Men's Swimming

    Hoosiers Topple Northwestern, 159-131

    Go Hoosiers! Sophomore Eric Ress won the 100 backstroke, 200 backstroke and 100 butterfly in Friday's victory over Northwestern.
    Go Hoosiers!
    Sophomore Eric Ress won the 100 backstroke, 200 backstroke and 100 butterfly in Friday's victory over Northwestern.
    Go Hoosiers!

    Oct. 22, 2010

    Complete Results

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - With victories in 12 of 16 events, the Indiana men's swimming and diving team opened the 2010-11 season with a 159-131 victory over the Northwestern Wildcats Friday afternoon at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic center.

    The team of Eric Ress Cody Miller, James Wells and Bryan Chovanec touched the wall first in the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 1:31.88. Hoosier "B" team Doug Spraul, Tyler Lemert, Cody Weik and Ante Zoricic were second in 1:32.61.

    Illya Larin won the 1,000 freestyle with a career-best time of 9:18.53. Ryan Hinshaw was third in 9:23.66, with Ryan Downey fourth (9:30.18).

    Indiana went 1-2-3 in the 200-yard freestyle, led by Titus Knight in 1:40.07. Tyler Shedron was second (1:41.19) and Jim Barbiere third (1:41.32).

    Eric Ress led an Indiana sweep in the 100-yard backstroke, touching the wall in 49.11. Wells took second with a season-opening time of 50.84, followed by Spraul in 51.06.

    Tyler Lemert finished second in the 100-yard breaststroke in 57.66, with Miller third in 58.80, and Brenden Butler fourth (59.78).



    Tyler Shedron posted a winning time of 1:49.71 in the 200-yard butterfly, with Weik fourth (1:52.19).

    Bryan Chovanec, who owns the fourth-fastest time in school history in the 50 free and was runner-up in the event at last year's Big Ten championships, posted a winning mark of 20.50, out-touching teammate Ante Zoricic at the wall (21.13). Daniel Kanorr was third at 21.28.

    The Hoosiers continued to dominate the sprint events, taking the top three spots in the 100 freestyle with Knight first (45.75), Zoricic second (46.49) and Barbiere third (46.87).

    Ress, the reigning French national champion in the 200 backstroke, glided away from the competition to take the crown in a time of 1:47.39. Spraul touched second (1:50.78), followed by Austin Steel in third (1:53.35).

    Miller came in with a time of 2:04.65 in the 200 breaststroke to finish second, with Lemert third in 2:07.86. They were followed by Butler at 2:08.06.

    Casey Johnson was the high scorer in the 1-meter springboard competition, tallying 348.53 points, with newcomer Darian Schmidt second (343.73) and David Piercy third (324.98). The Hoosiers finished the competition with the top seven finishers.

    Schmidt picked up his first collegiate win in the 3-meter springboard competition with a total of 357.90 points. Johnson finished second (357.08), followed by Zac Nees (321.75) in third.

    Larin was the second-place finisher in the 500 freestyle (4:31.60), with Barbiere third (4:35.46) and Hinshaw fourth (4:35.46).

    Ress picked up his third win of the day with a time of 49.77 in the 100 butterfly. Shedron was third in 50.64 and Spraul fourth (51.13).

    Butler was the third-place finisher in the 400-yard individual medley (4:03.60), with teammate Weik just over a tenth of a second back in fourth (4:03.77).

    Indiana ran away with the 400 freestyle relay to close out the swimming with Knight, Barbiere, Zoricic and Shedron winning in 3:04.52.

    The Hoosiers are back in the pool tomorrow when they play host to the Kentucky Wildcats at 10 a.m. ET at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.


      Check back soon
      Indiana Sports Properties