Men's Swimming

    B1G Title, School Record Lead Day 2 at Swim and Dive Championships

    Go Hoosiers!
    Go Hoosiers!

    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 27, 2014

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    ANN ARBOR, Mich. - Darian Schmidt successfully defended his Big Ten title on the 1-meter springboard and the 400 medley relay team ended the night with a new school record to cap day two of the 2014 Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships at Canham Natatorium in Ann Arbor, Mich.

    The Hoosiers are in second place with 216 points, trailing leader Michigan (308). Ohio State is third (158) with Penn State (154) and Minnesota (141) rounding out the top five.

    Schmidt needed a strong sixth and final dive to win the title and he did just that, scoring 75 points on a reverse 1 1/2 somersault 2 1/2 twist free to finish with 381.30 points, just .15 points ahead of Purdue's Jamie Bissett. Emad Abdelatif took fourth (358.30), with Joshua Arndt seventh (335.15) in his first career Big Ten championship final.

    Indiana went with a different look for its 400 medley relay team to end the night and it paid off. Eric Ress swam the opening backstroke leg and put up the fourth-fastest time in IU history with a 45.25. Cody Miller swam the breaststroke leg, followed by Max Irwin with the butterfly. James Wells, who is the usual backstroker in the race, anchored with a 100 freestyle as the quartet went 3:07.98, good for third overall and an NCAA A cut.

    That tops the previous school record of 3:08.40 set by Wells, Miller, Steve Schmuhl and Daniel Kanorr at the 2013 NCAA Championships.

    In the 500 freestyle, Jackson Miller was the top Hoosier finisher as he took second in the C final and 18th overall with a career time of 4:22.19. Grayson Smith was 21st after going 4:25.22 in the bonus final, putting up a career time of 4:22.78 in prelims. Bradley Stamper was 23rd after touching the wall in 4:26.75, with a career time of 4;22.39 also coming in prelims.

    Max Irwin finished 20th in prelims with a career-best time of 4:22.70 but elected not to swim the bonus final. Michael Mohler was third in his heat and 44th overall with a new career best of 4:30.71.

    Indiana posted a 3-4-5 finish in the 200 individual medley, led by a third-place finish from Schmuhl. Schmuhl went a career best 1:42.05 which is an NCAA A cut and the third-fastest time in IU history. Right behind him was Ress, who took fourth in a personal best and NCAA A cut of 1:42.95. That time ranks fourth on the all-time IU list. In fifth was Cody Miller at 1:43.74. His prelim time of 1:43.30 is an NCAA A cut. Mike Hurley was just 3/100ths of a second off his personal best as he took 10th overall in a time of 1:45.12. That is an NCAA provisional time. In the bonus final, Bob Glover tallied a fifth-place finish, good for 21st overall at 1:48.16. His time of 1:47.59 in prelims is a career best. Blaine Nichols put up his top career time of 1:53.05 in heat two of prelims, good for 61st.

    Anze Tavcar won the consolation final of the 50 freestyle with a career-best time of 19.91, picking up key points for the Hoosiers. Yianni Thermos took third in the C final, 19th overall, with a career time of 20.24. In prelims, Sam Lorentz posted his career best of 20.54, which was good for 33rd. Tanner Kurz was 41st with his career best of 20.66.

    In earlier action on the 1-meter springboard, Bryce Ogden won the consolation final to take ninth overall with a score of 351.85. Conor Murphy was third in the consolation final, good for 11th overall with his score of 319.45. Danton Rogers finished 16th in the field after posting a score of 299.10 in the consolation final. Andrew Hull missed out on the consolation final by less than one point, finishing 17th with a score of 294.50. George Andrews was 26th after tallying 258.70 points.

    500 Freestyle
    18. Jackson Miller - 4:22.19 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut) (4:23.26 prelims)
    21. Grayson Smith - 4:25.22 (4:22.78 prelims; Career Best; NCAA B Cut)
    23. Bradley Stamper - 4:26.75 (4:22.39 prelims; Career Best; NCAA B Cut) Max Irwin - 4:22.70 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut; elected not to swim C final)
    44. Michael Mohler - 4:30.71 (Career Best)

    200 Individual Medley
    3. Steve Schmuhl - 1:42.05 (3rd-fastest time in IU history; NCAA A Cut (1:43.66 prelims)
    4. Eric Ress - 1:42.95 (4h-fastest time in IU history; NCAA A cut) (1:44.00 prelims)
    5. Cody Miller - 1:43.74 (1:43.30 prelims; NCAA A Cut)
    10. Mike Hurley - 1:45.12 (NCAA B Cut) (1:45.50 prelims)
    21. Bob Glover - 1:48.16 (1:47.59 prelims; Career Best; NCAA B Cut)
    61. Blaine Nichols - 1:53.05 (Career Best)

    50 Freestyle
    9. Anze Tavcar - 19.91 (Career Best; NCAA B Cut) (19.99 prelims)
    19. Yianni Thermos - 20.24 (Career Best) (20.32 prelims)
    33. Sam Lorentz - 20.54 (Career Best)
    41. Tanner Kurz - 20. 66 (Career Best)

    1-Meter Diving
    1. Darian Schmidt - 381.30 (364.60 prelims)
    4. Emad Abdelatif - 358.30 (354.20 prelims)
    7. Joshua Arndt - 335.15 (340.80 prelims; Career Best)
    9. Bryce Ogden - 351.85 ( 316.75 prelims)
    11. Conor Murphy - 319.45 (313.35 prelims)
    16. Danton Rogers - 299.10 (296.50 prelims)
    17. Andrew Hull - 294.50
    26. George Andrews - 258.70

    400 Medley Relay
    3. Eric Ress, Cody Miller, Max Irwin, James Wells - 3:07.98 (School Record; NCAA A Cut)
    * Ress' 45.25 leadoff backstroke is the 4th-fastest in IU history.




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties