Men's Swimming

    IU in Second on Day 2 of B1G Swim and Dive Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Cody Miller smashed the school record and set a new Big Ten meet mark with his winning time of 1:41.85 in the 200 individual medley.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Cody Miller smashed the school record and set a new Big Ten meet mark with his winning time of 1:41.85 in the 200 individual medley.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Feb. 28, 2013

    Results |  Photo Gallery 

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - A record-setting swim from Cody Miller in the 200 individual medley and his fifth career Big Ten individual title, along with a second Big Ten title for diver Darian Schmidt highlighted night two of the 2013 Big Ten Men's Swimming and Diving Championships at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center in Bloomington.

    The Hoosiers are in second place with 237 points, trailing leader Michigan, which sits on top at 316. Ohio State is in third at 170, followed by Purdue (144) and Minnesota (133).

    Jim Barbiere nearly had an Indiana record in the 500 freestyle, placing fifth overall with a time of 4:16.84. That is the second-fastest time in school history, trailing only the mark of 4:16.79 set by Sergiy Fesenko in 2006. Ryan Hinshaw finished second in the consolation final and 10th overall with a season-best time of 4:19.36. Nicholas Schwab continued his time drop, besting his personal best set in prelims with a mark of 4:19.40. That was good for third in the consolation final and 11th overall.

    Barbiere qualified for the championship final after posting a time of 4:18.60, eighth-fastest in the mornings swims. Hinshaw finished tied for 10th at 4:19.62, putting him in the consolation final. Schwab blasted a then-personal best with a time of 4:19.67, placing 12th and earning a spot in the consolation final. Brent Aarons was 26th in a career-best 4:26.33, while Grayson Smith also posted a career mark (4:26.52-27th). Ryan Downey was 35th (4:28.71), with Ian Boggs 37th (4:29.56-career best) and Michael Mohler 45th (4:31.38-career best).

    Miller's win the 200 individual medley was the first by a Hoosier swimmer since Sill Matthews in 1986. His time of 1:41.85 is a new Big Ten meet record and the second-fastest ever by a Big Ten swimmer, trailing only Michigan's Tyler Clary who posted a 1:41.67 in 2009.

    In fact three Hoosiers posted times faster than the Indiana record heading into today's event, with Steve Schmuhl placing fourth in 1:43.65, followed by Eric Ress in fifth at 1:43.92. Mike Hurley took seventh in the race with a time of 1:45.31.

    Miller led the Hoosiers in prelims where he posted a time of 1:43.49. Schmuhl placed fourth with a time of 1:44.12, and right behind him in fifth was Ress at 1:44.16. Hurley tied for seventh with his career mark of 1:45.09. Sam Trahin placed 17th (1:47.04) but elected not to swim the bonus final. Kurz was 23rd with a career time of 1:48.68.

    Daniel Kanorr finished sixth in the 50 freestyle by touching the wall in 19.54, the third-fastest time in school history. Kanorr earned his spot in the championship final after putting up a career-best time of 19.50. That was just 5/100ths of a second off the school record of 19.45 set by Matt Lenton in 2009. James Wells finished 19th with a career time of 20.18 but elected not to swim the bonus final. Jacob Kelzer tied for 43rd in a career best 20.72. Matt Gerth finished tied for 54th (20.94) and Kyle Johnson was 60th in a career-best 21.19.

    Schmidt added the 1-meter springboard Big Ten title to the 3-meter title he won in 2012. His championship score of 432.15 is a new school and pool record and ranks third on the Big Ten's all-time individual performance list, trailing only Olympic gold medalist David Boudia (468.65) and Purdue's David Colturi (442.00).

    It was an Indiana-dominated championship final, with five of the eight finalists donning the cream and crimson. Mick Dell'Orco placed fifth (338.95), with Casey Johnson sixth (337.50). Platform specialist Conor Murphy tallied a seventh-place showing with a career-best score of 333.25, with Bryce Ogden rounding out the field in eighth (332.25).

    The evening ended on a sour note for the Hoosiers as its 400 medley relay team was disqualified for the second-straight year. Officials stated Indiana was DQ'd for an illegal kick on the breaststroke leg. That left IU, which had finished second, out of the points and allowed Ohio State to move to second and Iowa to third behind winner Michigan.

    Competition resume sFriday at 11 a.m. ET with prelims in the 400 individual medley, 100 butterfly, 200 freestyle, 100 breaststroke, 100 backstroke and 3-meter diving.

    500 Freestyle
    5. Jim Barbiere - 4:16.84 (NCAA B Cut; 2nd-fastest time in school history) (4:18.60 prelim)
    10. Ryan Hinshaw - 4:19.36 (NCAA B Cut) (4:19.62 prelims)
    11. Nicholas Schwab- 4:19.40 (NCAA B Cut; Career Best) (4:19.67 prelims)
    26. Brent Aarons - 4:26.33 (Career Best)
    27. Grayson Smith - 4:26.52 (Career Best)
    35. Ryan Downey - 4:28.71
    37. Ian Boggs - 4:29.56 (Career Best)
    45. Michael Mohler - 4:31.38 (Career Best)

    200 Individual Medley
    1. Cody Miller - 1:41.85 (NCAA A Cut; Big Ten Meet Record, Pool Record) (1:43.49 prelims)
    4. Steve Schmuhl - 1:43.65 (NCAA B Cut; 3rd-fastest time in school history) (1:44.12 prelims)
    5. Eric Ress - 1:43.92 (NCAA B Cut; 4th-fastest time in school history) (1:44.16 prelims)
    7. Mike Hurley - 1:45.31 (1:45.09 prelims; NCAA B Cut; Career Best)
    18. Tanner Kurz - 1:47.84 (NCAA B Cut; Career Best)(1:48.68 prelims) Sam Trahin - (1:47.04 prelims; NCAA B Cut; elected not to swim C final)

    50 Freestyle
    6. Daniel Kanorr - 19.54 (third-fastest time in school history) (19.50 prelims; NCAA B Cut; 2nd-fastest time in school history) James Wells - (20.18 prelims; NCAA B Cut; Career Best; elected not to swim C final)
    T-43. Jacob Kelzer - 20.72 (Career Best)
    T-53. Matt Gerth - 20.94
    60. Kyle Johnson - 21.19 (Career Best)

    1-Meter Diving
    1. Darian Schmidt - 432.15 (School Record; third-highest scorer in Big Ten History) (419.45 prelims)
    5. Mick Dell'Orco - 338.95 (362.50 prelims)
    6. Casey Johnson - 337.50 (329.40 prelims)
    7. Conor Murphy - 333.25 (Career Best) (331.60 prelims)
    8. Bryce Ogden - 332.25 (358.45 prelims)
    17. Emad Abdelatif - 300.60
    20. Andrew Hull - 286.85
    21. Danton Rogers - 285.60
    22. George Andrews - 274.25

    400 Medley Relay
    DQ - Eric Ress, Cody Miller, Steve Schmuhl, Daniel Kanorr (illegal kick)




      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties