Men's Swimming

    IU Moves to Second on Day 2 of Big Ten Meet

    Go Hoosiers! Sophomore Zac Nees placed second in the 1-meter springboard competition.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sophomore Zac Nees placed second in the 1-meter springboard competition.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 24, 2011

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - Buoyed by strong diving performances and top-three finishes in the 200 individual medley and 400 medley relay, the Hoosiers have moved up into the No. 2 spot after two days of the Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships being held at the University of Minnesota Aquatics Center.

    Michigan holds a slim 8.5-point lead over Indiana with 259.5 points, with the Hoosiers coming in with 251 points. Ohio State rounds out the top three with 183 points.

    Ryan Hinshaw led the Hoosiers with a fourth-place showing in the 500 freestyle, clocking a time of 4:19.81. He set a career best of 4:18.33 to be the fastest qualifier in prelims. Right on his heels was Jim Barbiere in fifth, who posted a career time of 4:19.95. Titus Knight took seventh in 4:22.67 after going a career best 4:20.98 in prelims.

    Illya Larin took fourth in the consolation final and 12th overall with a new career time of 4:21.59. Andrew Taylor took 18th with a time of 4:23.89, the second fastest time of his career, while Alex Kotliarsky was 20th in 4:26.10. He swam a career best 4:25.35 in prelims.

    Eric Ress led Indiana with a third-place finish in the 200 individual medley, putting up a time of 1:44.58. Ress broke the school record in the morning prelims with a time of 1:44.07, beating out Todd Patrick's 1:44.31 set in 2005. Ress now has two of the five fastest time in school history.

    Cody Miller too 10th after posting a career best time of 1:46.29. Cody Weik was 14th in 1:47.60, while Sam Trahin was 15th in 1:47.73, a new career mark.

    Bryan Chovanec took the fourth spot in the 50 freestyle championship final with a time of 19.91. Ante Zoricic was eighth in 20.23. Daniel Kanorr won the bonus final and finished 17th overall with a career time of 20.13.

    In 1-meter diving, Zac Nees took home a silver medal after posting a career best 375.60 in the final. David Piercy was sixth with 367.70 points, while Mick Dell'Orco was seventh (356.10). In the consolation final Darian Schmidt was the winner and took ninth overall with his score of 370.40. Casey Johnson was 10th, posting a career-best 339.95, and Emad Abdelatif was 14th with his career-best score of 320.20.

    Day two concluded with the 400 medley relay as Ress, Miller, James Wells and Zoricic posted a time of 3:10.07, an NCAA B cut and the fifth-fastest time in school history, good for third place. Ress' opening backstroke leg of 45.40 is a new Big Ten meet record and the second-fastest time in school history.

    Friday prelims begin at noon ET with the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke and 100 backstroke

    500 Freestyle
    4. Ryan Hinshaw - 4:19.81 (4:18.33 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    5. Jim Barbiere - 4:19.95 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (4:20.62 prelims)
    7. Titus Knight - 4:22.67 (4:20.98 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    12. Illya Larin - 4:21.59 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (4:22.26 prelims)
    18. Andrew Taylor - 4:23.89 (NCAA B Cut)(4:25.30 prelims)
    20. Alex Kotliarsky - 4:26.10 (4:25.35 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    Tyler Shedron - 4:23.53 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best; elected not to swim C final
    34. John Schnittker - 4:27.17 (season best)
    38. Patrick Scally - 4:28.63 (career best)

    200 Individual Medley
    3. Eric Ress - 1:44.58 (1:44.07 prelims; NCAA B Cut; school record)
    10. Cody Miller - 1:46.29 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (1:47.71 prelims)
    14. Cody Weik - 1:47.60 (1:46.95 prelims; NCAA B Cut; season best)
    15. Sam Trahin - 1:47.73 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (1:48.06 prelims)
    34. Austin Steel - 1:50.95 (career best)

    50 Freestyle
    4. Bryan Chovanec - 19.91 (NCAA B Cut)(19.93 prelims)
    8. Ante Zoricic - 20.23 (19.96 prelims; NCAA B Cut; season best)
    17. Daniel Kanorr - 20.13 (NCAA B Cut; career best)(20.25 prelims)

    1-Meter Diving
    2. Zac Nees - 375.60 (career best) (339.45 prelims)
    6. David Piercy - 367.60 (354.85 prelims)
    7. Mick Dell'Orco - 356.10 (378.80 prelims; career best)
    9. Darian Schmidt - 370.40 (297.90 prelims)
    10. Casey Johnson - 339.95 (career best) (319.80 prelims)
    14. Emad Abdelatif - 320.20 (career best) (290.50 prelims)
    17. Conor Murphy - 288.85
    22. Kyle Frebel - 256.10 (career best)

    400 Medley Relay
    3. Indiana - 3:10.07 (Eric Ress*, Cody Miller, James Wells, Ante Zoricic)
    Ress went a career-best 45.40 on the opening 100 backstroke leg. 2nd fastest time in school history and a Big Ten meet record.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties