Men's Swimming

    Miller, Ress Win Big Ten Titles on Day 3

    Go Hoosiers! Freshman Cody Miller won his first career Big Ten title in the 100 breaststroke Friday night.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Freshman Cody Miller won his first career Big Ten title in the 100 breaststroke Friday night.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 25, 2011

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - Back-to-back Big Ten titles from freshman Cody Miller and sophomore Eric Ress capped day three of the Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.

    The Hoosiers remain in second place with 434 points but Michigan has put some distance between itself and the Hoosiers, leading the field with 491 points. Ohio State is third with 386 points.

    Indiana opened the championship session with the 200 freestyle relay. Senior Bryan Chovanec, senior Ante Zoricic, sophomore Eric Ress and sophomore Daniel Kanorr finished fifth in a time of 1:18.93. That comes in as the fifth-fastest 200 free relay in school history.

    Hoosiers took the fifth and seventh spots in the championship final of the 400 individual medley, led by sophomore Sam Trahin's fifth-place finish. His time of 3:49.54 was just off his career best of 3:49.49 set in the morning prelims. Junior Cody Weik placed seventh with a time of 3:49.91 after posting a career best of 3:48.31 in the preliminaries.

    In the consolation final senior Brenden Butler took seventh for an overall finish of 15th after posting a time of 3:52.62. His time of 3:50.08 in the prelims was a career best.

    After finishing with the sixth-fastest time in the 200 freestyle prelims, senior Titus Knight moved up to fifth in the evening final with a time of 1:36.19. That was just off his career best of 1:36.02 set this morning. Sophomore Jim Barbiere topped his career best in the consolation final with a time of 1:36.79, good for 10th overall.

    Miller shocked the pool, winning his first career Big Ten title in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 52.90. That is a career best and the third-fastest time in school history. Miller was the only freshman to qualify for the championship final, joining five seniors a sophomore and a junior. He becomes the first IU champion in the event since Kevin Swander in 2005.

    It was back-to-back Big Ten title for the Hoosiers as Ress went out and topped his own Big Ten meet record in the 100 backstroke with a time of 45.11 to win his first conference gold. That time is the second-fastest in school history. The 100 back crown has belonged to a Hoosier three of the last five years and 22 times all-time.

    "I was a spectator last year at Big Tens as a redshirt and second in the 100 and 200 back my freshman year so I was really hungry to win my first Big Ten individual title," Ress said. "If I were to say there was one thing that really got me motivated it was seeing Cody Miller win the 100 breast. That really got me excited. Other than that I was really happy with my time. It was over a second improvement from my time as a freshman. I know where I stand with in the country and I hope to improve my time at NCAAs."

    Freshman James Wells also swam the championship final, touching the wall in 47.56. Earlier in the day he had posted a career-best time of 47.22. Zoricic took 14th in the consolation final (48.47-career best) and Doug Spraul 16th (49.11).

    Competing in his final Big Ten 3-meter springboard event, senior David Piercy was the top IU finisher with a fourth-place finish at 388.45 points, a new career best. Freshman Darian Schmidt took fifth with 379.90 points. Sophomore Casey Johnson rounded out the Hoosier contingent with a seventh-place finish at 353.75 points.

    In the consolation final, Mick Dell'Orco moved up from his prelim finish to take 10th with 365.65 points. Conor Murphy also put points on the board for IU, taking 15th with a career-best score of 326.25.

    The championships conclude tomorrow with the 1,650 freestyle, 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly, platform diving and the 400 freestyle relay.

    200 Freestyle Relay
    5. Indiana (Bryan Chovanec, Ante Zoricic, Eric Ress, Daniel Kanorr) - 1:18.93 (NCAA B Cut)

    400 Individual Medley
    5. Sam Trahin - 3:49.54 (3:49.49 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    7. Cody Weik - 3:49.91 (3:48.31 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    15. Brenden Butler - 3;52.62 (3:50.08 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)

    100 Butterfly
    26. Doug Spraul - 49.22; season best)

    200 Freestyle
    5. Titus Knight - 1:36.19 (1:36.02 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    10. Jim Barbiere -  1:36.79 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (1:37.04 prelims)
    Tyler Shedron - 1:37.59 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best; elected not to swim C final
    33. Andrew Taylor - 1:38.61 (career best)
    42. Illya Larin - 1:39.67 (career best)
    43. John Schnittker - 1:39.75 (season best)
    49. Alex Kotliarsky - 1:40.28 (career best)
    57. Patrick Scally - 1:41.12 (career best)

    100 Breaststroke
    1. Cody Miller - 52.90 (NCAA B Cut; career best; 3rd fastest in school history) (53.70 prelims)

    100 Backstroke
    1. Eric Ress - 45.11 (NCAA A Cut; Big Ten meet record; 2nd fastest time in school history)(45.72 prelims)
    7. James Wells - 47.56 (47.22 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    14. Ante Zoricic - 48.47 (NCAA B Cut; career best)(48.48 prelims)
    16. Doug Spraul -49.11 (48.37 prelims; NCAA B Cut)
    26. Austin Steel - (49.28 prelims)
    35. Daniel Kanorr - 50.44

    3-Meter Diving
    4. David Piercy - 388.45 (Career best) (379.65 prelims)
    5. Darian Schmidt - 379.90 (354.00 prelims)
    7. Casey Johnson - 353.75 (355.65 prelims)
    10. Mick Dell'Orco - 365.65 (314.60 prelims)
    15. Conor Murphy - 326.25 (career best) (318.80 prelims)
    17. Emad Abdelatif - 306.10
    18. Kyle Frebel - 304.05
    19. Zac Nees - 300.05




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties