Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Finish Fifth at Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Junior Aaron Opell took second in the 200 breaststroke with a lifetime-best time of 1:56.24.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Junior Aaron Opell took second in the 200 breaststroke with a lifetime-best time of 1:56.24.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 28, 2009



    WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Freshman Eric Ress broke a 200 backstroke age group record held by Michael Phelps, and junior Aaron Opell picked up a silver medal in the 200 breaststroke to highlight the final day of competition at the Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships in West Lafayette, Ind.


    Indiana finished fifth overall with 449.5 points. Michigan won its second-straight title with 829 points, followed by Ohio State in second (521), Minnesota third (507) and Purdue fourth (494).

        "This was a much better day for us in a lot of different ways," said head coach Ray Looze. "The guys finally stood up and really fought and understood what they needed to do to be successful at this meet. It wasn't comprehensive, but we had done way better than we had done the previous couple of days and I think that is a good sign for the future.

        The 200 backstroke saw Ress add a silver medal to his collection with a career-best time of 1:41.35. That is the second fastest time in school history and gives Ress two of the three fastest times ever by a Hoosier. In addition, Ress breaks Michael Phelps' 17-18 age-group record. It is also an NCAA A cut. Doug Spraul finished second in the consolation heat and 10th overall with a lifetime best of 1:45.02, topping his old mark of 1:45.92 set in the prelims.

        "I was most surprised that I kept up with (Michigan's) Tyler Clary," Ress said. "I've known who he is for the past couple of years and I know he is fast. The fact that I kept up with him as well as I did was really surprising for me. It gave me a lot of confidence going into NCAA's that I have enough experience and I am a good enough swimmer to keep up with the top 200 backstrokers in the country."

        In the prelims, Ress cut three seconds off his personal best to win the third heat with a time of 1:42.31. That is the third-fastest time in school history. It was also the fastest qualifying time. Jim Barbiere posted a lifetime best in the fourth heat (1:48.16), with Spraul fourth in 1:45.92.

        In the 200 breaststroke, Aaron Opell swam his way to a second-place finish with a lifetime best of 1:56.24, the fourth-fastest time in school history. Teammate A.J. Miller finished sixth with a time of 1:58.32. Tyler Lemert and Daniel Sliwinski tied for 17 as both posted a mark of 1:59.88 in the bonus heat. That is a personal best for Sliwinski.

        "It goes to show you should never call it quits," Opell said. "If you had a bad swim the night before, just throw it away, put it in the back of your head and expect the absolute best of yourself."

        Opell obliterated his then-personal best with a time of 1:56.56 to win the third heat. It is the sixth-fastest time in school history. Miller also broke his personal mark to win the fourth heat with a time of 1:57.96. Lemert was fifth in the heat in 2:00.81. Tameris was sixth in the final heat in 2:01.38, followed by Sliwinski (2:01.51) and Justin Peterfish (2:02.35), who posted a lifetime best in the same heat. Brendan Butler went a lifetime best of 2:02.25 to finish second in the first heat.

        Matt Lenton took sixth in the 100 free with a time of 43.62. Ante Zoricic finished 15th overall with a time of 44.07 in the consolation final.

        In the prelims, Lenton went a lifetime best 43.44 to finish second in his heat, while Titus Knight was fifth, also with a career-best time (44.27). Zoricic took fifth in his heat with a time of 44.01. Knight qualified for the bonus final but opted not to swim.
        Indiana had three swimmers in the consolation final of the 200 butterfly in Cody Weik, Tyler Shedron and Tony Mattar. Weik finished 10th with a time of 1:47.20. Mattar was 12th, improving his career best to 1:47.58. Shedron took the 15th spot with a time of 1:48.09.

        Weik went a lifetime best of 1:46.51 in his morning prelim. Shedron was fourth in his heat with a time of 1:47.65, while Mattar was fifth (1:47.77). Matthew O'Brien finished second in his heat with a career best of 1:50.44.

        Landon Marzullo wrapped up his Big Ten meet with a fourth-place finish on the platform, racking up 412.45 points in the finals. Senior Will Bohonyi wrapped up his Big Ten career with a seventh-place finish, scoring 359.75 points.

        Marzullo finished fourth in the prelims with a score of 393.75. Bohonyi was eighth with 366.95 points. Robert and Jonathan Dohring both qualified for the consolation final with Robert totalling 334.15 points, good for 12th overall, and Jonathan 15th overall with 319.90 points. Freshman Linus Altman-Kurosaki actually qualified for the consolation finals with 279.25 points but opted not to participate, allowing Robert into the top 16.

        In the 1650 freestyle, Bart Ginocchio's time of 15:11.76 was a personal best, cutting more than 12 seconds off his previous time, and was good enough for sixth place. Butler finished ninth in a career best 15:14.14, more than 20 seconds faster that his career best entering the meet. Steffan Troxel also had a career best with a time of 15:21.96, which was good for 12th. Freshman Ryan Hinshaw finished 22nd with a time of 15:28.80.

        The championships wrapped up with the 400 freestyle relay as Matt Lenton, Ante Zoricic, Titus Knight and Jim Barbiere finished ninth in 2:56.56.




    Second-Team All-Big Ten

    Eric Ress

    Aaron Opell

    200 Backstroke
    2. Eric Ress - 1:41.35 (NCAA A Cut) (1:42.31 prelims)
    10. Doug Spraul - 1:45.02 (1:45.92 prelims)
    25. Jim Barbiere - 1:48.16

    100 Freestyle
    6. Matt Lenton - 43.62 (43.44 prelims)
    15. Ante Zoricic - 44.07 (44.01 prelims)
    25. Titus Knight - (44.27 prelims)

    200 Breaststroke
    2. Aaron Opell - 1:56.24 (1:56.56 prelims)
    6. A.J. Miller - 1:58.32 (1:57.96 prelims)
    17. Tyler Lemert - 1:59.88 (2:00.81 prelims)
    17. Daniel Sliwinski  - 1:59.88 (2:01.51 prelims)
    24. Brendan Butler - 2:04.89 (2:02.25 prelims)
    25. Heath Tameris - 2:01.38
    28. Justin Peterfish - 2:02.35

    200 Butterfly
    9. Cody Weik - 1:47.20 (1:46.51 prelims)
    12. Tyler Shedron - 1:48.09 (1:47.65 prelims)
    14. Tony Mattar - 1:47.58 (1:47.77 prelims)
    27. Matthew O'Brien - 1:50.44

    Platform Diving
    4. Landon Marzullo - 412.45 (393.75 prelims)
    7. Will Bohonyi - 359.75 (366.95 prelims)
    12. Robert Dohring - 334.15 (273.40 prelims)
    15. Jonathan Dohring - 319.90 (295.35 prelims)
    17. Linus Altman-Kurosaki - 279.25

    1,650 Freestyle
    6. Bart Ginocchio - 15:11.76
    9. Brendan Butler - 15:14.14
    12. Steffan Troxel - 15:21.96
    22. Ryan Hinshaw - 15:28.80

    400 Freestyle Relay
    9. Matt Lenton, Ante Zoricic, Titus Knight, Jim Barbiere - 2:56.56


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties