Men's Swimming

    No. 8 Hoosiers Dominate No. 12 Purdue In 143-100 Win

    Go Hoosiers! John Kevin Koehler anchored the victorious 400-yard freestyle relay team in a dual meet victory over Purdue.
    Go Hoosiers!
    John Kevin Koehler anchored the victorious 400-yard freestyle relay team in a dual meet victory over Purdue.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 9, 2008

    Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - In their final regular season meet, the Indiana Hoosiers men's swimming and diving team sent notice they will be a team to watch at the Big Ten championship with a 143-100 victor over No. 12 Purdue Saturday afternoon at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center . With the victory, the Hoosiers take the lead in the Crimson and Gold Cup competition, 5.0-4.0.

    "It was a mixed bag for us," said head coach Ray Looze. "This meet caught us in between training right now as we adjust to a ligher training load. There were some really good performances and some places where we struggled. Purdue is a good team and we were lucky to come out on top today."

    In the 400-yard medley relay, the "A" squad of Ben Hesen, Pat Penoyar, Todd Patrick and Matt Lenton took first with a season-best time of 3:15.62, good for an NCAA B cut and more than four seconds better than Purdue's A squad. IU's "B" team of Kurt Bassett, Ronnie Hehn, Doug Spraul and Cody Weik took third with a time of 3:21.30. Bassett's split of 49.97 in the 100 backstroke was a season best.

    In the 1000-yard freestyle, John Kevin Koehler touched the wall first with a season-best time of 9:08.84 and just off his career best of 9:08.24. Alex Brunfeldt took second (9:22.88-season best) with Steven Murry fourth (9:35.67) and Norm Ference fifth (9:39.22-season best).

    Titus Knight was second in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:39.96, with Weik third (1:41.33-season best) and Bassett fourth (1:41.52). Kevin Spath was eighth (1:44.70-season best). Lenton was second in the 50 freestyle with a season best of 20.30. Mark Wetzel took third (21.18-season best), Ante Zoricic fourth (21.19) and Spraul eighth (22.14).

    The fifth event of the afternoon, the 200 individual medley, saw Patrick swim a season best and NCAA B time of 1:47.89, with A.J. Miller third (1:50.66-season best), Murry fifth (1:52.47-season best) and Kevin Happ sixth (1:53.15-season best).

    Tim Blue was the top IU finisher in the 200-yard butterfly with a season-best mark of 1:50.42, taking third. Christopher Head was fourth (1:51.02-season best), Hesen sixth (1:51.84) and Alec Haley seventh (1:53.55). Patrick picked up his second individual win with a season-best time of 44.60 in the 100-yard freestyle. Zoricic was third (46.83), Knight fifth (46.34) and Miller seventh (46.58). That gave IU a 93-57 lead in the meet.

    On the platform, Landon Marzullo led the way with a first-place score of 370.88, followed by Will Bohonyi (350.41) and David Legler (350.18) for a 1-2-3 IU finish. Kris Hill was seventh (256.21) with David Piercy and Taylor Roberts posting exhibition scores of 255.98 and 285.05, respectively. Legler's score was a season best, as was Bohonyi's mark.

    Indiana again took top diving honors, this time on the three-meter board as Roberts tallied a season-best 381.60 points for the victory. Marzullo was third (3:45.76), with Legler fourth (339.68) and Hill fifth (321.38). Bohonyi posted an exhibition score of 273.60, with an exhibition mark of 231.68 for Piercy.

    The 200-yard backstroke saw Bassett post an NCAA B cut of 1:46.48 to take first, followed by Spraul fourth (1:51.02) and Aaron Opell sixth (1:53.79). Hesen placed seventh (1:58.43). Those performances helped the Hoosiers extended their lead to 104-65. Koehler then led a 1-2 IU finish in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:29.17, followed by Bart Ginocchio (4:31.52-season best). Brunfeldt was fifth (4:38.06) and Ference seventh (4:45.38).

    Penoyar took home the top spot in the 200 breaststroke with a season-best and NCAA B time of 1:57.38. Justin Peterfish was fourth (2:02.53) and Macgregor Leo fifth (2:02.83).

    The scoring portion of the meet concluded with the 400-yard freestyle relay. The Hoosiers and Boilermakers battled it out for the win with the Indiana "A" team of Zoricic, Lenton, Knight and Koehler coming from behind for a 3:00.23 victory. With the Hoosiers trailing, Knight chased down Purdue's Benjamin Kenney, allowing Koehler to take the lead on the anchor leg.

    Prior to the start of the meet, IU seniors Brunfeldt, Ference, Haley, Ronnie Hehn, Hesen, Koehler, Legler, Patrick, Penoyar and Roberts were honored.

    "The seniors were great today," Looze said. This was an important class to our program and it was a good afternoon to honor them."

    The Hoosiers return to action Feb. 28-March 1 at the Big Ten Championships in Ann Arbor, Mich. Last year Indiana finished




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties