Men's Swimming

    Men's Swim and Dive Takes Second at Big Ten Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Cody Miller shows off his gold medal after winning the 200 breaststroke Saturday night.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Cody Miller shows off his gold medal after winning the 200 breaststroke Saturday night.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 26, 2011

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - A Big Ten title in the 200 breaststroke helped pave the way for Indiana's second-place finish at the 2011 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships at the University of Minnesota Aquatic Center.

    The Hoosiers finished with 604 points, 74 points behind champion Michigan and 11 points ahead of third-place finisher Ohio State. It is Indiana's highest finish at the Big Ten meet since placing second in 2008. Its three individual champions are also the most since 2008 when the Hoosiers took home five individual and one relay title. IU has had three or more Big Ten champions four of the last seven years. The Hoosiers topped last year's score by more than 300 points.

    A recap of all the action can be seen on the Big Ten Network on Sunday, March 6 at 10 a.m. ET.

    The Hoosiers opened with a pair of top-five finishes in the 1,650 freestyle as senior Illya Larin took third with a career-best time of 15:03.87. Sophomore Ryan Hinshaw was fifth, clocking a career time of 15:09.42. A trio of Hoosiers just missed out on the points with junior John Schnittker 18th (15:25.96), sophomore Alex Kotliarsky 19th (15:27.80) and senior Brenden Butler 20th (15:28.54). All are NCAA B cuts. Sophomore Andrew Taylor finished 29th (15:39.14).

    Sophomore Eric Ress missed out on his second Big Ten title by 2/10ths of a second, finishing second in the 200 backstroke in a season-best time of 1:41.89. That is the fourth fastest time in school history and the third fastest time put up by Ress during his IU career. He put up the time even after injuring his hand on his final touch in the 100 backstroke Friday night.

    Senior Doug Spraul won the consolation final, matching his prelim time of 1:45.51. In the bonus final, sophomore Austin Steel finished 18th in 1:46.50, an NCAA B cut and career best.  Freshman James Wells was 23rd, setting a new career mark of 1:48.34.

    Senior Titus Knight took 16th in the 100 freestyle with a swim of 44.69 in the consolation final. Senior Bryan Chovanec swam the bonus final where he captured a 19th-place overall finish with a time of 44.94.

    Competing in his second championship final in as many days, and coming off his first Big Ten title in the 100 breaststroke, freshman Cody Miller did it again with a time of 1:54.16 to win the 200 breaststroke. That is the second-fastest time in school history, just over a tenth of a second off the school record of 1:54.00 set by Aaron Opell at last year's Big Ten meet, and is an NCAA automatic qualifying time.

    "It was my goal to win all year long and I was really happy I did it," Miller said.

    It is the second year in a row that a Hoosier has won the 200 breaststroke title following Opell's win in 2010. Miller again was also the only freshman to make a breaststroke final. The last person to pull off the 100 and 200 breaststroke double victory was Michigan's Scott Spann in 2008.

    Sophomore Sam Trahin added four points to IU's total with a 13th-place finish in the consolation final in 1:58.96. In his final Big Ten swim, senior Brendan Butler capped things off with a 20th-place finish, clocking a season-best 2:01.76.

    Junior Tyler Shedron took 11th in the 200 butterfly consolation final with a time of 1:46.87. He set a new career mark of 1:46.10 in the morning prelim session. Junior Cody Weik placed 14th overall after putting up a 1:47.32 in the consolation race.

    Seven of eight Indiana divers put points on the board, with the Hoosiers finishing 6-7-8 in the championship final of the platform. Freshman Conor Murphy took sixth with 339.45 points, followed by sophomore Casey Johnson in seventh (329.70) and freshman Darian Schmidt in eighth (286.20). In the consolation final, Mick Dell'Orco recorded a 10th-place finish with a score of 317.10. Zac Nees was 13th (296.15), with Emad Abdelatif 14th (271.05) and David Piercy 15th (266.40). Kyle Frebel posted a 22nd-place showing (169.45).

    With Indiana holding a 25-point lead over Ohio State heading into the 400 freestyle relay, the quartet of Jim Barbiere, Daniel Kanorr, Knight and Ante Zoricic took sixth in a time of 2:56.32.That is the fifth-fastest time in school history and cemented IU's second-place finish. Barbiere split a career-best 44.72 on the leadoff leg.

    1,650 Freestyle
    3. Illya Larin - 15:03.87 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    5. Ryan Hinshaw - 15:09.42 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    18. John Schnittker - 15:26.43 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    19. Alex Kotliarsky - 15:27.80 (NCAA B Cut; season best)
    20. Brenden Butler - 15:28.54 (NCAA B Cut; season best)
    21. Patrick Scally - 15:29.79 (NCAA B Cut; career best)
    29. Andrew Taylor - 15:39.14 (season best)

    200 Backstroke
    2. Eric Ress - 1:41.89 (NCAA B Cut; season best; 4th fastest time in school history) (1:44.80 prelims)
    9. Doug Spraul - 1:45.51 (NCAA B Cut)(1:45.51 prelims)
    18. Austin Steel - 1:46.50 (NCAA B Cut; career best) (1:46.63)
    23. James Wells - 1:48.34 (career best) (1:48.49 prelims)

    100 Freestyle
    16. Titus Knight - 44.69 (44.37 prelims; NCAA B Cut; season best)
    Ante Zoricic - 44.44 prelims; elected not to swim C final
    19. Bryan Chovanec - 44.94 (44.89 prelims; career best)
    26. Daniel Kanorr - 44.58 (career best)

    200 Breaststroke
    1. Cody Miller - 1:54.16 (NCAA A Cut; 2nd fastest time in school history (1:55.87 prelims; 6th fastest in school history)
    12. Sam Trahin - 1:58.96 (1:58.34 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    20. Brenden Butler - 2:01.76 (season best)(2:01.90 prelims)

    200 Butterfly
    11. Tyler Shedron - 1:46.87 (1:46.10 prelims; NCAA B Cut; career best)
    13. Cody Weik - 1:47.32 (1:46.64 prelims; NCAA B Cut; season best)
    18. Jim Barbiere - 1:47.41 (NCAA B Cut; season best; elected not to swim C final)
    27. Ryan Hinshaw - 1:49.46 (career best)

    Platform Diving
    6. Conor Murphy - 339.45 (365.65 prelims; career best)
    7. Casey Johnson - 329.70 (350.10 prelims; career best)
    8. Darian Schmidt - 286.20 (340.20 prelims; career best)
    10. Mick Dell'Orco - 317.10 (292.10 prelims)
    13. Zac Nees - 296.15 (311.60 prelims)
    14. Emad Abdelatif - 271.05 (298.85 prelims; career best)
    15. David Piercy - 266.40 (269.25 prelims)
    22. Kyle Frebel - 169.45 (career best)

    400 Freestyle Relay
    6. Indiana - 2:56.32 (Jim Barbiere*, Daniel Kanorr, Titus Knight, Ante Zoricic) NCAA B Cut; fifth-fastest time in school history
    *Barbiere's lead-off split of 44.72 is a new career best.

    First-Team All-Big Ten
    Cody Miller
    Eric Ress

    Second-Team All-Big Ten
    Zac Nees

    Big Ten Sportsmanship Honoree
    Andrew Taylor




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties