Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Take Fourth at Big Ten Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Nick Walkotten set a school record in the 200 butterfly to earn second place in the event and take an NCAA 'A' cut.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Nick Walkotten set a school record in the 200 butterfly to earn second place in the event and take an NCAA 'A' cut.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 18, 2007

    Complete Results

    COLUMBUS, Ohio - The Indiana men's swimming and diving team turned in a fourth-place finish at the 2007 Big Ten Championships, finishing just one point out of third place. Ben Hesen and Nick Walkotten broke school records in the final day of the event.

    Minnesota took home the team title with 612.5 points, while Michigan finished just behind at 608.5. Ohio State barely edged the Hoosiers with 495 points to IU's 494, while Northwestern took fifth with 470 points on the weekend. Purdue (375.5), Penn State (295), Wisconsin (245.5), Iowa (118) and Michigan State (106) rounded out the field.

    Hesen set a school record in the 200-yard backstroke, posting a time of 1:42.94, good for third place at the event. It is the third school record of the weekend for the junior, who set the school record in the 100 back on Friday and then again on Saturday. The result gave Hesen his second NCAA "A" cut of the season, joining his time in the 100 back.

    Walkotten broke his own school record in the 200-yard butterfly for the Hoosiers, speeding to a time of 1:43.85 and an "A" cut of his own. Walkotten set the pool record with his time in the prelims and then shaved nearly a second off that time for the finals, but was edged at the wall by Michigan's Alex Vanderkaay, who posted a time of 1:43.29.

    Junior Pat Penoyar posted his best career time in the 200-yard breaststroke to take second place with a time of 1:56.75 for his first "A" cut of the season. Alex Brunfeldt added his best career time in the 1,650-yard freestyle, finishing fourth with a time of 15:07.97, narrowly missing an "A" cut.

    Todd Patrick had the Hoosiers' top finish in the 100-yard freestyle, turning in a time of 43.85 for eighth place. Freshman Matt Lenton was 16th in the event in a career-best time of 44.56. Both times were good for NCAA "B" cuts.



    Indiana closed the meet with an eighth-place finish in the 400-yard freestyle relay. Patrick, Lenton, Hesen and Walkotten teamed to post a time of 2:59.52 in the event.

    "We tried to make a run," Indiana head coach Ray Looze said. "We just ran out of gas. I think it's almost better we got fourth because it's going to work for our favor in future motivation. This just doesn't sit well with our team, and it's almost a blessing in disguise. You get what you deserve, and that's what we got. The good news is, we've really got a motivating tool for the guys right now. They want to finish very highly at NCAAs, and we've some guys that can help us do that. I'm optimistic for NCAAs. I feel good about the future direction of our team."

    Junior David Legler finished second in the platform, posting a career-best score of 377.20. Classmate Taylor Roberts was fifth with a score of 340.95, while sophomore Will Bohonyi was seventh with a 327.90 mark.

    "We want to win," Indiana diving coach Dr. Jeff Huber said. "We're already getting ready for next year. All four of the divers come back next year. We basically just missed winning two of the three events, and I think next year we can come back and win them all. David Legler did a great job. He's a kid that walked on and basically started diving platform two years ago. He's a really hard worker and did a really great job."

    The Hoosiers will host their Last Chance Invitational on Saturday, Feb. 24, at 10 a.m.

    All-Big Ten Teams
    First Team

    Matt Alexandrov, Northwestern
    Sal Barba, Michigan
    Bruno Barbic, Northwestern
    Kyle Bubolz, Northwestern
    Igor Cerensek, Minnesota
    Mario Delac, Minnesota
    Matt Grevers, Northwestern
    Kellen Harkness, Ohio State
    Ben Hesen, Indiana
    Eric Nilsson, Northwestern
    Matt Patton, Michigan
    Bobby Savulich, Michigan
    Tyler Schmidt, Minnesota
    Berkley Showe, Ohio State
    Alex Vanderkaay, Michigan
    Wes Weiser, Ohio State
    Mike Woodson, Minnesota

    Second Team
    Evan Bernier, Minnesota
    Joe Doyle, Ohio State
    Mike Holmes, Minnesota
    Ryan Jefferson, Ohio State
    Nate King, Ohio State
    David Legler, Indiana
    Matt Lenton, Indiana
    Romain Maire, Purdue
    Todd Patrick, Indiana
    Pat Penoyar, Indiana
    Taylor Roberts, Indiana
    Patrick Schirk, Penn State
    Ales Volcansek, Minnesota
    Nick Walkotten, Indiana


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties