Men's Swimming

    Abdelatif Earns Spot at NCAA Championships

    Go Hoosiers! Emad Abdelatif moves on to the NCAA Championships after winning the 1-meter springboard at the NCAA Zone C Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Emad Abdelatif moves on to the NCAA Championships after winning the 1-meter springboard at the NCAA Zone C Championships.
    Go Hoosiers!

    March 14, 2014

    COLUMBUS, Ohio - Indiana University senior Emad Abdelatif became the second Hoosier diver to book his ticket to the NCAA Championships with a win on the 1-meter springboard at the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships in Columbus, Ohio.

    Sitting in third place after prelims with a score of 328.60, Abdelatif came back in finals to win over Purdue's Layne Rogers, 685.25-685.15. Both will move on to the NCAA meet with those finishes as Abdelatif joins Darian Schmidt, who qualified yesterday by winning the 3-meter springboard competition.

    Freshman Joshua Arndt placed eighth (610.95), followed by Schmidt (606.10) in ninth. Andrew Hull was 20th in prelims (276.40), with George Andrews 23rd (269.60) and Danton Rogers 30th (214.75).

    In women's qualifying on the 3-meter springboard, Kate Hillman finished 24th in prelims with a score of 259.75.

    Qualifying for the NCAA meets ends Saturday with both the men and women competing on the platform.

    Also, in action overseas, IU freshman Jessica Parratto and partner Anna James finished seventh in the women's 10-meter platform synchro with a score of 261.78 at the FINA Diving World Series in Beijing, China.

    Eight men and nine women from Zone C will qualify for the NCAA Championships. Below is the order of priority for earning a spot at the NCAA meet. Those in bold have earned a spot.



    1. Winner of Platform
    2. Winner of Three-meter - Darian Schmidt, Indiana/Kaixuan Zhang, Southern, Ill.
    3. Winner of One-meter - Casey Matthews, Purdue/Emad Abdelatif, Indiana
    4. Second-place Three-meter - Jamie Bissett, Purdue/Christa Cabot, Kentucky
    5. Second-place One-meter - Wenting Zhang, Illinois St./Layne Rogers, Purdue
    6. Third-place Three-meter - Greg Ferrucci, Kentucky/Michelle Cabassol, Purdue
    7. Third-place One-meter - Kaixuan Zhang, Southern Ill./Joseph Coumos, ND
    8. Second-place Platform
    9. Fourth-place Three-meter - Stephen Ettienne, Ohio St./Tricia Grant, Oakland
    10. Fourth-place One-meter - Christa Cabot, Kentucky/Jamie Bissett, Purdue
    11. Fifth-place Three-meter - Joseph Coumos, Notre Dame/Wenting Zhang, Illinois St.
    12. Third-place Platform
    13. Fifth-place One-meter - Carey Chen, Michigan/Stephen Ettienne, Ohio St.
    14. Sixth-place Three-meter - Emad Abdelatif, Indiana/Mary-Beth Dunnichay, Purdue
    15. Sixth-place One-meter - Lindsey Streepey, Notre Dame/Greg Ferrucci, Kentucky
    16. Fourth-place Platform
    17. Seventh-place Three-meter - Joshua Arndt, Indiana/Danielle Hulvey, EMU
    18. Seventh-place One-meter - Danielle Hulvey, Eastern Michigan/Nicholas Nemetz, ND
    19. Eighth-place Three-meter - Layne Rogers, Purdue/Emma Gaboury, ND
    20. Fifth-place Platform
    21. Eighth-place One-meter - Allison Casareto, Notre Dame/Joshua Arndt, Indiana
    22. Ninth-place Three-meter - Alex Chan, Eastern Michigan/Casey Matthews, Purdue
    23. Ninth-place One-meter - Fengting Chen, Southern Illinois/Darian Schmidt, Indiana
    24. Sixth-place Platform
    25. 10th-place Three-meter - Zachary Peterson, Kentucky/Taylor Ford, OSU
    26. 10th-place One-meter - Michelle Cabassol, Purdue/Timothy Faerber, Michigan
    27. 11th-place Three-meter - Timothy Faerber, Michigan/Alison Menzies, MSU
    28. Seventh-place Platform
    29. 11th-place One-meter - Tricia Grant, Oakland/Alex Chan, Eastern Michigan
    30. 12th-place Three-meter - Kegan Skelton, Southern Illinois/Carey Chen, Michigan
    31. 12th-place One-meter - Lauren Dark, Eastern Michigan/Zachary Peterson, UK

    Men's 1-Meter
    1. Emad Abdelatif - 685.25 (328.60 prelims)
    8. Joshua Arndt - 610.95 (294.15 prelims)
    9. Darian Schmidt - 606.10 (281.80 prelims)
    20. Andrew Hull - 276.40 prelims
    23. George Andrews - 269.60 prelims
    30. Danton Rogers - 214.75 prelims

    Women's 3-Meter
    24. Kate Hillman - 259.75 prelims


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties