:04.01 and Justin Peterfish sixth in 2:04.08. Indiana held a three-point lead at 124-121 after finishing 2-3-4 in the 500 freestyle. Knight was second (4:26.54), Ress third (4:26.68) and Ginocchio fourth (4:29.61).

    Miller was third (48.21) and Lenton sixth (49.31) in the 100 butterfly, but Purdue went back up on top, 136-128. It was a 1-2 finish by Miller and Weik in the 200 individual medley that put Indiana ahead going into the final event. Miller's winning time of 1:49.08 was a season best, with Weik second in 1:50.13. Aaron Opell also earned a point for IU with a fourth-place time of 1:52.58.

    Leading 143-140, Indiana cemented the dual meet victory when Zoricic, Lenton, Knight and Barbiere combined for a season-best and NCAA B time of 2:56.57. Mark Wetzel, Cameron Owen, Chovanec and Shedron took third with a time of 3:01.98, earning another two points for IU.

    Indiana returns to action Feb. 26-28 at the Big Ten Championships which will be held at the Boilermaker Aquatic Center in West Lafayette, Ind.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties