Men's Swimming

    Ress Takes Second in 100 Back at Big Ten Swim and Dive Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Freshman Eric Ress took second in the 100 back by matching his career-best time of 47.38.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Freshman Eric Ress took second in the 100 back by matching his career-best time of 47.38.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 27, 2009

    Results | PHOTO GALLERY

    WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Led by a second-place finish in the 100 backstroke from freshman Eric Ress and a school record swim in the 400 individual medley, the Indiana men's swimming and diving team is in fifth place after day two of the Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships in Ann Arbor, Mich.

    Michigan continues to hold a commanding lead with 588.5 points. Ohio State is second with 357.5, followed by Minnesota (344), Purdue (330) and Indiana (285.5). The meet concludes on Saturday with the 1650 free, 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly and 400 freestyle relay.

        "I thought there were some bright spots," said head coach Ray Looze. "I thought the 400 IMs went well, and the 100 fliers had a nice evening, moving up in points."

        The evening session kicked off with the 200 medley relay with Ress, Tyler Lemert, Matt Lenton and Bryan Chovanec placing fifth with a time of 1:26.65. That is an NCAA B cut for the Hoosiers.

        Ress earned a spot in the championship final of the 100 backstroke and finished second in his first Big Ten meet with a time of 47.38, matching his career best set in the morning prelim. Doug Spraul took his turn in the bonus final where he finished 19th overall by touching the wall in 49.52.

        "Eric had a really nice day and it was good to see what he was able to do," Looze said. "We need more guys to step up like him."

         Ress and Spraul both set personal bests in the final preliminary heat in the morning session with Ress second in 47.38, and Spraul sixth in 49.30. Ante Zoricic took third in the first preliminary heat with a time of 50.92.

        He also posted a personal best of 1:36.92 on the opening leg of the 800 free relay, but the team was dealt a blow when it was disqualified for an early exchange and a school-record time of 6:26.62 was wiped from the record books.

        "We are just a young team and are prone to some untimely errors," Looze said. "We had a chance to finish up the session well with the 800 free relay, but we jumped it and it is a relay where you don't need fast exchanges."

        Cody Weik and Brendan Butler represented Indiana in the championship final of the 400 individual medley, with Weik taking fifth in 3:49.20. Butler placed eighth in 3:53.74. Michigan's Tyler Clary won the event with an NCAA-record time of 3:38.03. Freshman Tony Mattar earned a spot in the consolation final where he finished 14th with a time of 3:54.52. In the bonus final, Aaron Opell recorded a time of 3:57.27 to finish 20th overall.

        Weik set a new IU record with a time of 3:46.95 in his morning swim, breaking the old mark of 3:47.84 set by Steven Murry in 2007.  Butler was fourth in the final heat with a career best of 3:50.40.  Mattar got the Hoosier off to a rousing start in the morning session by winning the second heat with a time of 3:50.94. That is almost 11 seconds better than his career best heading into the meet. Opell was sixth in the third heat with a time of 3:56.16.

        Lenton, A.J. Miller and Matthew O'Brien led the way for Indiana in the consolation final of the 100 butterfly. O'Brien took second in the heat and 10th overall in 47.72. Miller took the 13th spot overall with a time of 47.92. Lenton was eighth in the heat and 16th overall in 48.84. In the bonus final, freshman Tyler Shedron posted a time of 49.34 to finish 22nd overall.

        O'Brien topped his career best with a time of 47.69 for fifth in heat four, while Miller was sixth in the same heat with a time of 47.89. Lenton was sixth in his heat with a lifetime best of 48.08. Shedron posted a career-best time of 49.29 to finish third in his heat, while Doug Spraul was fourth in the heat with a time of 49.68.

        In the 200 freestyle, Knight placed fifth in the consolation heat and 13th overall with a time of 1:36.80. Barbiere finished second in the consolation heat and 18th overall with a time of 1:37.56.   

        Knight went a career best 1:36.13 in the final heat for the fastest IU swim of the event. Barbiere cut two seconds off his personal best with a time of 1:37.22 to finish second in heat five. Bart Ginocchio and Ryan Hinshaw both posted career bests in the second heat with Ginocchio fourth in 1:40.99, and Hinshaw sixth in 1:41.69.

        Competing in his first Big Ten Championship heat, sophomore Tyler Lemert took sixth in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 54.10, just 4/100ths of a second off his career best. Swimming in the consolation heat, Heath Tameris picked up a point for IU with a 16th-place showing (55.41). Competing in his first Big Ten meet, Daniel Sliwinski took third in the consolation heat (19th overall) with a time of 54.96. Justin Peterfish placed 21st overall in 55.90.

        Lemert was second in heat three with a time of 54.26, while Sliwinski posted a season best in the same heat with a time of 54.92. Tameris placed fourth in heat four with a time of 54.70, while Peterfish was seventh in 55.68.

        Freshman Linus Altman-Kurosaki led the Hoosiers with a fifth-place finish on the three-meter springboard with a score of 409.65, topping his previous career best of 385.30 set in the morning prelims. Landon Marzullo took seventh with a final score of 381.40. In the consolation final, Will Bohonyi finished 14th with a score of 310.90.

        Marzullo led the way with a career-best 430.95 points in the morning prelims, while Altman-Kurosaki put up a score of 385.30. Bohonyi totaled 325.65 points to advance to the consolation final, with Robert Dohring tallying 297.10 points. Jonathan Dohring finished with 284.85 points.

    200 Medley Relay
    5. Eric Ress, Tyler Lemert, Matt Lenton, Bryan Chovanec - 1:26.65

    400 Individual Medley
    5. Cody Weik - 3:49.20 (3:46.95 prelims; School Record)
    8. Brendan Butler - 3:53.74 (3:50.40 prelims)
    14. Tony Mattar - 3:54.52 (3:50.94 prelims)
    20. Aaron Opell - 3:57.27 (3:56.16 prelims)

    100 Butterfly
    10. Matthew O'Brien - 47.72 (47.69 prelims)
    13. A.J. Miller - 47.92 (47.89 prelims)
    16. Matt Lenton - 48.84(48.08 prelims)
    22. Tyler Shedron - 49.34 (49.29 prelims)
    26. Doug Spraul - 49.68

    200 Freestyle
    13. Titus Knight - 1:36.80 (1:36.13 prelims)
    18. Jim Barbiere - 1:37.56 (1:37.22 prelims)
    51. Bart Ginocchio - 1:40.99
    54. Ryan Hinshaw - 1:41.69

    100 Breaststroke
    6. Tyler Lemert - 54.10 (54.26 prelims)
    16. Heath Tameris - 55.41 (54.70 prelims)
    19. Daniel Sliwinski - 54.96 (54.92 prelims)
    21. Justin Peterfish - 55.90 (55.68 prelims)

    100 Backstroke
    2. Eric Ress - 47.38 (47.38 prelims)
    19. Doug Spraul - 49.52 (49.30 prelims)
    27. Ante Zoricic - 50.92

    3-Meter Diving
    5. Linus Altman-Kurosaki - 409.65 (385.30 prelims)
    7. Landon Marzullo - 381.40 (430.95 prelims)
    14. Will Bohonyi - 310.90 (325.65 prelims)
    22. Robert Dohring - 297.10
    25. Jonathan Dohring - 284.85

    800 Free Relay
    Eric Ress, Jim Barbiere, Titus Knight, Cody Weik - DQ




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties