Men's Swimming

    Men's Swim and Dive Finishes Third at Big Tens

    Go Hoosiers! Conor Murphy earned a silver medal with a second-place finish in the platform diving competition on Saturday.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Conor Murphy earned a silver medal with a second-place finish in the platform diving competition on Saturday.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 25, 2012


    IOWA CITY, Iowa - Sophomore Cody Miller picked up his second Big Ten title in as many days and Conor Murphy posted a second-place finish in the platform competition to wrap up the 2012 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center in Iowa City, Iowa.

    The Hoosiers missed out on a second-place finish by just 3.5 points, finishing with 549 to Ohio State's 552.5. Michigan took home its second-straight Big Ten title with 738.5 points.

    For the third-straight year it was a Hoosier standing on top of the podium in the 200 breaststroke with Miller defending his Big Ten title in a career-best of 1:54.07, just 7/100ths of a second off the school record. That time makes Miller the fifth-fastest individual in the event in Big Ten history and gives him four Big Ten titles in his young career.

    Sam Trahin finished fifth in the championship final, setting his own new career mark in 1:56.97. Ian Boggs finished 15th in 2:00.10, after putting up a career time and NCAA B cut of 1:59.94 in prelims. Nicholas Schwab put up a career time and NCAA B cut to finish second in the bonus heat and 18th overall in 1:59.70. Pedro Martir also posted a career time in prelims, going 2:07.71 for a 36th-place finish.

    Ryan Hinshaw took ninth in the 1,650 freestyle, posting a career time of 15:06.25. John Schnittker was more than 13 seconds faster than his previous best, recording a 15:13.25 to finish 11th. Ryan Downey chopped nearly 20 seconds off his previous career best, coming home in 15:13.57, an NCAA B cut and good for 12th place. Patrick Scally was 18th with an NCAA provisional time of 15:23.29. Andrew Taylor was just off his career best, taking 21st in 15:29.60. Alex Kotliarsky's time of 15:34.70 placed him 25th.

    James Wells followed up his win in the 100 back with a fifth-place finish in the 200 back Saturday night. After putting up a career time of 1:42.92 in prelims, Wells, went 1:43.83 in the championship final. Jim Barbiere finished 21st with a time of 1:46.94 in the bonus final. He put up a career-best 1:45.63 in prelims. Steve Schmuhl finished 34th in 1:50.03.

    In the 100 freestyle Daniel Kanorr put up a career time and NCAA B cut of 44.36 in the bonus final to finish 19th. Matt Gerth was 23rd with his bonus time of 45.28, after putting up a career time of 44.75 in prelims. Mike Hurley was third in his heat and 46th overall in prelims with a career time of 45.16.

    Tyler Shedron advanced to the championship final of the 200 butterfly with a career time of 1:45.75 in prelims and went on to finish eighth in 1:46.21 Steve Schmuhl won the bonus final to finish 17th overall with a time of 1:46.86, a career best and NCAA B cut.

    Conor Murphy wrapped up diving with a second-place finish on the platform, tallying a career-best 426.55 points. The highlight of the competition may have been Murphy's fourth dive in prelims when he scored an 89.10 on a back 3 1/2 somersault tuck. Zac Nees finished fourth with 391.35 points. On his first dive of the championship final, Nees put up 81 points with his forward 3 1/2 somersault pike, averaging 9's across the board. In the preliminary round he tallied a career-best 420.25 points.

    Casey Johnson posted a career-best 372.35 points in the final round to finish sixth. Mick Dell'Orco finished seventh with his score of 337.00 after a career best 349.80 in prelims.

    Darian Schmidt followed up his title on the 3-meter springboard with a 10th-place finish in the consolation final, scoring 348.50 points in the consolation final. Emad Abdelatif wrapped up his Big Ten meet with an 11th-place finish, scoring a career-best 338.90 points in consols. Danton Rogers placed 16th with a score of 250.00 in the consolation final after putting up a career best 277.70 in prelims. George Andrews placed 22nd with a career-best score of 238.90. Connor Brisson's score of 230.05 was also a new career mark (26th), as was Bryce Ogden's tally of 225.70 (27th).

    The Hoosiers ended the meet by putting up the third-fastest time in school history in the 400 freestyle relay, as Miller, Barbiere, Kanorr and Wells came in at 2:55.60 to finish fifth.

    1,650 Freestyle
    9. Ryan Hinshaw - 15:06.25 (career best, NCAA B cut)
    11. John Schnittker - 15:13.25 (career best, NCAA B cut)
    12. Ryan Downey - 15:13.57 (career best, NCAA B cut)
    18. Patrick Scally - 15:23.29 (NCAA B cut)
    21. Andrew Taylor - 15:29.60 (NCAA B cut)
    25. Alex Kotliarsky - 15:34.70

    200 Backstroke
    5. James Wells - 1:43.83 (1:42.92 prelims; career best, NCAA B cut)
    21. Jim Barbiere - 1:46.94 (1:45.63 prelims; career best, NCAA B cut)
    34. Steve Schmuhl - 1:50.03

    100 Freestyle
    19. Daniel Kanorr - 44.36 (career best, NCAA B cut) (44.84 prelims)
    23. Matt Gerth - 45.28 (44.75 prelims; career best)
    46. Mike Hurley - 45.16 (career best)

    200 Breaststroke
    1. Cody Miller - 1:54.07 (career best, NCAA A cut, second-fastest time in school history, pool record) (1:55.14 prelims)
    5. Sam Trahin - 1:56.97 (career best, NCAA B cut) (1:57.60 prelims)
    15. Ian Boggs - 2:00.10 (1:59.94 prelims; career best, NCAA B cut)
    18. Nicholas Schwab - 1:59.70 (career best, NCAA B cut) (2:00.37 prelims)
    36. Pedro Martir - 2:07.71 (career best)

    200 Butterfly
    8. Tyler Shedron - 1:46.21 (1:45.75 prelims; career best, NCAA B cut)
    17. Steve Schmuhl - 1:46.86 (career best, NCAA B cut) (1:48.09 prelims)

    Platform Diving
    2. Conor Murphy - 426.55 (career best, fifth-highest score in school history) (409.10 prelims)
    4. Zac Nees - 391.35 (420.25 prelims; career best)
    6. Casey Johnson - 372.35 (career best) (345.15 prelims)
    7. Mick Dell'Orco - 337.00 (349.80 prelims; career best)
    10. Darian Schmidt - 348.50 (306.35 prelims)
    11. Emad Abdelatif - 338.90 (career best)(337.65 prelims)
    16. Danton Rogers - 250.00 (277.70 prelims; career best)
    22. George Andrews - 238.90 (career best)
    26. Connor Brisson - 230.05 (career best)
    27. Bryce Ogden - 225.70 (career best)

    400 Freestyle Relay
    5. Cody Miller, Jim Barbiere, Daniel Kanorr, James Wells - 2:55.60 (NCAA B cut, third-fastest time in school history)

    First-Team All-Big Ten
    Cody Miller
    Darian Schmidt
    James Wells

    Second-Team All-Big Ten
    Conor Murphy
    Diving Coach of the Year
    Jeff Huber
    Diver of the Championships (shared)
    Darian Schmidt
    Sportsmanship Award
    Emad Abdelatif




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties