Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Win 3 B1G Crowns on Day 3 of Swim and Dive Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Darian Schmidt won his first Big Ten title with a school-record score of 459.30.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Darian Schmidt won his first Big Ten title with a school-record score of 459.30.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 24, 2012


    IOWA CITY, Iowa - Sophomore Cody Miller defended his Big Ten title in the 100 breaststroke, sophomore James Wells won his first conference title in the 100 backstroke, and sophomore Darian Schmidt took home gold in the 3-meter diving event to highlight day three of the 2012 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa.

    With today's events the Hoosiers move to within 11 points of second place, trailing Ohio State 380-369. Michigan remains in first with 516.5 points.

    "The Hoosiers had a spectacular night," said head coach Ray Looze. "We are in the thick of this race and we are going to come on strong tomorrow."

    Miller came out in the championship final and crushed the school record with a time of 52.34 to win his second-straight Big Ten title in the 100 breaststroke. It was also a pool record and automatically qualifies Miller for the NCAA Championships.  That time makes Miller the second-fastest individual in Big Ten history in the event.

    Miller went 52.97 to enter the evening as the top qualifier, posting the fifth-fastest time in school history. Mike Hurley topped his time of 55.07 from morning prelims to place 14th in a career best of 54.91. Ian Boggs finished 21st overall with a career-best time of 55.69 in the bonus final. In prelims, Pedro Martir went a career best 56.87 to finish 27th.

    For the second-straight year it was a Hoosier taking home gold in the 100 backstroke as Wells touched the wall in 46.30 for his first Big Ten crown. That is a personal best for Wells and all but guarantees him a spot at the NCAA meet. Four of the last six Big Ten 100 backstroke titles have gone to a Hoosier (2007, 2008 - Ben Hesen; 2011 - Eric Ress). His time of 46.30 makes him the fifth-fastest individual in Big Ten history.

    The evening session opened with the 200 freestyle relay as the Hoosier quartet of Daniel Kanorr, James Wells, Jim Barbiere and Cody Miller took sixth in 1:19.31, an NCAA B cut. In prelims, Daniel Kanorr finished 17th with a career time of 48.78 but elected not to swim in the C final.

    Sam Trahin picked up his first Big Ten medal by topping the school record in the 400 individual medley with a time of 3:46.49 to finish third. That takes down the previous mark of 3:46.95 set by Cody Weik at the 2009 Big Ten Championships. His previous career best of 3:47.83 was set in morning prelims, and that is now the third-fastest time in IU's record book.

    Tyler Shedron took fifth in the consolation final (13th overall) with a time of 3:50.80). In morning prelims he posted the ninth-fastest time with a career best of 3:49.98. Nicholas Schwab cut three seconds off his personal best in the bonus final, posting an NCAA B cut of 3:52.06 that was good for 18th overall. Ryan Downey was fifth in his prelim heat and 32nd overall with a career-best time of 4:02.91.

    In the 200 freestyle, Barbiere moved up four spots from prelims to finish fourth in a career time of 1:35.98. Barbiere went a then-career-best 1:36.29 in the morning, tying him for eighth after prelims and setting up a swim-off for the final spot in the championship final. Barbiere won the championship spot with a time of 1:36.33. Matt Gerth was 21st with a time of 1:38.39 in the bonus final. He posted a career time of 1:37.20 in the morning swim. Right behind Gerth in the bonus final was John Schnittker with a time of 1:38.72. His prelim time of 1:37.62 was also a career best.

    In prelims, Andrew Taylor went 1:39.20 (35th), with Steven Schmuhl placing 42nd in 1:39.56. Alex Kotliarsky posted a time of 1:39.67, good for 45th. Ryan Hinshaw finished 54th with a time of 1:40.96. Patrick Scally tallied a career-best time of 1:40.96, placing him 57th.

    Schmidt picked up his first Big Ten title by setting a new school record on the 3-meter springboard with 459.30 points. Schmidt entered the finals on top after winning the preliminary round with a score of 445.90. Schmidt was just one of five Hoosiers who qualified for the championship final as Zac Nees took third with a career-best score of 413.85. Mick Dell'Orco was fourth, also tallying a career best in points (413.60), while Casey Johnson was seventh (376.85 - career best) and Connor Brisson was eighth (313.75). Brisson's prelim score of 369.00 was a new career mark.

    "I was really pleased with my performance," Schmidt said. "I think the key was having our 10-person team here. It gave me extra confidence and all that cheering really pumped me up."

    Emad Abdelatif represented IU in the consolation final, placing 15th (328.35). His prelim tally of 362.20 was a career best. Conor Murphy just missed out on the consolation final with a 17th-place finish (313.50), while Bryce Ogden was 20th (303.05), George Andrews 21st (298.65) and Danton Rogers 22nd (293.00).

    200 Freestyle Relay
    6. Daniel Kanorr, James Wells, Jim Barbiere, Cody Miller - 1:19.31 (NCAA B cut)

    400 Individual Medley
    4. Sam Trahin - 3:46.49 (school record, NCAA B cut) (3:47.83 prelims; 3rd fastest time in school history)
    13. Tyler Shedron - 3:50.80 (3:49.98 prelims; career best, NCAA B cut)
    21. Nicholas Schwab -  3:52.06 (career best, NCAA B cut) (3:56.63 prelims)
    32. Ryan Downey - 4:02.91 (career best)

    200 Freestyle
    4. Jim Barbiere - 1:35.98 (career best, NCAA B cut) (1:36.29 prelims) 1:36.33 in swim-off
    21. Matt Gerth - 1:38.39 (1:37.20 prelims; career best, NCAA B cut)
    22. John Schnittker - 1:38.72 (1:37.62 prelims; career best, NCAA B cut)
    35. Andrew Taylor - 1:39.20
    42. Steve Schmuhl - 1:39.56
    45. Alex Kotliarsky - 1:39.67
    54. Ryan Hinshaw - 1:40.12
    57. Patrick Scally - 1:40.96 (career best)

    100 Breaststroke
    1. Cody Miller - 52.34 (school record, NCAA A cut, pool record) (52.97 prelims; 5th-fastest time in school history)
    14. Mike Hurley - 54.91 (career best, NCAA B cut) (55.07 prelims)
    21. Ian Boggs - 55.69 (career best) (56.10 prelims)
    27. Pedro Martir - 56.87 (career best)

    100 Backstroke
    1. James Wells - 46.30 (career best, NCAA B cut)(46.51 prelims; NCAA B cut)
    Daniel Kanorr - 48.78 (career best, elected not to swim C final)

    3-Meter Diving
    1. Darian Schmidt - 459.30 (school record, career best) (445.90 prelims)
    3. Zac Nees - 413.85 (career best) (387.40 prelims)
    4. Mick Dell'Orco - 413.60 (career best) (379.05 prelims)
    7. Casey Johnson - 376.85 (career best) (363.40 prelims)
    8. Connor Brisson - 313.75 (369.00 prelims; career best)
    15. Emad Abdelatif - 328.35 (362.20 prelims, career best)
    17. Conor Murphy - 313.50
    20. Bryce Ogden - 303.05
    21. George Andrews - 298.65 (career best)
    22. Danton Rogers - 293.00




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties