Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Remain 3rd at B1G Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Darian Schmidt posted a third-place finish in the 1-meter springboard competition on Thursday.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Darian Schmidt posted a third-place finish in the 1-meter springboard competition on Thursday.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 23, 2012


    IOWA CITY, Iowa - Four championship finalists in the 1-meter diving competition and top-five finishes in the 200 individual medley and 500 freestyle highlighted day two of the 2012 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa.

    Michigan leads the field with 253 points, followed by Ohio State (218) and the Hoosiers (189). Indiana's point total took a hit when its 400 medley relay team was disqualified in the final race of the day due to an early exchange.

    "We had a good day two," said head coach Ray Looze. "Jim (Barbiere) had a wonderful 500 free, as did Tyler Shedron, Ryan Hinshaw and Andrew Taylor. Those were Taylor's first points scored at a Big Ten meet. In the 50 free with Daniel Kanorr, those were his first Big Ten points, and they came in a championship final. And the divers were fantastic.

    "We came up a little short in the 400 medley relay. We had a good medley relay, it just wasn't legal. And that happens. But we are going to have a good one at NCAAs, and we are going to come out swinging tomorrow."

    Jim Barbiere led the Hoosiers in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:18.23 out of lane two in the championships final, placing fourth. That is a career best for the junior Tyler Shedron finished second in the consolation final and 10th overall with a career-best time of 4:21.68. That topped his previous time of 4:21.80 set in the morning prelims. Ryan Hinshaw was 12th, posting a 4:23.37, while Andrew Taylor was 15th (4:24.97). His morning swim of 4:22.81 was a career best.

    John Schnittker set a career time of 4:25.14, finishing 22nd in the prelims but elected not to swim the bonus final. Alex Kotliarsky was 1/100th of a second off his career best, finishing prelims in a time of 4:25.36. He placed 23rd overall with a swim of 4:29.98 in the bonus final.  Ryan Downey won his prelim heat in 4:26.43, a new career best by nearly five seconds and more than 12 seconds faster than his seed time. He went on to finish 24th overall with a time of 4:32.45 in the bonus final. Patrick Scally finished 40th with a time of 4:31.09. Ian Boggs was fourth in his heat and 47th overall with a career time of 4:34.21.

    After posting a career-best 1:46.12 in the 200 individual medley prelims, Cody Miller came back to shave another two seconds off this top time to finish fourth in 1:44.81. He is just the third Hoosier to go under 1:45 in the event, joining Eric Ress and Todd Patrick. Sam Trahin posted a 13th-place finish with a time of 1:47.45, after posing a career-best time of 1:47.42 in prelims. Mike Hurley won the consolation final and placed 17th overall in 1:48.56, just a tick behind his career best of 1:48.42 set in the morning prelims. Nicholas Schwab bested his morning time with a career mark of 1:49.03 to finish second in the bonus final and 18th overall.

    In the 50-yard race to the wall, Daniel Kanorr placed eighth with a career-best time of 19.83. It marks the second time in his career he has gone under 20 seconds in a 50 free race after posting a time of 19.89 in prelims. Matt Gerth went a career best 20.66 to finish 46th. James Wells posted a time of 20.69, putting him 48th in the field.

    Indiana placed four divers in the 1-meter championship final, led by Darian Schmidt who earned his first Big Ten medal with a third-place finish, tallying 372.10 points. Emad Abdelatif was fourth with a career-best score of 370.10. Zac Nees followed in fifth (363.70), with the junior posting the top score in qualifying at 395.90. Rounding out the championship group was Mick Dell'Orco in seventh (360.45). He put up a career-best 382.20 in prelims.

    In the consolation finals, Casey Johnson led the four Hoosier qualifiers with a score of 288.25, finishing 13th. He posted a score of 300.55 in prelims. George Andrews was 13th with a career-best tally of 284.40 (283.85 prelims). Competing at his first Big Ten Championships, Connor Brisson was 14th after putting up 282.95 points (297.00 prelims), followed by Bryce Ogden in 15th with his score of 280.85 (295.45 prelims). Conor Murphy finished 23rd (276.50) and Danton Rogers 24th (275.05).

    Racing continues Friday morning with the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke and 3-meter diving.

    500 Freestyle
    5. Jim Barbiere - 4:18.23 (career best, NCAA B cut) (4:19.87 prelims)
    10. Tyler Shedron - 4:21.68 (career best, NCAA B cut) (4:21.80 prelims)
    12. Ryan Hinshaw - 4:23.37 (4:22.33 prelims, NCAA B cut)
    15. Andrew Taylor - 4:24.97 (4:22.81 prelims, career best, NCAA B cut)
    John Schnittker - 4:25.14 (career best, NCAA B cut, elected not to swim C final)
    23. Alex Kotliarsky - 4:29.98 (4:25.36 prelims)
    24. Ryan Downey - 4:32.45 (4:26.43 prelims, career best)
    40. Patrick Scally - 4:31.09
    47. Ian Boggs - 4:34.21 (career best)

    200 Individual Medley
    4. Cody Miller - 1:44.81 (career best, NCAA B cut)(1:46.12 prelims)
    13. Sam Trahin - 1:47.45 (1:47.42 prelims, career best, NCAA B cut)
    17. Mike Hurley - 1:48.56 (1:48.42 prelims, career best, NCAA B cut)
    18. Nicholas Schwab - 1:49.03 (career best, NCAA B cut) (1:49.76 prelims)

    50 Freestyle
    8. Daniel Kanorr - 19.83 (career best, NCAA B cut) 19.89 (prelims)
    46. Matt Gerth - 20.66 (career best)
    48. James Wells - 20.69

    1-Meter Diving
    3. Darian Schmidt - 372.10 (365.40 prelims)
    4. Emad Abdelatif - 370.10 (career best) (333.90 prelims)
    6. Zac Nees - 363.70 (395.90 prelims)
    7. Mick Dell'Orco - 360.45 (382.20 prelims, career best)
    12. Casey Johnson - 288.25 (300.55 prelims)
    13. George Andrews - 284.40 (career best)(283.85 prelims)
    14. Connor Brisson - 282.95 (297.00 prelims)
    15. Bryce Ogden - 280.85 (295.45 prelims)
    23. Conor Murphy - 276.50
    24. Danton Rogers - 275.05

    400 Medley Relay
    DQ - James Wells, Cody Miller, Steve Schmuhl, Jim Barbiere (early exchange)




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties